We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect place for a high tea birthday celebration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a high tea birthday celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until the second we left it was perfect perfect food perfect teeth perfect service perfect cleanliness and amazing Aloha filled environment. The chef out did himself with the sandwiches pastries fruits vegetables and amazing tea selections.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahuna8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Mahalo and thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and that everything was perfect from tea to ambiance.

On behalf of the entire staff and myself, thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate such kind words.

As part of our daily communication I have shared your feedback with our teams as there is no better motivator then a job well done !

Mahalo and we look forward to your next visit !

Warmest Aloha,
Roseann Grippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,694
    443
    160
    75
    61
See reviews for
837
1,091
60
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Eating at The Veranda was a delight! The servers Kellee, Michal, and Tatyana were so gracious and predicted our every need. Thanks for setting up a special setting for Echo's birthday celebration! The valet was quick and the hosts were helpful to surprise our birthday girl. Come to the Kahala for a relaxing Sunday afternoon or a delicious dinner!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chels199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at The Veranda. And it is truly a delight to hear that we were able to be a part of such a special day.

On behalf of the entire staff and myself, thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience and for the kind recommendation.

Mahalo and we look forward to your next visit !

Warmest Aloha,
Roseann Grippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

One always here's how lucky we are to live in Hawaii and it only gets better when one of the best Spas in Hawaii located at the Kahala hotel is just 3 blocks from my home.
Whenever I really need to feel refreshed or going out for a big night I know I can count on Olivia to give me the latest hydro facial that will get me looking radiant for a special occasion-if you are visiting you won't want to miss the beautiful private spa rooms to have anyone of their amazing treatments-The rooms have private spa tubs and showers for complete privacy. My husband and I have also enjoyed a couples massage treatment with fresh strawberries and campaign delivered! The staff is super educated in the latest anti aging treatments and have products and beauty tools that you can purchase and take back home-one of my favorite treatments other then the hydro/oxygen facial is the anti aging June Jacobs hydrating facial-I also ask for the addition of the face lifting treatment with the Nu Face Trinity-your face and skin will look amazing. I am so lucky to live here and have such a wonder spa so close. If visiting Hawaii and even if not staying at the hotel this is one spa you should not visit-with Aloha Devra

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time at The Kahala Spa.

On behalf of the entire staff and myself, thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. We certainly appreciate your glowing words of praise about our lovely spa treatements. As part of our daily communication I have shared your feedback with our teams as there is no better motivator then a job well done !

Mahalo and we look forward to your next visit !

Warmest Aloha,
Roseann Grippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

For the celebration of my milestone Birthday, my wife choose to organize a private dinner with an intimate group of special friends at one of our favorite location in Honolulu, The Kahala Hotel and Resort.

The exclusive experience and prime location of the hotel inspired us to have our wedding there and being Honolulu residents, each time a special occasion comes with our family, or for business purposes, this is our destination.

My wife, Marisa, had a pleasant time working very precisely with the management of the Hotel for the planning of this special birthday, taking place on the magnificent beach front lawn of the private room of Kahala O Ke Kai.

On the evening of the dinner the General Manager, Roseann Grippo, and her management team were on location to welcome personally my wife and I on our arrival, and impressed us with an outstanding setting and surprised us with unexpected beautiful flower arrangements. Absolutely delightful! Our guests arrived and were impressed also by the setting and private location, the dinner was just about fine dinning, impeccable service in every detail, bringing our experience above expectation.
The evening was a complete success and this special birthday will remain unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick-Gey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha Patrick, Thank you for leaving such kind compliments and for celebrating your birthday with us. Nothing makes me happier than to know that my wonderful team has left such a lasting unforgettable experience with you.

On behalf of the entire staff and myself, thank you so much for taking time to write about your experience. I will be sharing with your feedback with our teams as there is no better motivator then a job well done !

Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Roseann Grippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd stay and second review of The Kahala Hotel. We were having brunch at the Plumeria Beach House yesterday morning when we suddenly thought, why not stay the night? My daughter wanted to use the pool. :) Overall, still love the hotel and the staff are mostly awesome. With ONE exception (and this was the same even with our previous stays)....why is the front desk/reception staff find it sooooo hard to crack a smile? Why is answering a question such a hassle? I also had the feeling that one of them didn't want me to book a room. I walked up from the Plumeria Beach House and asked a lady in the front desk if there is a room available (I was doubting it due to the Sony Open). The first lady said there was only ONE room available and it was an undesirable room on the first floor with a view of the front of the hotel (where people drive in). I told her I will ask my family first. When we decided to go for it, I went back to the front desk to book the room but found another lady available to help me. I asked the same question and she said there was a room on the fourth floor with a nice view of the golf course/mountains. So was the first one lying? I took the fourth floor room but when the second lady was processing the transaction (by the way, the whole time, NOT a single smile or friendly small talk), I had a quick question. She actually had the gall to say, "wait I don't know where I am now," while staring at the computer screen the entire time. Maybe I should not have bothered her while doing rocket science work of booking a room - my apologies! But talking to me like that was RUDE!!! Rude!!!!!

I don't want to end this review on a bad note so I must say that the valet service folks were exceptionally nice as well as the guy who delivered our bags to our room. Room was super clean, very big with an awesome view of the Sony Open! Housekeeping staff was also super, super nice.

Dear Kahala --- we live in the neighborhood but check in for staycations and have also celebrated milestones there (our wedding, our eldest's baptism & first bday party). We also plan to have our second baby's second bday party there. Please train your frontdesk to more polite and to show a little bit more Aloha. It's such a shame when one of the first people you encounter upon checking-in seem as though the last thing they want to do is help/serve you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa_HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha Vanessa_HI

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. We truly appreciate your feedback during your busy schedule.

I truly regret to learn the experience you encountered during your recent stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort was not up our usual Kahala standards. We continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service, which in this case it appears that we have failed to deliver that upon check in. We take your concerns very seriously and are taking proactive measures to implement procedures to prevent these type of occurrences.

We value your constructive comments and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to offer our aloha hospitality. Please contact our Director of Guest Services, Flora LaMontagne, she will see to it that all your needs are taken care of. Thank you again for your feedback; we look forward to turning your experience around.

With kind regards,
Roseann Grippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I spent Christmas Day at Kahala Resort. We had a wonderful brunch at Hoku's where you can find a diverse blend of trends and culture influences. My favorite was ahi sashimi, king crab legs, bread pudding and never ending champagne:)
After brunch we walk around the resort area enjoying all the activities Kahala Resort offered.
I recommend Kahala Resort to people who love good food and good time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Mahalo for sharing your kind compliments with us. It is truly a delight when I hear that our guests enjoyed themselves. Our staff strive to provide exceptional service and I am so happy that you were able to experience that first hand. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again!

With kindest regards,
Roseann Grippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved this place.

First impressions weren't that great, it looks quite old (which it is) and the high rise in particular looks very dated. Up close you see that everything is in immaculate shape. Every inch is freshly painted and clean and there is a real classic feel.

FOOD:
(my priority)
Food was great, breakfast standard buffet but perfectly fine, except that the wait for a table was 15min once or twice, admittedly on the two busiest days of the year. Poolside drinks fantastic, reasonable range of poolside food for lunches. Dinner options good, the bar outside the main restaurant had great drinks, very sophisticated ambience with a superb musician and sleekly attired staff, good wines. Hoku was a fine restaurant, great wine list, and priced OK if I remember rightly.

POOL/BEACHES
The pool is pretty small and generally too warm although it cooled down after a couple of days. The kids loved it. I was a bit surprised at how kid-friendly it was as a few people had suggested the Kahala was a more adult-oriented resort...in fact I find it hard to imagine Hollywood celebrities hanging out by the pool which is a pretty noisy hive of activity..lots of great pool toys in the pool or for sale for the children.
Beach was stunning, the staff set you up with a deckchair or pod chair, the beach here is totally calm and perfect for canoeing. You can get more privacy here if you want. We were at ground level so could walk out onto the sand within a minute. Beautiful night sky and stars.

SERVICE
Impeccable, friendly, service, coming from Australia especially you really appreciate people just going out of their way to make sure you are completely happy. Can't praise this highly enough.


SLEEP
No noise issues of any kind that I recall (except for New Year's Eve fireworks)

OTHER
15 minutes to Honolulu can't be beat...we had dinner at Nobu and then popped back to our "private" beach, what a setup!

NEGATIVES
Well none to do with the hotel at all, but as you may know the hotel is built around a lagoon housing dolphins. I feel strongly (even more so since my stay) that these animals should not be kept in captivity. They are obviously cared for to the highest standards but this sort of attraction will hopefully be a thing of the past soon. I still give the hotel 5 stars as this is a personal opinion only.

Room Tip: If you want to watch dolphins the lagoon room is perfect. Otherwise don't get a lagoon room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredHayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha, we are very happy that you had such a great vacation with us at The Kahala and are very grateful that you would share your experience with us and the rest of the online community. Nothing makes us happier than to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and were able to deliver that special magical brand of Aloha. Moreoever, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and drinks at our Hoku's and Veranda. Again, thank you very much for the kind review and recommendation of the property. Please do come visit us again soon, but until then we wish you a fond aloha a hui ho!

With kindest regards,
Roseann Grippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,372 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,296 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing