We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect balance”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful beach...brought in their own white sand. No other hotels nearby, so it's not crowded on the beach or at the pool, but the resort is big enough that neither seem empty. We were standup paddle boarding throughout the beachside lagoon and reef the first day. Very sheltered and calm.

Hotel and staff are excellent. All the more so after we went into Waikiki and I learned in what a cluster I could have stayed. Still, if you must have Waikiki it's a short drive or shuttle away.

The room was clearly designed for a different layout but they did an excellent job with the renovation and it works as a modern space.

Oh. And there are dolphins in the lagoon, and that doesn't suck. Also small pools with sea turtles and rays.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    496
    165
    78
    61
See reviews for
967
1,211
68
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Wonderful rooms on the beachside ground level to the east of the pool - lounge chairs on private patio steps from the ocean, rooms nice and quiet. Not sure about the tower rooms. Would definitely recommend this resort for couples or families. The fish, turtles and dolphins in the pools were fun to watch and staff friendly and knowledgeable. It was January so we were able to spot some whales during breakfasts out front too- long way out but definitely there to see

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel could not have been better for our honeymoon. The rooms were massive, the toilets incredible, the view spectacular and all a short way out of town so it was very quiet. They have a free shuttle to the places you want to go but why leave? they have a turtle pool, a heated pool and spa (heated at night too!), a dolphin sanctuary and a beach right at their steps!! Amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean front view rooms because the view is worth the extra couple hundred. You'll ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night because we were signed up for the Dolphin Quest Encounter for my son's birthday. We were so glad we decided to stay here because we will definitely be back to enjoy the hotel. We didn't get to eat anything but breakfast because our flight came in late at night but the breakfast was awesome. The Dolphin experience is a memory maker!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaygers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This resort was something more, it was extra special. My husband and I felt like we were important and cared about the entire stay. It gave the WOW effect. I highly recommend this resort for a honeymoon or anniversary destination.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Delonne S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I and my husband want to be relax and resting trip for celebrating silver wedding.
My choice is very good about kahala hotel
it has nice private beach and lovly Dorphins ㅋ
we will revisiting kahala at 30th wedding anniversary

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sunghee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at The Kahala for 4 nights in January 2014. In a much quieter area of Honolulu than Waikiki which made it feel more private. We were greeted with beautiful shell lei's upon arrival. We were upgraded to an ocean view room at no additional expense. What a pleasant surprise! The suite was very spacious and the beds soooo comfy. The hotel grounds are immaculate and loved the on site lagoons with turtles, stingrays and of course the dolphins. Wish I could've stayed longer and hope I am able to return!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovethebeach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,523 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,974 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing