We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classy and relaxing”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in an ocean view room. It was a great size and the view was amazing. The service was good and the food in the restaurants was really good. Great setting and nice to be out of the bustle of Waikiki but still within ways distance. If only there for a short time and you're planning to shop probably better to stay somewhere central.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha Dackson,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. Our secluded location allows our guests to find rest and relaxation and the centralized location offers easy access to activities and Waikiki Beach.

We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our hotel staff, culinary team and managers. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home and our resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,931
    489
    163
    77
    61
See reviews for
943
1,197
68
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Upon check in, you get shown to the front desk by the valet and receive a warm towel for your hands. The room is beautiful and the bathroom is the best on this island. You have a deep soaking tub as well as a shower on the other end of the bathroom. Only complaint I can even foresee is the toilet is tight. You have to close the door before you sit down, but really not that big of a problem once you figure it out. Pool and beach services are great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha Christopher S,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Our unique destination, unrivaled accommodations and exceptional staff are the foundations of The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We pride ourselves on our personalized service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our leaders and staff.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Kahala has a long story of quality and that shows in the small details. I've stayed with my family in a 2 bedroom ocean view suite and everything went smoothly. No surprises during the 8 days stay and i've experimented all the restaurants , spa, etc. Arancino (the Italian restaurant) it's a must with it's creative modern italian cuisine.

Two small negatives but they are so easy to correct that it's a pity that the management doesn't takes care of it. Wifi it's dreadful (difficult to connect, always asking for the password, bad speeds and a number of other problems that i prefer to forget).... And as many other revisors of trip advisor keep saying - Pool staff is really needing a strong review - it's not only the fact that they only work if you tip them generously... it's their attitude, rudeness, unavailability to help and also the bad quality of beach material (the beach towels are worst that any 2 star hotel)......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysmovinglisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha alwaysmovinglisbon,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that the ohana enjoy their stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Our hotel staff strives to provide unparalleled services and memorable experiences to all our guests. I apologize that your stay was anything less than flawless. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention. It allows us to improve and I have shared your feedback with our leadership.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and the ohana back to our resort.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had reservations with the Dolphins and arrived early and they allowed us to park and said we could go to the beach and enjoy the outdoor areas until our Dolphin time. I had to post about the hotel even though we didn't stay there. It was so peaceful, security is TOP NOTCH! You pull up and r immediately approached. Yep, High Class! It was not overcrowded like where we stayed on Waikiki. So personally if u want a peaceful vacation and can afford this place GO! Relaxing uncrowded beach, several hot tubs and AGAIN not crowded. The atmosphere was lavishing like a place I feel Donald Trump would stay at, figure of speech. Didn't see the rooms but the outside was perfect if u want to truly relax and if u love Dolphins this is the place for you. Just watching the cuties can take your heart away.

Room Tip: I'd choose the dolphins.........again jmo but I love dolphins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie0693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha Carrie0693,

Mahalo, for taking the time to submit your review about The Kahala Hotel & Resort. It is true; the secluded beach is one of the most treasured aspects about staying at our resort. Our return guests have shared with us again and again that the resort is a perfect choice to find rest and relaxation and still have all the amenities that a busy city offers just minutes away. It is a genuine luxury Hawaiian vacation for many.

We appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you for a stay at our resort one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this resort last week and really had a great time. We upgraded our room from Dolphin Lagoon view to Oceanfront, with Balcony, and really enjoyed the spectacular view. We also got complimentary breakfast for the duration of our stay and free parking. Well centralized location and minutes to the Diamond Head Crater as well as to the Waikiki Beach. We really enjoyed the resort beach and pool. 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive to Kahala Mall. Its better to rent a car, but not from the Hotel. We rented from the airport and saved about $400. I would give this Hotel a 5 star with the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vimal Roshni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha Vimal Roshni N,

It is true, our secluded location allows our guests to find rest and relaxation and the centralized location from activities and Waikiki Beach makes our destination the resort of choice for a Hawaiian vacation.

We are pleased that you experience this first hand and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island home and our resort soon!

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at this resort for 7 nights. First impressions on arrival were that this was truly a special property. The lobby, entrance and public areas were tasteful and suitably impressive without being over the top. Our check in was smooth and efficient and we were told just enough about the hotel to keep us going without overloading us with details. The room we took was large, overlooked the golf course and mountain and was extremely clean and well presented. Although there was no balcony, there was a huge sliding glass window that could be opened completely that gave the room a bright and airy feel. The bathroom was well appointed with everything you would expect of this standard of hotel. The bed and linens were as comfortable as we have ever experienced. Free WiFi was easy to set up and available throughout the hotel including the pool and outside areas. As this hotel is a little far away from Waikiki, there are limited options for dining within walking distance. To this end the hotel overcomes this obstacle by providing 4 or 5 dining options which range from reasonable to expensive - there is also a shuttle bus that departs regularly for Waikiki and the shopping centres which we used a few times during our stay. Everything we ate at the resort was delicious as were the wines which had clearly been well selected and were priced well. The daily breakfast buffet was well catered although for the price some alternative options for coffee such as latte or cappuccino would have been nice. Service was exemplary throughout the stay with the only negative being on the last night at Veranda when the drinks took over 30 minutes to arrive and actually came after the food was served. The only other negative was probably that the pool was small and got very crowded with kids. The dolphins were great to watch and never particularly crowded. The hotel benefits from being just a walk away from Diamond Head but if you don't want to walk, hiring a car is all taken care of on site and is very simple. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Considering the windows on the rooms with no balconies I don't think it makes too much differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Aloha TokyoSG,

Mahalo for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and gracious review. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay.

Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of The Kahala. I will be sure to share your comments with our management team and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort for your next Hawaii vacation.

Warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Kahala exceeded my expectations and was welcoming in every possible way. Traveling as a younger couple, it was especially refreshing to be treated with respect, quality care, and personal attention. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was attentive and friendly. The concierge was especially willing to go out of his way to make our trip special. The best part of the Kahala was the close proximity to the beach and the mall. While it is close to many popular locations, its individual location and space feels quaint and non-commercial. It was very peaceful and relaxing without too many tourists or a kitschy feel. If you get the opportunity to dine at Aracino's, I would highly recommend their meals and wine pairings. My travel companion is a chef and said it was one of the best meals he had ever had. I'm not a chef, but I definitely agree. Delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Aloha bcaha,

It has been a true pleasure reading your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and for submitting a very thoughtful review. We truly appreciate your feedback and endorsement of our resort.

Our secluded beach location and close proximity to the vibrant life of Waikiki is beyond doubt a favorite aspect to many of our guests’ vacation experiences. Our staff has a commitment to each guest to create extraordinary services, amenities and culinary delights. We take pride in continuing the legacy of The Kahala’s iconic past. I have shared your kind compliments with our leaders and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kahala Hotel & Resort as our ohana for your next Hawaiian vacation.
With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,497 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing