We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Felt like an Oasis. Very relaxing. Food was delicious. I got a great haircut from Stacie at Reve Salon and the SUP yoga was challenging and fun. Breakfast on the beach at Plumeria was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Aloha Mary Jean O

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback . We appreciate your kind comments about the staff, food and location. We are definitely a favorite Hawaiian destination for relaxation and our exclusive beach really does feel like an "oasis."

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    501
    171
    80
    62
See reviews for
990
1,219
70
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights with our family. Exceeded our expectations. Staff was great, room was very good. We had a two bedroom suite which was plenty big for the family. Pool and beach were terrific. Kids did the Dolphin Quest - loved it, very unique experience. Hotel was full but did not feel crowded. Food was also good - a good selection and variety. Breakfast was top notch. Great spot. Would go back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Aloha Ellen M,

Thank you for the kinds comments. We are delighted to hear that the whole family enjoyed their stay with us at the Kahala Hotel & Resort.

We look forward to our next opportunity to welcoming the Ohana back for your next Hawaiian Vacation.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our third visit here and it continues to prove to be a favorite destination. Even when the hotel is near capacity, it still feels peaceful and relaxed. This time just my husband and I and we are really enjoying all of the facilities including a great workout room. Plumeria breakfast is one of the best ever. Pass on new Italian restaurant, Arancino. No ambiance, food very mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your loyalty and your endorsement of the Kahala. Hearing feedback from loyal guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of the Kahala Hotel & Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to our ohana (family).

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Kahala is famous as a hotel destination of presidents and actors.

If you ignore the hype and focus on the actual experience it comes out as very good but not excellent.

Location is off the beaten path which is great for me but some might prefer to be in the hubbub.

Rooms are ample and clean. Free internet and breakfast with our room.

Layout has a modern feel. Lobby is expansive and open air.

Beach is a mix of families and romantic couples. At least 70 percent of visitors are Japanese. But that is true almost everywhere in Honolulu.

Food is very expensive. Breakfast buffet is amazing. Dinners are good but not top gourmet. I recommend going out for dinner if you want top good at reasonable prices.

Very relaxing. Nice romantic feel. Great views.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shantap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Aloha Shantap,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review and for your loyalty to the Kahala Hotel & Resort. It is with complete joy to read your kind compliments about our hotel staff and the exceptional services you experienced first hand.

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful island home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This resort exceeded our expectations - from the attentiveness of each staff member to their effort to make our stay unforgettable, they have certainly won over a family who will return again! mahalo!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danicamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Aloha Danicamc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Kahala Hotel & Resort. We sincerely appreciate your recognition. It was a pleasure to read, “This resort exceeded our expectations."

Each staff member is skilled at curating authentic experiences for each guest. We hope that these travel stories will be your favorite memories to share again and again.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next Hawaii vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Dolphins and sea turtles are on property. The food is amazing while the staff are very attentive and helpful. The views are breathtaking and it is a quick drive to anywhere you would want to go. The concierge should be more forthcoming about some of the excursions, the ATV ride was so mild it's safe to bring your grandma even a week after her hip surgery. I was hoping for more adventure..... The snorkeling excursion was a blast though, captain mark was able to show us whales, multiple species of dolphin, turtles and 50 types of fish.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ListentoDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the kind compliments and for taking the time to share your experiences. . We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful island soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

It's a really nice place: clean, quiet, outstanding quality on everything and pleasant surprises: the room & size, the food, the service, the swimming pool with dolphins and turtles, the distance to the beach.
We were on our honeymoon, and while they congratulate you, there was no extra greeting, so that was a bit off.


Pros.
The breakfast
The size of the room
The many food options
The distance to the beach

Cons.
They charge every little thing. I understand the profit driven goal but
28USD per day/valet parking. And they ask for tip everytime.
Speed of room service:
E.g. Huge cockroach into the room. They sent someone to get it, they couldnt get it, we had to slept with the bug crawling around.
We asked to take away the dinner table from room service, 20 minutes and it still was there.

Overall, excellent experience!

Room Tip: If in the mountain side, as higher as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Aloha Juan D,

Thank you for the kind compliments and for taking the time to share your experiences at the Kahala Hotel & Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the excellent services provided by our staff. Your comments have been shared with our leaders for development. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful island soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,540 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing