We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just returned home after five luxurious days and nights at The Kahala. What an experience. Everything was top notch - accommodations, service, the restaurants, the beach...we are beyond thrilled with our stay and can't say enough nice things.

The resort is magical and the staff is superior. Nothing goes unnoticed and they have every detail covered. We had such a lovely getaway.

Location was great - private and away from the city / hustle bustle of Waikiki but still so close to everything. The beach was uncrowded and serene.

Ate dinner at both Plumeria and Arancino, the four course dinner at Arancino was spectacular.

Our room was very comfortable and I wanted to take our bed home with us - the best nights of sleep I've had in a very long time.

Room Tip: We had a scenic room - loved looking out over the golf course and the savings was worth it to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mblikestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Aloha mblikestogo,

Mahalo for taking the time to share the details from your recent stay and for your kind words. We are thrilled that you love this historic gem as much as we do.

The staff truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff are so proud to be a part of The Kahala Hotel & Resort. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff and management team about your exceptional dining experiences at Plumeria Beach House and Arancino.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just came back from spending a few nights at the Kahala and we absolutely loved it. We were a party of 6 made up of two children and two grandparents and it was perfect for all of us. It was small enough where my kids couldn't get lost and not too big that it was a great distance for my parents to travel. Loved that it was not in Waikiki and that my kids could either swim or watch the dolphins. The only problem with the hotel is that it was so beautiful and relaxing that nobody wanted to leave and go and explore the rest of the island. We are definitely planning on coming back, miss it already!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candygirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Aloha candygirl32

Mahalo for the kind compliments. We are delighted to hear that the entire ohana enjoy their stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort . The Staff strive to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests and we are pleased to read you experienced this first hand. We hope that your time with us will continue to be one of your favorite travel stories to share again and again.

We look forward to welcoming everyone back to the resort for your next Hawaii vacation.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Since the early days as The Kahala Hilton, little has changed, as it still looks the same, is the same. The same friendly attentive staff (some have been there a very long time) ensuring a relaxed stay. The rooms are large and comfortable and the pool, dolphins and private beach area are a haven away from Waikiki. A short drive away and you are at Ala Moana or in the thick of Waikiki. Expect to pay extra for a beach cabana - but overall the Kahala has not lost any of its magical appeal. If you have never stayed here you have missed out on possibly the best hotel experience in Hawaii - even though there are newer and flashier hotel options on the other islands.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Aloha buster 15,

Mahalo for taking the time to submit your review and for your continued loyalty.

Our Staff has a commitment to each guest to create exceptional experiences that last a lifetime. We take pride in continuing the legacy of The Kahala’s iconic service levels. Your kind compliments have been shared with our leaders and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I hate staying at hotels, but this is not a hotel experience in my opinion. This is luxury, with a staff that seems to anticipate your needs, without being intrusive. The staff are friendly, professional, and helpful. Requests are tended to quickly and efficiently. The property is beautiful! The hotel exudes relaxed elegance. The food at the breakfast buffet is wonderful. I would recommend this resort without reservation and whole heartedly. Thank you to the Kahala staff for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jacqueline68 S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Aloha Jacqueline68 S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We believe The Kahala and the staff epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho'’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our hotel staff are so proud to be a part of The Kahala Hotel & Resort's ohana.

I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff and leadership. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at the Kahala for 3 nights/4 days. Would most definitely stay here again. Great service, clean updated spacious rooms, wonderful service, close to other things yet tucked away. Clean beach and nice pool area. Hated to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Aloha Sue D,

Mahalo, for taking the time to submit your review about The Kahala Hotel & Resort. The resort’s secluded beach is one of the most treasured aspects about staying at our resort and we thank you for your recognition.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you for a stay at our resort one day soon!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in an ocean view room. It was a great size and the view was amazing. The service was good and the food in the restaurants was really good. Great setting and nice to be out of the bustle of Waikiki but still within ways distance. If only there for a short time and you're planning to shop probably better to stay somewhere central.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Aloha Dackson,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. Our secluded location allows our guests to find rest and relaxation and the centralized location offers easy access to activities and Waikiki Beach.

We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our hotel staff, culinary team and managers. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home and our resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Upon check in, you get shown to the front desk by the valet and receive a warm towel for your hands. The room is beautiful and the bathroom is the best on this island. You have a deep soaking tub as well as a shower on the other end of the bathroom. Only complaint I can even foresee is the toilet is tight. You have to close the door before you sit down, but really not that big of a problem once you figure it out. Pool and beach services are great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Aloha Christopher S,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional staff are the foundations of The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our leaders and staff.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,598 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,187 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $400 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing