We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“China Town”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

As "locals" from The BIg Island we stay at the EC every time we travel to Oahu. We love the location...next door to China Town and away from the traffic and crowds of Waikiki. Rooms as others have stated are condos that are privately own but managed by Aston. The units are always clean and up to date. Most units are above the 25th floor so great ocean and mountain views. Parking is not free but very reasonable for overnight city parking. When staying here it is a must to try the LIttle VIllage Chinese restaurant right down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrade to ocean view good chance you will get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank konamarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Aloha Konamarc,

We appreciate your continued patronage and that you choose to stay with us at the Aston Executive Centre.

As you state, the Aston Executive Centre is a convenient place for "locals" to stay. The hotel has an excellent location, "next door to China Town and away from the traffic and crowds of Waikiki". With "units (that) are always clean and up to date" and have "great ocean and mountain views".

Regarding your gracious comments, we could not agree with you more! We are happy to be your hotel of choice, when traveling to Oahu from the beautiful Big Island of Hawaii.

We invite all "locals", to stay at the Aston Executive Centre and enjoy our warm welcoming hospitality and Aloha Spirit.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and MAHALO for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.com.

Sincerely,

Clem

PS. I love the walnut shrimp at the Little Village Chinese restaurant.

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.

Clem Lagundimao
General Manager
Aston at the Executive Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    90
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
30
65
21
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is actually a condo-hotel as other reviewers have stated. Each room has a kitchen with dishes and utensils, bath, and bedroom. It seems as if some units are owner occupied or long term rentals, as we encountered children with school bags in the elevators from time to time. After having looked at hotel rates in Honolulu any place I was surprised to be able to stay here for under $200 a night. Our room on the 22nd floor was clean and comfortable. The room where they have the continental breakfast on floor 44 has a spectacular view of the ocean, harbor and mountains. We walked around downtown and saw the sights in the area. Hung over the fence and listened to a concert that was part of a corporate being held at the Iolani Palace--on the mainland security would have thrown us out. We walked in the steps of McGarrett (the old Hawaii 5-O) and Magnum--and saw many of the iconic locations used in the programs. Never did figure out which building McGarrett stands on when he turns around at the end of every program with the view in the background. Housekeeping and staff at the front desk were all kind and considerate. We were on a sad mission after the death of a family member, so that was important.
The Hukilau restaurant off the lobby is pretty good. We went one evening during happy hour and made a meal of the heavy pupus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is, I think, the only actual "hotel" property in downtown Honolulu. I stayed here because it was within walking distance to my client. In this property, the suites are individually owned, but the property is managed by the Aston hotel group. As a result, there may not be consistency between rooms (one room may be newer, the next older). If you get an unsatisfactory suite, just ask the front desk for a different one.
The suite I stayed in was clean and comfortable. It was on the 22nd floor and had a decent view of the city, some ocean, and some mountains. The bed was comfortable and clean king-size, the TV was flat-screen LCD. Room number was 2204. One negative note: The hallway on floor 22 was consistently smelly, musty. The room was not, however.
The property is conveniently located in the center of downtown Honolulu. I would only stay here for business reasons - this is not a hotel that you would want to stay in on vacation - it would require a bus, car, or taxi ride to any tourist location. I would recommend it for business travelers only.

Room Tip: Room 2204 was clean and comfortable. Some rooms have old-style CRT TVs. Be sure to request a flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pciduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We upgraded to a one bedroom apartment with an ocean view prior to our departure from Australia. So glad we did. What magnificent views of Downtown Honolulu, the harbour and the surrounding mountains from three, large floor to ceiling windows. Breathtaking views both day and night. We were given an early check into our room, after a nine hour flight and enjoyed six wonderful days, managing to visit just about everything on Oahu on 'The Bus', which has a number of stops situated in close proximity to the hotel. With such a well-equipped kitchen in our apartment, it was so easy to eat in. Thankyou to one caring staff member at reception who obviously was concerned for our departure at 5 a.m in a torrential downpour.Only downside to staying in this wonderful hotel... you really can't wander around at night ...some people are homeless ... or ... just downright scarey!

Room Tip: Ocean view, corner suite on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Aloha Liz M from Australia!

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely both agree that the ocean/harbor views as well as the mountain views are breathtaking. The full kitchens in the one bedroom suites are conducive to preparing your meals and the first class restaurants all in close proximity of the hotel, are convenient when you do not feel like cooking. As you experienced, our staff is very caring, thoughtful and share their Aloha spirit generously with our guests.

As with most metropolitan cities, Oahu has its share of homeless. In the evenings, when there are fewer people in downtown, the homeless are more noticeable and not hidden by the crowds. Based on figures received from the Honolulu Police Department, Downtown Honolulu has one fifth the amount of crime compared to Waikiki therefore despite the small homeless presence, downtown is a safe place.

We are glad you had a memorable stay with us and look forward to hosting you again at the Aston Executive Centre. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Aston Executive Centre.

If anyone has any questions or concerns about our hotel, please feel free to contact me directly at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

First the postiive: terrific location for downtown business in Honolulu. You can walk to all the main businesses easily. The rooms are actually mini-suites with kitchenettes and some of them have amazing views of the ocean with floor to ceiling windows. There have been a few upgrades since I was here 5 years ago--new carpets, etc. They provide a basic continental breakfast for guests which is complimentary. What detracts? There is definitely a 1970s vibe to the place--old TVs, small bathrooms, worn bedspreads. The lobby area is not very inviting as it is dark and underground. The pool area is pleasant, but because of the architecture is shaded for a good bit of the day. However, for space and location at a good price, this is a good bet.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingnewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonEXCGM, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Aloha Wanderingnewyorker,

Welcome back to the Aston Executive Centre. You repeat patronage and feedback is very much appreciated.

Thank you for your complimentary comments about the rooms and upgrades. We agree with you that if you are conducting business in downtown and need a place to stay, the Aston Executive Centre is your hotel. The hotel “suites” are much larger than your standard hotel room and have amazing views with the floor to ceiling windows. Despite the recession, Aston at the Executive Centre has been busy updating and upgrading its rooms. Carpets, appliances, bedding have been upgraded in the last 2 years and we are more than half done, adding LCD TV’s as the hotel standard.

As you stated, for a spacious "suite" and "terrific" location at a "good price", the Aston Executive Centre is where you want to stay.

We look forward to hosting you on your next stay. Mahalo for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.com!

Best regards,

Clem

If anyone has questions about the Aston Executive Centre, please feel free to contact me at clem.lagundimao@astonhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a nice hotel for business travelers, but there are some weird things about it. There is no front entrance off the street, so don't expect to pull up and have a bellman unload your car and park it for you. You go into a weird parking garage and every spot seems to be reserved. Front desk is hidden away in a large lobby. Front desk personnel are nice. Rooms are large and well appointed. Not luxury, but above average. Free internet worked great. Breakfast is a joke. A few rolls and some juice and coffee. There is really not hotel restaurant nor is there room service. There is a restaurant in the lobby and some limited delivery service from them. But there is no service for breakfast and no in room breakfast available. Pool is plain and not inviting. No gym, but for $10 they will give you a pass to get into the 24 hour fitness around the block.
Area is not that great. Lots of homeless people on the streets. Aloha Tower about a ten minute walk has some restaurants, but a bit sketchy walk to the complex.
Overall, a decent place for business travelers, but keep in mind the limited services available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
447 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

A Honolulu-based friend recommended this hotel as being good, good value and central in Honolulu which has traffic and parking issues anyway. The hotel welcomes kama'aina (local residents) with special rates as well as offering corporate rates for business travelers. Check in and check out is noon and this is so much better than the general 3:00pm check in and 10:00am check out on usual offer in Honolulu in my experience. I arrived an hour sooner than expected and the hotel not only had a suite ready but also offered an upgrade on the 39th floor with a superb ocean and port view as far as the airport and beyond. Complimentary continental breakfast on the 40th floor is included along with free in-room coffee in a substantial kitchen/dining area and free wi fi in the club precinct or in-room Ethernet connection.

The decor is comfortable and not fussy and although to some it might be a little dated, it is also part of the relaxed charm on offer.

I found staff very pleasant, professional and accommodating and I will certainly use this as my Honolulu base in future.

Room Tip: An ocean view is lovely but even a mountain view is beautiful. Honolulu has a bigger city feel in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,021 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel

Property: Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Address: 1088 Bishop St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813-3141 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Executive Centre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Downtown Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Honolulu's financial district, near government offices, business and dining. With complimentary continental breakfast, free daily newspaper and business center, this property is fully equipped with all the amenities for the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Honolulu
Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii
Resortquest Honolulu
Aston At The Executive Centre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing