We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“KAHALA MAGIC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“KAHALA MAGIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Since the early days as The Kahala Hilton, little has changed, as it still looks the same, is the same. The same friendly attentive staff (some have been there a very long time) ensuring a relaxed stay. The rooms are large and comfortable and the pool, dolphins and private beach area are a haven away from Waikiki. A short drive away and you are at Ala Moana or in the thick of Waikiki. Expect to pay extra for a beach cabana - but overall the Kahala has not lost any of its magical appeal. If you have never stayed here you have missed out on possibly the best hotel experience in Hawaii - even though there are newer and flashier hotel options on the other islands.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Aloha buster 15,

Mahalo for taking the time to submit your review and for your continued loyalty.

Our Staff has a commitment to each guest to create exceptional experiences that last a lifetime. We take pride in continuing the legacy of The Kahala’s iconic service levels. Your kind compliments have been shared with our leaders and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,841
    475
    162
    77
    62
See reviews for
899
1,163
65
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I hate staying at hotels, but this is not a hotel experience in my opinion. This is luxury, with a staff that seems to anticipate your needs, without being intrusive. The staff are friendly, professional, and helpful. Requests are tended to quickly and efficiently. The property is beautiful! The hotel exudes relaxed elegance. The food at the breakfast buffet is wonderful. I would recommend this resort without reservation and whole heartedly. Thank you to the Kahala staff for a wonderful stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline68 S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Aloha Jacqueline68 S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We believe The Kahala and the staff epitomizes the elegance and grace unique in the Hawaiian value of ho'’okipa. This is the welcoming of guests and strangers alike with complete generosity of Aloha spirit and hospitality. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our hotel staff are so proud to be a part of The Kahala Hotel & Resort's ohana.

I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff and leadership. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at the Kahala for 3 nights/4 days. Would most definitely stay here again. Great service, clean updated spacious rooms, wonderful service, close to other things yet tucked away. Clean beach and nice pool area. Hated to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha Sue D,

Mahalo, for taking the time to submit your review about The Kahala Hotel & Resort. The resort’s secluded beach is one of the most treasured aspects about staying at our resort and we thank you for your recognition.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and management team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you for a stay at our resort one day soon!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in an ocean view room. It was a great size and the view was amazing. The service was good and the food in the restaurants was really good. Great setting and nice to be out of the bustle of Waikiki but still within ways distance. If only there for a short time and you're planning to shop probably better to stay somewhere central.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha Dackson,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. Our secluded location allows our guests to find rest and relaxation and the centralized location offers easy access to activities and Waikiki Beach.

We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our hotel staff, culinary team and managers. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home and our resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Upon check in, you get shown to the front desk by the valet and receive a warm towel for your hands. The room is beautiful and the bathroom is the best on this island. You have a deep soaking tub as well as a shower on the other end of the bathroom. Only complaint I can even foresee is the toilet is tight. You have to close the door before you sit down, but really not that big of a problem once you figure it out. Pool and beach services are great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha Christopher S,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional staff are the foundations of The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our leaders and staff.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Kahala has a long story of quality and that shows in the small details. I've stayed with my family in a 2 bedroom ocean view suite and everything went smoothly. No surprises during the 8 days stay and i've experimented all the restaurants , spa, etc. Arancino (the Italian restaurant) it's a must with it's creative modern italian cuisine.

Two small negatives but they are so easy to correct that it's a pity that the management doesn't takes care of it. Wifi it's dreadful (difficult to connect, always asking for the password, bad speeds and a number of other problems that i prefer to forget).... And as many other revisors of trip advisor keep saying - Pool staff is really needing a strong review - it's not only the fact that they only work if you tip them generously... it's their attitude, rudeness, unavailability to help and also the bad quality of beach material (the beach towels are worst that any 2 star hotel)......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysmovinglisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha alwaysmovinglisbon,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that the ohana enjoy their stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and the ohana back to our resort.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda, Michigan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had reservations with the Dolphins and arrived early and they allowed us to park and said we could go to the beach and enjoy the outdoor areas until our Dolphin time. I had to post about the hotel even though we didn't stay there. It was so peaceful, security is TOP NOTCH! You pull up and r immediately approached. Yep, High Class! It was not overcrowded like where we stayed on Waikiki. So personally if u want a peaceful vacation and can afford this place GO! Relaxing uncrowded beach, several hot tubs and AGAIN not crowded. The atmosphere was lavishing like a place I feel Donald Trump would stay at, figure of speech. Didn't see the rooms but the outside was perfect if u want to truly relax and if u love Dolphins this is the place for you. Just watching the cuties can take your heart away.

Room Tip: I'd choose the dolphins.........again jmo but I love dolphins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha Carrie0693,

Mahalo, for taking the time to submit your review about The Kahala Hotel & Resort. It is true; the secluded beach is one of the most treasured aspects about staying at our resort. Our return guests have shared with us again and again that the resort is a perfect choice to find rest and relaxation and still have all the amenities that a busy city offers just minutes away. It is a genuine luxury Hawaiian vacation for many.

We appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you for a stay at our resort one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing