We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Oahu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Without a doubt there is no better hotel in Honolulu than The Kahala. Best location, only a few minutes from Waikiki in an oasis of calm. The suites are better than years ago when it was a Mandarin Oriental. The staff at Plumeria restaurant outstanding and great food. The beach feels like its private even though there are no private beaches in Hawaii. This is our seventh trip to the Hawaiian Islands and one of the best.

Room Tip: The suites with mountain and partial ocean view are excellent, no need to be oceanfront and spend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Aloha Raul D~ Thank you for your kind compliments and for taking the time to share your experience with us. As you figured out, our location is definitely one of the highlights of our hotel. The peaceful and comfortable setting is what attracts a lot of our guests. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Kahala resort for 9 days, and the entire stay was exceptional. The resort is beautiful with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms (with "his and hers" sinks, shower and a bath tub). Service is excellent everywhere: the front desk, the housekeeping, the beach personnel, and the restaurant personnel. Breakfast selection was great. There is a line for a breakfast table between 9am and 10am, so try to get there earlier or later. The best restaurant is Hoku's, their whole fish and free-range chicken are amazing. Do yourself a favor and ask for Lisa's table, she made us feel like part of her own family. The Sunday brunch is great but reserve a space for it several days in advance because it fills up quickly. Also, if you want to use the free shuttle to Waikiki, reserve your space the day before.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the Diamond Head wing, get an ocean view room above the 7th floor to get a ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Aloha Ann~ It is such an honor to be called an "Exceptional Resort." Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you exceptional service. I will definitely share your kind words with our teams as there is nothing better to hear than a job well done! We look forward to welcoming you back. With Kindest Regards, The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the kahala for a week for our honeymoon best 7 days of our live! The hotel was beautiful! The staff was wonderful, very helpful and friendly! The restaurants have amazing food well worth the expensive cost of food and stay, we had the breakfast package I would recommend that to everyone for both of us breakfast would be close to $90 a day (well worth that price) but we didnt have to pay anything, the food was so good included 5 buffet tables 1 was the most amazing fruit we have ever eaten! And also on top of the 5 buffet tables they had an omelet bar where they make whatever omelet you want in front of you, we also ate at hoku's and the plumeria in the hotel both great restaurants. The hotel room was amazing such a beautiful view a huge room the bathroom was so wonderful included 2 vanities a walk in shower a soaking tub, 2 closets with robes, a fridge with free bottled water you can also call room service and have them stock the bar with whatever u want, coffee maker with a basket of coffee teas things that go with that, ice bucket (you have to call room service for more ice but they do fill it when your room is cleaned and also during turn down service) a full sized hair dryer that was nice since most places give you a Barbie sized hair dryer! Lol The bed was so comfy and there was slippers by the bed and with turn down service they turn romantic Hawaiian music on the CD player every night. We also received a free bottle of chilled champagne for it being our honeymoon! They have nice boutiques to shop in at the hotel. There is also a nice private beach where only hotel guests swim and nice seating area by the ocean,they have a nice pool with lounge seats all around it, an outdoor hot tub was nice, they have a waterfall that goes into the lagoon where they have 6 of their own dolphins, 2 mana rays, and a sea turtle. The only bad thing is on Wednesday you can't get a drink to save your life, the plumeria is closed that day (closest restaurant to the pool) they close the outside bar at 5 pm which is usually when people want to start drinking, and room service takes 1 hour that day, the other 2 restaurants 1 you can't go in while not wearing dress clothes the other one my husband sat in for an hour and nobody talked to him!! We where not the only people wanting a drink and it was the 3rd of July so they should have left the bar open longer!! The best thing was how quiet and secluded feeling the hotel was! Was like being in your own world! If you stay here you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Make sure to get the breakfast package you will want their breakfast everyday it's so good and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Don't go to kahala resort hôtel:
Very expensive for a scenic(mountain view Room on the 1 floor with no lanai )
Old bathroom, Old towels with hole
I asked to up grade the Room, nô problem 200$ more per night to have a Room on 6 floor with sea view and parking view
To expensive
We are 3, I Ask for a 2 queens beds rooms: only on océan view: 400$ more per night

Everything is money, you need umbrella to the beach: 25$ a day
Local call even free call: 1 $ each
Swimming pool to small for a resort
But you can see turtle, dolphin, fish in the garden
Concierge is 0: we would like to book a restaurent: nô neccessary, she shaid, we go and 90 min waiting
Before arriving, we were at four seasons maui during 5 nights: paradise

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEAN LOUIS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Aloha Jean Louis L~Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is always our goal to provide the most exceptional service, clearly we did not accomplish that during your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the room upgrade charges. During high travel seasons hotels have less flexibility to offer complimentary upgrades due to the higher demand for rooms. We keep our pricing comparable to similar properties on Oahu and we offer many complimentary amenities for our guests, we apologize that you were not able to take advantage of them.Thank you again for sharing your important feedback with us and we do hope that we look forward to turning your experience around one day. With Kindest Regards, The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Large rooms with good amenities. Pool area tired. Staff overall a little unenthusiastic and did not make you feels special in what is considered a premium sty in Honolulu. Poor shuttle services into Honolulu. Was not impressed with queuing for breakfast and then being told a 45 minute wait until,we could be seated. Breakfast itself was quite average. While perfectly pleasant I did not feel this place went above and beyond to make you feel special as expected for a resort of this calibre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil_H007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Aloha Phil~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are always listening and are so sorry to hear that your stay was a disappointment. Most disheartening is hearing that you were left with the impression that our staff does not go above an beyond. We are so sorry that is how you were made to feel and while we cannot undo the past, we want you to know that it is absolutely not the case. The Kahala has a reputation for a caring staff and genuine service, we do hope for the opportunity to show you that we truly embody the aloha spirit in all that we do. With Kindest Regards The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Kahala is not to be missed! The hotel will be celebrating its 50th birthday but it sure has kept up with the times! It truly is a 5 star hotel, but did not feel stuffy at all. The rooms are beautifully decorated and quite large. We were very fortunate to have a beachfront room and it had the most beautiful view. If you are lucky enough to have a ground floor room, you can open your patio door and walk directly out to the beach. I don't think that you can do that anywhere else on Oahu. The rooms in this wing are a bit of a walk from the lobby, but well worth it. The rooms on the opposite side of the beach front look over the dolphin pond. I was told these rooms are just as popular and are in demand from many time repeat guests..The beach here has little wave action, so safe for swimming. All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly, especially the valet and bell staff. When returning to Oahu, we will come back to Kahala.....FOR SURE!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trm1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I am not often blown away by a place but this place was great. You are not in the hustle and bustle if Waikiki but close enough to go for the dinner. The beach is great. The service is excellent and the buffet breakfast is to die for. An excellent intimate upscale hotel. The concierge is great also. She told us about a great scuba spot on the north shore and an excellent food truck (giovani shrimp truck) near the scuba spot. She also told us about a great sushi spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46466JerseyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Aloha 46466JerseyGuy~ Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind remarks. Our location is truly one of our highlights and we are happy that you discovered it. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. From all of us here at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $393 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing