We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Spacious and comfortable suites in city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Koenigstein, Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable suites in city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is actually an apartment building, where some of the apartments are used as hotel rooms. So you get a very comfortable living space with a full kitchen, washer, dryer etc. for the price of a simple hotel room. Check-in in the basement is unusual, the continental breakfast is served in a spacious apartment on the top floor (fantastic views). The pool is really large and good for workouts, but not a place to spend an afternoon. The neighborhood is certainly not Waikiki, but office buildings and university by day and a not too comfortable quarter by night. Plenty of restaurants in nearby Chinatown.

Room Tip: All rooms on the upper floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Profigast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    80
    43
    20
    9
See reviews for
26
56
17
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although at first we thought that we should have stayed in Waikiki we soon found out it was for the better.The room was well equipped and spacious with new flat screens and awesome views.
If you want to be a tourist and get to know Oahu,this is a great location.1 block from the old Hawaiian Theatre,a blockfrom the Iolani Palace and the staue of King Kamehameha and a block from the original China town.
The location is perfect to catch any bus anywhere else you want to go.The number 2 Bus picks you up and takes you tto Waikiki in 15 minutes for $2.50 return or to the Bishop Museum (a must).
You are a cab ride from the airport for $21 instead of $14.50 each for a shuttle.
Its a four block walk to the Aloha tower cruise ship terminal or to many excellent restaurants and pubs like Murphy's which was built in 1890 and you wont be disappointed for lunch or dinner.
You are also a bus ride to Pearl Harbor as driving and getting parking can be tough.

Room Tip: There are Ocean view or mountain view,we had a mountain view for New Years so we could see the firew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Executive Centre Hotel during a recent business trip to Honolulu. The staff was friendly and helpful, and some of the views are great (the hotel is 40 stories high). The complementary breakfast was laughably meager, and the rooms themselves, while well-equipped and spacious, are for the most part shopworn and aged. One of my colleagues said that walking into his room was like a time-machine back to the 80s. The hotel's location in the city's central business district is ideal for a business traveler but tourists would be better served by staying in Waikiki (for those who like that sort of thing) or at one of the resorts on Oahu's North Shore or elsewhere. That said, the hotel is a good value by Oahu standards (my room was $184/night), and as I said, the staff is helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerInNVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha RogerInNVA,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.com!

We are in full agreement that the Aston Executive Centre is not for "vacationers looking for a resort and/or Waikiki experience". You have, as many other local outer island visitors have discovered, the Aston Executive Centre is a perfect location for locals and visitors desiring to avoid the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

As you stated, the Aston Executive Centre provides its guests with "great views", "a good value" and the "staff is helpful and friendly". The hotel offers a complimentary "continental breakfast" that is a lighter fare, not to be confused with a full American breakfast.

We sincerely appreciate your comments as we continually strive to improve our hotel.

MAHALO for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.com and we look forward to hosting you again!

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has questions about the Aston Executive Centre, please feel free to contact me at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew back to the mainland and the room was great. The kitchenette was fully stocked, with 2 little burners and dishes, etc. I don't think all rooms have this so we got lucky. The jetted tub was dated but clean and functional and met its purpose. Unit was clean, bed was comfy, and it was a quick ride to the airport in the morning. There's no room service, but they have this great food delivery service that will bring you food from basically any restaurant downtown for the same price or cheaper than room service would be. We got some delicious Thai food from Phuket Thai and we were happy campers. I had requested a higher-floor room and the view was nice. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank brokerlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed for the weekend to attend meetings and a show. The location is convenient for downtown activities and the bus line. My room was clean and quiet. I will be staying here again. No line to check in or out, the front desk staff were helpful. There was a kitchen, yet no cookware, had I wanted to cook, I didn't. A toaster would have ben nice. The only downside, I could smell someone else's food cooking, a very strong onion smell.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha JMK1,

Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Aston Executive Centre.

We are very happy you had a nice time. As you stated, "location is convenient for downtown activities and the bus line". Your "room was clean and quiet". That there was "no line to check in or out, the front desk staff were helpful". And you appreciated that "there was a kitchen" in your room if you desired to cook yourself a gourmet meal. Finally and most importantly, we are happy that you are pleased with the hotel and its staff that you "will stay here again".

We strive to do all we can. to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing experience. On your next stay, we would be happy to deliver a toaster for your use, for the duration of your entire stay. If you find yourself without sufficient kitchen supplies, wine glasses/opener, extra blankets/pillows, etc., please contact Housekeeping and we will gladly deliver what you need. Our friendly and helpful staff will do everything to insure you have what you need, to make your stay all you expect it to be.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Aston Executive Centre.

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has questions about the Aston Executive Centre, please feel free to contact me at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here many times in the past and was always pretty satisfied but now it seems to be going down hill. Downtown Honolulu is okay and we had tickets to see Bill Maher at the Hawaii Theatre on New Years eve so the location was super convenient for this but the amenities in the rooms leave much to be desired and the price was no bargain either. The keys kept failing and had to be replaced. They allow absolutely no beverages at the dinky pool... not even a plastic bottle of water from the room frig....???? It was really ridiculous. The elevators are slow and we were on the 38th floor which was nice for the view but we spent a lot of time waiting for and riding in the elevators. The bed was rock hard and when I requested a topper they brought me another bed spread.... not really good. Tiny ice trays in room frig and no ice machines. They will bring you a bucket full if you ask if you don't mind waiting half and hour... annoying. Generally the rooms bring to mind cheap porn set if you know what I mean. The internet connecting wire was broken so used the free wifi but it was intermittent and kept loosing signal and had to be restarted every day.... another annoyance. The cupboards had 2 only 2 glasses so when I invited my son and his wife for a drink they had to use coffee cups. I mean really its a full kitchen but no glasses? Weird. Anyway we won't be staying here again...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha TravelingTina54,

I am sorry that you posted this comment on Trip Advisor without affording us the opportunity to address your concerns. Out staff is dedicated to creating the very best guest experiences at the Executive Centre. On those rare occasions where a guests’ expectations are not met, we go out of our way to “make it right.” Unfortunately, in this particular situation, we were not given that opportunity

The hotel was running full throughout your stay during the holiday season and elevators were busy. Ice is gladly brought to your room and done in the most expeditious manner possible. House rules regarding no beverages (especially liquor in a plastic bottles or soda cans) at the pool, are enforced for the safety of our guests. Also, Oceanic Time Warner is upgrading their equipment to improve connectivity when the hotel is at capacity.

We do care very much about our guests and their comfort. We apologize that we were unable to upgrade your room as was done in the past but the hotel was fully booked.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Aston Executive Centre.

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has questions about the Aston Executive Centre, please feel free to contact me at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Aston. Both times we've used it as an overnight stopover, the first time being for an inter island flight the following day and this time for a cruise. I believe this is the closest hotel to the pier and that was the primary reason for our selection. Transportation was reasonable from the airport to the hotel and the free internet and breakfast are added bonuses. Yes the hotel is a bit dated, but as many have said this is a great hotel for business travelers and overnight stays. The hotel really should look for more ways to market themselves as a pre-cruise hotel. Perhaps adding a free shuttle to the pier the morning of the departure, similar to what many Florida hotels do. If we were cruising out of Honolulu again we would certainly stay here to be away from busy Waikiki on our overnight stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Case1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#57 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#68 of 83 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ala Moana Hotel
#52 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,820 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#20 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Property: Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Address: 1088 Bishop Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Executive Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Downtown Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Honolulu's financial district, near government offices, business and dining. With complimentary continental breakfast, free daily newspaper and business center, this property is fully equipped with all the amenities for the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Honolulu
Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii
Resortquest Honolulu
Aston At The Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing