We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option if you are in town on business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent option if you are in town on business”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Aston for two weeks while he was in town on business. Overall we had a decent stay execpt for one major concern (see below).

PROS:
- Large suite with a full kitchen although the cookware, etc is limited.
- Daily maid service who will even clean your dirty dishes!
- Only about 5 miles to Waikiki (assuming you don't want to pay for Waikiki prices)
- Nice continental breakfast

CONS:
- Located in the financial/business district so there isnt much to walk to in terms of shops, restaurants etc.
- Surrounding area feels like downtown LA

My biggest issue with our stay was actually a major security concern. My husband checked in on a Sunday evening (I arrived a few days later) and asked the security on duty and the front desk agent where he could walk to for a "burger and a beer." They told him to go three blocks WEST. As he began walking in that direction he quickly realized he was in a very unsafe area at night which turned out to be Chinatown. After a few more days of exploring we realized that only 3 blocks SOUTH is a Gordon Beirsch and a Hooters. Obviously perfect places to get a burger and a beer. I know you are probably thinking my husband might have just misunderstood the directions but that is not the case. After speak to other locals it was very evident that the staff thought it would be funny to send the tourist into the wrong direction and into a bad area. This is unacceptable under any circumstances and I would urge the GM to repremand the staff on duty that evening (December 3rd). When you are staying in an unfamiliar area, safety is always a priority and its very obvious that certain staff at this hotel are not concerned with the safety of their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha ammLA,

Thank your for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.com.

First of all, let me assure you that the safety of our guest is paramount. I have personally worked with the Security staff for the past two and a half years and they are caring, protective individuals that would never think of dis-servicing a guest of the hotel. The building Security staff would never mis-direct and endanger your husband in the manner the "locals" described to you. I apologize for the locals you spoke to, as their perception of the Security staff is untrue.

To insure directionality misunderstandings do not occur in the future, we are requiring the use of maps of the downtown area by the Security staff, when providing directions to our guests. In this manner, there will be no misunderstandings and the guest will have an actual map in which to follow. If the directions to a requested destination are outside of the downtown map, the staff will print a google map with directions for the guest. We are sorry that this situation occurred but are very appreciate of your comments and are improving our service thanks to your post.

With regards to safety of the downtown area, the homeless in Chinatown are more visible at night when the crowds of business people and Chinatown shoppers have gone home. To insure the safety of Chinatown, the City and County of Honolulu has added a police substation in a historic building on Hotel Street, four blocks West of the hotel. Two weeks ago, my family and I walked the same three blocks West into the heart of Chinatown for dinner, to a very popular restaurant named Little Village Noodle Shop. The small group included my elderly father, three women and six year old daughter. We were not accosted nor approached nor feared for our safety at any time. It is unfortunate that we have homeless people in every city across the nation, who beg for money to survive. They may appear dirty and unkept but they are not necessarily dangerous.

Overall, it appears you had a nice stay with us at the Aston Executive Centre, based on the your review and the pros that you listed.

- Large suite with a full kitchen
- Daily maid service who will even clean your dirty dishes!
- Only about 5 miles to Waikiki
- Nice continental breakfast

We truly care about our guests and do all that we can, to insure their comfort, safety and that we live up to their expectations. We hope to host you again very soon

Again, we are very appreciative of your comments.

Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Aston Executive Centre.

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has questions about the Aston Executive Centre, please feel free to contact me at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    90
    47
    23
    11
See reviews for
30
65
21
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Very bad odor and bugs in the bedroom made me check out immediately after the first night. Hotel looked less than a Motel 6, very nasty. Way too over priced...$177 for a room that was not worth more than $25/night. I checked-in at the Hilton Waikiki Beach Resort and stayed at the Rainbow Tower in front of the pool and beach for the same $177. Elevators without lights, dirty walls, super stained carpets, bad smell all over, appearance looks extremely ghetto...no fitness facility, pool is green with algae...

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Army-Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Aloha Army-Diver,

I am sorry that you posted this comment on Trip Advisor without affording us the opportunity to address your concerns. Out staff is dedicated to creating the very best guest experiences at the Executive Centre. On those rare occasions where a guests’ expectations are not met, we go out of our way to “make it right.” Unfortunately, in this particular situation, we were not given that opportunity

Your description of our property is contrary to the overall guest experience of our property as posted on Tripadvisor and other consumer sites. Upon reading your post, the Front Office Manager, Executive Housekeeper, Sales Manager and myself personally inspected the room you stayed in. The room was very clean and in excellent condition. There was no smell or signs of bugs. The pool was never green with algae as it is serviced daily. The Executive Centre provides preferred pricing for a fully equipped 24 Hour Fitness Gym located in the building next door. Security monitors the entire building 24/7 and has confirmed that no elevator was without lights on your one day stay at the hotel.

We do care very much about our guests and their comfort. If you wanted to be located in Waikiki versus downtown, we would have been happy to find you alternate accommodations at an Aston hotel in Waikiki. We want your stay in Hawaii, to be all that you expect it to be.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Aston Executive Centre.

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has questions about the Aston Executive Centre, please feel free to contact me at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights on our way home from Kona. It's the best hotel that's close(ish) to the airport. Very close to downtown attractions and galleries. Great place to stay for a night or two in transit. Only about 15 min. for the airport. Perfect for anyone catching a cruise at the Aloha Tower cruise ship port.

Room Tip: Great views from the upper floors. You can see the harbour, punchbowl and old downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerlodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie Aust
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night before joining an Hawaiian cruise. We arrived early morning and went straightaway to the Hotel. Cheking in was a breeze and we were informed that we could have our room immediately. To our pleasant surprise the room was located high up overlooking Honolulu harbour. Fully equiped with clothes washer,dryer, stove and full size refrigerator. The hotel is conveniently located in the business/downtown area of Honolulu with convenience stores. Chinatown a short stroll away. A bus stop adjoins the site.Unlimited Wi-fi inernet connection was included

By far the best accomodation we expierienced on our stay and next time we will forget staying at Waikiki and stay here. Public transport is a breeze in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Choose a 1 bedroom apartment high up overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Room was ok, but very dated -- had a kitchen and sitting room. No ability to open windows. Loud airconditioning. Had to wait over 5 minutes for elevator in the morning. Breakfast buffet ran out of coffee! Bar closed (for visitors at least) very early. Very convenient to downtown. Downtown very noisy early in morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunnrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Aloha dunnreg from Seattle,

As you stated, the Aston Executive Centre's downtown location is convenient for business travelers in Honolulu to conduct business. But our location offers much more for non-business leisure travelers. The Executive Centre is surrounded by a plethora of excellent Mom & Pop to fine dining restaurants to choose from. A short walk away, the Aloha Tower Marketplace has a wonderful selection of shopping and great restaurants such as Chai's Island Bistro or Gordon Biersch Brewery. The Executive Centre is also located very close to Historic Chinatown, where a multitude of eclectic shops, open markets and authentic Asian restaurants are within an eight block radius. Fort Street Mall, located next to the hotel and Macy’s, offers an open market twice weekly. Also a fully equipped 24 Hour Fitness Gym is located on our block, for those staying fit. If you are a contractor working at any of the military bases or at Pearl Harbor, the central location of the hotel reduces your daily commute time by up to an hour, avoiding the majority of the traffic. For passengers meeting the Norwegian Cruise ship, the hotel is a few short blocks from the departure pier. The Aston Executive Centre is an excellent value in an excellent location.

We care very much about our guests and their comfort. We wish that you contacted the hotel staff or management about your concerns during your overnight stay as we take all postings on this site, very seriously. We would have done all that we can to assist in improving your experience prior to your departure.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Aston Executive Centre.

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed during Christmas/new Years several times and the view of the fireworks at Aloha Tower from the 40th floor is perfect. Suites are large with spa bathtubs. Security elevators and walking distance to China town and downtown areas. if you don't like waikiki but want to go to Oahu, you will find this a perfect alternative.
Almost don't want to review this hotel, we want to be able to come back everytime (at least 4 times a year) and have availability. :)

Room Tip: if you choose an ocean view you see Aloha Tower and the harbor. COnvenience and no crowds is the ke...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank heavenlyhakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The two of us stayed here while work was being done on our house, and we got exactly what we wanted: a reasonably priced, good-sized, quiet suite. The room was so quiet, in fact, that we heard zero noise from adjoining rooms, the halls, or the elevators, which were directly across from our room.

The bathroom and carpeting in our room were a little on the shabby side, but the furniture looked good, and everything was clean.

Our room had two (full-sized?) beds that were too small to comfortably sleep two adults.

The wired Internet connection was essentially nonfunctional; the local cable Internet provider first tried to troubleshoot over the phone and, when that didn't work, arranged for wifi service the following morning. The wifi was room-specific, but not locked down -- the routers for other rooms in the hotel showed up on our computer's wifi network list.

This is a small hotel in the heart of downtown, which was fine for us, but it is likely not a good choice for vacationers looking for a resort and/or Waikiki experience.

The spaciousness and quietness were, for us, big pluses that outweighed the negatives. We'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank David_DCburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Aloha David_Oahu,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.com!

We are in full agreement that the Aston Executive Centre is not for "vacationers looking for a resort and/or Waikiki experience". You have, as many other Kama'aina have discovered, the Aston Executive Centre is a perfect location for locals and visitors desiring to avoid the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. As you stated, the Aston Executive Centre provides its guests with "reasonably priced, good-sized, quiet suite(s)". We are happy you had a wonderful stay and that you would stay with us again.

We appreciate the feedback and as promised, complimentary WIFI has been added to each guest room. The WIFI installation was just completed the day before your arrival by Oceanic Time Warner (our internet provider). We are in the process of making the WIFI signal "room specific" and should have this completed by the middle of the month.

We sincerely appreciate your comments as we continually strive to improve our hotel.

MAHALO for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.com and we look forward to hosting you again!

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has questions about the Aston Executive Centre, please feel free to contact me at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
4.1 mi away
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,026 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
2.8 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
438 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Property: Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Address: 1088 Bishop St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813-3141 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Executive Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Downtown Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Honolulu's financial district, near government offices, business and dining. With complimentary continental breakfast, free daily newspaper and business center, this property is fully equipped with all the amenities for the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Honolulu
Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii
Resortquest Honolulu
Aston At The Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing