We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual 4th of July trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Annual 4th of July trip”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

All I can say is that I have been coming to the Kahala just about every year on the 4th of July for over 40 years. First came there in 1970 and fell in love with it. That should say it all. I love it in every way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,933
    489
    163
    77
    61
See reviews for
944
1,197
68
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel with 2 kids before moving to one of the islands. Hotel is nice enough, we had two adjoining rooms of good size but very tired. Pool area also tired. Beach average. Food not bad but generally a 3-4 star experience. Staff very nice and helpful. In saying this, most hotels in Honolulu are very tired as they seem to have high occupancy so don't need to bother refreshing them.

Honolulu is an excellent destination for shopping and some nice restaurants but if you want the idyllic island get away go to Maui or Kona (I have only been to these two islands). 2 nights in Honolulu is heaps, if no kids go to Halekulani but they hate children and noise there so if young kids Kahala probably not a bad option. Just don't expect 5 Star facilities (Halekulani not perfect either). My advice is go 4 Seasons Kona or Maui and do your shopping at home.

The fish and dolphins on site are special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Kellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Aloha James_Kellow~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. We realize that our property is ready for a refresh and are happy to let you know that we are currently in the process of installing new flooring throughout the entire resort, this will be completed around November 2013. Also the improvements to our Internet services will be complete as well. Thank you for again for taking the time to share your feedback, we do hope for the opportunity to deliver the true Kahala experience for which we are known sometime in the future. Until next time, aloha and thank you from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under the bridge
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our second visit after a 9 year break. Still as good as ever. The service is impeccable, as you would expect from an Okura owned hotel, and the resort itself is in a brilliant location. Not on Waikiki, but 5 minutes from everything. Kahala Mall is close. The pools are small but perfect, and the beach is very safe and not too busy. White sands and palm trees. Restaurants are very good if a little pricey. We were with the family and so the Plumeria was the pick. Buffet style at breakfast and Friday and Saturday night "fish fests". Staff was very helpful and service quick.

Rooms are a little chintzy and the beds are small doubles. Great amenities in the room, double sinks and shower and bath. We paid for a partial ocean view and could indeed see the sea if we leant off the balcony, but didn't expect more. Didn't do the dolphin thing as it seemed absurdly expensive as all small children need to be accompanied by an adult thus doubling the spend.

Apart from that, a splendid stay at a terrific hotel. Hopefully we'll be back in less than 9 years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyOldTroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha Grumpy~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your wonderful compliments. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Many Mahalos from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have been coming here for 30 years.It feels like home. Actually it's a santuary..with sandy beach, refreshing pool, great food,( especially the buffet breakfast) wonderful environment and away from the maddening crowd. Daily sauna and steam, and the message with spiritual Raina are totally relaxing. The personable staff will do all in their power to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: A balcony is a must-we like upper floors for view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ca30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kahala recently and we had a delightful experience. The staff were professional and attentive. The hotel is immaculately clean, the grounds are nicely manicured and very clean, the pool is very clean, and the beach area is just perfect (not crowded). We enjoyed are stay thoroughly and plan to go back in the near future. Breakfast was fantastic and Spa areas were exceptional. Kahala is the way to go...

Room Tip: If it's within your budget - get a room with a view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

One of the world's great hotels, and quite possibly THE best in Hawaii! Service, food, location, tranquility, amenities, The Kahala has it all. And, if you need the action of Waikiki, that's just 10 minutes away by car or cab.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnieMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Aloha Ernie~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. There's nothing better than to hear that we have exceeded our guest's expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Kahala in January after several days at the Hilton in Kona. We loved it- small and quiet with a nice beach, very nice spa ( I had a wonderful facial), good fitness center. The food was outstanding at all of the restaurants!! Cocktails were great as well. I hated our day trip to Waikiki - so so glad we were not staying on that crowded, awful beach. The Kahala is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGLNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Aloha NGLNYC~ Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at the Kahala Spa and found our restaurants outstanding. We certainly appreciate your wonderful compliments. As part of our daily communication I have shared your feedback with our teams as there is no better motivator then a job well done! Mahalo and we look forward to your next visit. From all of us here at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,498 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing