We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good downtown location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1088 Bishop Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Executive Centre Hotel) (Downtown Honolulu)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good downtown location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well, this property is an interesting one and kind of hard to review.The location is wonderful for downtown. 3 blocks from the water (with a Gordon Biersch restaurant). The rooms are spacious and views outstanding. The one trip advsior who said the daily continental breakfast was meager was being generous. Pretty pathetic and no protein (unless you count peanut butter packets or cream cheese). Anyway, over the days I figured out what I could eat besides donuts which I cannot eat at all.

The biggest downside is that the rooms are really dated. I always avoid places that are described as "clean", but these are. The rooms are huge and with just a facelift, they could be easily become outstanding. Over the days of my stay, the place did grow on me. Nice having a kitchen and the place is really quiet. Very little traffic noice from the streets below from higheer floors (downtown shuts down at night). The building is obviously concrete which adds to the quiet living space.

For anyone visiting the Queens Medical center, the location is perfect! Easy walking distance. Also, for tourists, only one block to the Iolani Palace and the old Hawaii Theater.

The biggest downside for a woman traveling alone is that downtown is NOTwalk-able at night. Some shady people and areas. If you don't want to lock down in your room after dark (which is unfortunately 7:00 pm) - don't stay here. If you are on business and doing work and going to bed - it is fine. I kind of miss the Waikiki shopping and walking after dark. I will have to catch a daylight bus to enjoy that at some time during the trip. Also, due to the no walking after dark - the dining experiences are limited. Waikiki has many more places to walk and eat after dark.

So, overall - I would stay here again. It could be a good home base for some tourist trips. But if you want shopping and after dark eating. Not the place to be without a car or bus ride. Good luck and Aloha,

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Aloha Skyhy from California,

Thank you for posting your feedback on tripadvisor.com.

Thought it would be helpful to provide feedback from the Executive Centre Sales Manager. A single female business traveler who stays in many major cities all around the United States.

"As a female business traveler myself who often travels alone, I can relate to your comment regarding the downtown area not being walk-able after dark, however guest safety in downtown Honolulu might be “misguided”. There has been a “downtown renaissance” aimed by both the private and public sector in revitalizing this area and I have witnessed a number of new establishments; restaurants, night-clubs, boutiques and condominiums develop in the downtown area over the recent years and we look forward to the new Wal-Mart which is slated to open in 2014. As in most major cities, we should always exercise caution and encourage our guests to use their best judgment during the evening hours. Like other cities, there are certain parts of the cities you’d like to avoid, but I don’t believe that guest safety has been a major issue at this hotel since I have started working here in 1998. I am confident that you and your business associates will come to know Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel as your “home away from home” as it has been for many other visitors over the years. "

Again, Mahalo for your comments and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has questions about the Aston Executive Centre, please feel free to contact me at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    80
    43
    20
    9
See reviews for
26
56
17
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
401 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Aston on Bishop Street (Aston Executive Center) is truly a great place to stay. Condo suite amenities- living room, bedroom with view, bathroom, kitchen- full size fridge and stove, micro wave. Jacuzzi tub / shower. 2 TV's, cable and wifi, exexcutive lounge on floor 40, continental breakfast is free. Next to Chinatown and lots of restaurants. Good ones like Little Village Noodle House, and Happy Belly within walking distance. High rise parking garage with reserved space parking. Frank S loves it. No tourist traffic or crowds. Hilton Hawaiian Village is great- but this is better for privacy. Restaurant / bar on lower floor. 6 elevators. Can't beat it. And, oh yes- Beach Bum Cafe next door. Coffee beans and coffee from only the islands. Chances are you will get coffee with all the beans from the same tree. Try this my friend. I don't go to the Islands much, but when I do- I stay at the Aston Executive Center. Just do it ! Even a laundry !

Room Tip: Let the staff be nice to you. Book directly or through Travelocity or someone of your choice. Book i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice place to stay away from Waikiki. Clean, safe , friendly convenient to all kinds of stores, restaurant, sites especially if you are here for business. No traffic after6 pm. You pay for parking.The room is ok with nice views, maid service is good. Affordable,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Yes, it is not near Waikiki. Yes, it is a bit older. Yes, it has an affordable price so you can spend your money elsewhere on your vacation/business trip.
The staff was friendly and I enjoyed my jacuzzi style tub. Plenty of force and relaxing. I also enjoyed the view from 34 floors up where I saw a Chinese dragon dance down below and then went up to the 40th for my bagel and watched the HMS Queen Elizabeth in port.
The internet provided was the fastest I have ever had in a hotel of any kind.
You are guaranteed a parking spot (there is a daily charge) and within walking distance are a plethra of dining choices. A 7-11 is just outside the front door as is a Starbucks.

All in all, I had a great experience during my business trip and my team more productive and relaxed than the previous team a month prior that stayed near Waikiki.

Room Tip: All rooms are glass walled to the outside and provide excellent views. Southwest facing rooms can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint David, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip to Honolulu. The hotel is located in downtown Honolulu overlooking the harbor. The accommodations consist of spacious suites with a complete kitchen, living room, bedroom,, bath, and a washer and dryer. The living room and bedroom have floor to ceiling windows with a spectacular view of the city. At $166.00 per night, including breakfast, these accommodations cost a fraction of those in Waikiki where I had stayed on previous trips to Honolulu. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koenigstein, Germany
Level Contributor
164 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is actually an apartment building, where some of the apartments are used as hotel rooms. So you get a very comfortable living space with a full kitchen, washer, dryer etc. for the price of a simple hotel room. Check-in in the basement is unusual, the continental breakfast is served in a spacious apartment on the top floor (fantastic views). The pool is really large and good for workouts, but not a place to spend an afternoon. The neighborhood is certainly not Waikiki, but office buildings and university by day and a not too comfortable quarter by night. Plenty of restaurants in nearby Chinatown.

Room Tip: All rooms on the upper floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Profigast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although at first we thought that we should have stayed in Waikiki we soon found out it was for the better.The room was well equipped and spacious with new flat screens and awesome views.
If you want to be a tourist and get to know Oahu,this is a great location.1 block from the old Hawaiian Theatre,a blockfrom the Iolani Palace and the staue of King Kamehameha and a block from the original China town.
The location is perfect to catch any bus anywhere else you want to go.The number 2 Bus picks you up and takes you tto Waikiki in 15 minutes for $2.50 return or to the Bishop Museum (a must).
You are a cab ride from the airport for $21 instead of $14.50 each for a shuttle.
Its a four block walk to the Aloha tower cruise ship terminal or to many excellent restaurants and pubs like Murphy's which was built in 1890 and you wont be disappointed for lunch or dinner.
You are also a bus ride to Pearl Harbor as driving and getting parking can be tough.

Room Tip: There are Ocean view or mountain view,we had a mountain view for New Years so we could see the firew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#57 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#68 of 83 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ala Moana Hotel
#52 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,106 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#20 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Property: Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Address: 1088 Bishop Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Executive Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Downtown Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Honolulu's financial district, near government offices, business and dining. With complimentary continental breakfast, free daily newspaper and business center, this property is fully equipped with all the amenities for the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Honolulu
Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii
Resortquest Honolulu
Aston At The Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing