We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ewa Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Renew(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Reviews (3,034)
Filter reviews
3,034 results
Traveler rating
2,182
524
180
82
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,182
524
180
82
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe dolphin lagoonplumeria beach houseprivate beachseaside grillarancinodolphin experiencepacific dream photographyplumeria restaurantlanai roomkoko headbreakfast buffetfour seasonsturn down serviceour honeymoonfree shuttleshuttle servicebusy waikiki
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,562 - 1,567 of 3,034 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Endless views of the ocean, waves dancing off the reef, a hotel that has everything and located in the heart of exclusive properties nearby. The Kahala is just amazing. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay ..... beautiful.!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaPerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just returned from our seventh stay at the Kahala Resort and it was one of if not the best stay we have had. I have gone into great detail in prior reviews so I will focus on something new.

We booked our stay after receiving an email about a limited time offer they had. We have received these before and used them. If you are considering the Kahala, get on their email list. It is definitely worth it.

The offer we used was a greatly reduced rate on the Partial Ocean View Suites and we are thrilled that we booked it. We have tried several room categories from Dolphin Lagoon, Ocean Front Lanai to Ocean Front Suite. Obviously the Ocean Front Suite was awesome but not exactly the most cost conscious. So when we received an offer for the POV Suite we decided to give it a try. First of all, I thought based on the room map that the view would not be great. I could not have been more wrong! In some ways, the view was better than the Ocean Front. We had a much more panoramic view of the hills, golf course AND the ocean. Yes, it is not as flat out ocean view, but you absolutely can see plenty of it. (We were on the 5th floor of 10 which was great.)

Having the extra space was awesome including two full bathrooms, a living room and the lanai.

Plus, with the suite, even at the special rate, we had the suite amenity package which included transfers to and from the hotel, a beach cabana every day, breakfast, afternoon drinks and snacks, morning coffee, etc. For us, it was definitely worth it, especially given that the offer was at a rate lower than some non-suite room categories.

As always, the food was uniformly awesome from the breakfasts, to the Veranda to the fish tacos on the beach.

I particularly appreciate the hotel’s flexibility. We had originally booked only 3 nights but we were able to add a 4th night at the original rate no problem at all.

The hotel also delivered a nice bottle of champagne in honor of our anniversary which was an improvement over last year.

If we had it to do over, we would have stayed all 7 nights at the Kahala, but such is life.
We will definitely be back as this may well have been the best stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Partial Ocean View Suite. Book the category you want as the hotel does not seem to upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahInSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This property is amazing. The beach is perfect for paddle board, snorkel, kayak or just floating. There is a reef off shore where the waves break so the water is like a calm lagoon. The staff absolutely reflect at 5 star hotel, always friendly and asking what they can do for you, from unpacking your bags, bringing extra bottled water, always addressing you by name, having soft tropical music playing in your always clean room....it's just amazing. The beach cabana boys set up your beach chairs and towels (not an extra charge like most resorts) anywhere on the beach that you choose and there's always someone checking if you need drinks or food. The buffet breakfast and dinners were outstanding. It was very hard to leave!

Room Tip: Our "partial ocean view with lanai" actually faced the mountain. If we leaned out over the balcony and looked far to the right, there was a slight amount of ocean to be viewed. But you can save alot on the room and it's still a very nice view of the golf course and mountains.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OceanVu4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wow!!! This is a hotel we will never in our lifetime forget about.
My husband and I visited The Kahala on our honeymoon back in October 2010! Right from the word go it was an absolute delight. We had a beautiful mountain view room, a chilled bottle of champagne on arrival and the soothing, sweet sound of 'Hawaiian Dreams' escaping from the speakers in the room.
We couldn't get enough of the food in the resort either, from their exotic buffet breakfasts, lovely salads and refreshments whilst sunbathing on the beach at lunch and fresh fish at dinner.
Additionally, walking past the dolphins every morning was an experience of a lifetime!
Our first night dining at Hoku's was extra special too as we were served a congratulations cake at the end of our meal.

No holiday or hotel will ever compare, all I can say is we cannot wait to return again one day! Thank you Kahala Hotel for making our stay so amazingly wonderful :)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jojolambrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best vacation I've had in some time ! The Kahala was the most amazing beach resort I've ever been too. The staff , dining , location , & Dolphin lagoon, will have me going back!! I didn't want to leave.:)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liiissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews