We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, spacious and a few minutes out of the mad rush of Honolulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Relaxing, spacious and a few minutes out of the mad rush of Honolulu”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spend 5 days at the Kahala Resort and loved it. This hotel was built in the 1960's so the rooms are quite large and are today very well appointed. Balconies are also large enough to party on !!

The hotel has great views with rooms facing the ocean as well as the Waialae Golf and Country Club at the rear of the hotel - and then the mountains in hte background. All very spectacular !

Kahala is located about 10 - 15 minutes drive from the main Waikiki precinct and that suited us very well. The hotel has a free shuttle to drop you off and pick you up.

Service is great with staff that really enjoy looking after you. Cameron at the consierge desk did a great job for us.

Of special note are the dolfins who have their own pool in hte middle of the Resort - so dolfin feeding and even guests swimming with dolfins make for a memorable visit

Room Tip: Even the rooms that done have ocean views are good because you have the golf course and mountains at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha Peter~ Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our spacious guest rooms and the spectacular views. We are so happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations, I have shared with our teams and Cameron that you were impressed with their exceptional service. There is no better motivator than a job well done. We can't wait to welcome you back! With Kindest Regards and Many Thanks from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    501
    171
    80
    62
See reviews for
990
1,219
70
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the Kahala for our honeymoon July 2013. Absolutely loved every minute and plan to return one day! Best hotel for honeymoon, away from the hussle and bustle of Waikiki which is great to visit but returning to the Kahala was the best! Staff great, hotel spotless and dolphins amazing!

Thanks again Kahala!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Aloha CBolton~ Congratulations of celebrating your honeymoon with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your special time with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We hope you come home to the Kahala once again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at the Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel gives you a lovely vibe, all the staff remembering your name and greeting you everyday. We had the 4th night free with breakfast special which was fantastic, a beautiful buffet every morning which has been one of the nicest buffets I have ever experienced.
Exceptionally clean facilities throughout and a great selection of restaurants to choose from so you dont even have to leave the grounds to make life easy when travelling with a young family.
We particularly enjoyed our stay and will definatey be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yallingupkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

lovely room. lovely beach. lovely staff. awesome food. great prices. great deal. 4th night free with breakfast. great location. romantic. gorgeous view of the ocean.
away from the other busy hotels on waikiki beach.
central , yet private.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gungun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our 4th night free with breakfast and more importantly were able to enjoy the beautiful beach and views. We can wait for you to return! With Warmest Regards~The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Thought service was awesome but had some issueswith hotel. Thought Internet was almost nonexistent and they had small card saying they were upgrading and to go down to lobby. This is unacceptable in this day and age. I thought hotel was in need of facelift as room looked worn. Coffee at breakfast had a chlorine taste and although my husband complained, it could not be rectified. After second day of it, went elsewhere. My reason to stay at the Kahala was location, I hate the overcrowded Waikiki area, but with the Trump and Halekulani about same cost it might be worth the crowds. In fairness to the Kahala, we did not use their beach or pool and were there to visit family. As other reviewers have stated, this might be a big reason to stay here also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArdyceS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Aloha Ardyce~ Thank you taking the time to share your feedback with us, it very important to us that we hear our guest's concerns. As you were aware we are in the process of upgrading our wifi system, we sincerely apologize, I know that not having internet access can be quite frustrating. Your feedback regarding our coffee has been brought to our management's attention and ensure such atypical issues do not occur again in the future. We are happy to let you know that, as a part of our commitment to improve and upgrade our resort, we are installing new carpets throughout the resort. The estimated time of completion will be by the end of the year. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to deliver you an exceptional stay in the future. With Warmest Regards and Many Thanks, The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon thirty years ago. The hotel then was the Kahala Hilton. They graciously upgraded us to the lagoon and we fell in love with the dolphins. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and returned. The quality and beauty were still there. The staff was amazing. The attention to detail was noticed and appreciated. Dolphin Quest has taken over the lagoon and dolphin experience. I was hesitant to utilize their program for several reasons. But, after reading of their experience, care and quality of program, I jumped in the water. I would recommend them highly. The dolphins are not bored and the interaction was a highlight. It was hard to sleep at night as they splashed and played and I just wanted to watch.
We ate at the Veranda and enjoyed a wonderful buffet each morning. The location is perfect. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Aloha JeriLG~ First I would like to congratulate you on celebrating your 30th anniversary! And thank you for sharing your wonderful dolphin experience. Our resident dolphins really make our hotel unique and truly special. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your morning breakfast and our Veranda lounge. Thank you again for sharing your special milestone with us. We can't wait to welcome you back! From all of us here at the Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've never written a review for anything on any site ever in my life, and that's about to change because I want to tell the world that that this resort is one of the magical places I've ever been!

From the minute we drove up to valet, I felt like I was in a fairy tale. Every single member of the staff was friendly and knew my name by day 2, my room was heavenly, the pool staff was available at all times to refill my ice tea or bring me a lunch menu, the front desk was more than helpful, the access to the beach was so close to the pool that I could go back and forth so easily and there was always staff available for any requests or questions. I can't say enough amazing things about this place.

I also need to mention the bed and the bedding! If there was a way I could put it all in my suitcase and take it home, I would have! Honestly the best bed and bedding I've ever experienced.

This trip was worth every penny! I can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sara i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Aloha Sara~ Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We feel so special that we are the first resort that you have reviewed. It is so nice to hear that from the very minute you arrived you experienced our magical brand of Aloha. Thank you for your loyalty to our resort and for taking the time to write such wonderful words about your stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,540 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,013 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing