We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Kahala IS the BEST Hotel on Oahu!!! From the incredible service to the comfortable rooms and fantastic restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The rooms are very big and spacious bathrooms as well. The entire staff was always helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Rooms around the Lagoon is great to sit and watch the dolphins.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne_Y395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for staying at our resort and for sharing your positive experience with us. It is important for us to know that our services and facilities met or even surpassed your expectations, and your wonderful comments are sincerely appreciated. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions. Aloha and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,846)
There are newer reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,579 - 1,585 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from the 22nd September until the 28th September.Everything about this hotel is first class. I would recommend this hotel to any one who wants to enjoy Oahu but also wants privacy.
I wanted to make special mention about Billy on the the class instructors, his tuition and knowledge is the best that I have ever experienced.Good luck with your future career.

A very special hotel for those wanting a little luxury.

We will be returning.

Room Tip: Whilst we did not have a beach facing room the views over the golf course and the sounds of the wate...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbowroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

It was thoughtful of you to share your recent experience at our resort, and I was delighted to see that you particularly enjoyed our secluded location. Thank you for highlighting the exceptional performance by your fitness instructor. He was very pleased to read your comments and was happy to work with you. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to our corner in paradise on your next trip to Honolulu. Aloha and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

What can I say about the Kahala that hasn't already been said? We stayed here for 4 nights before going to Maui and maybe should have stayed here the entire time. Yes it was that good.

Compared to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki this is an oasis. Waikiki reminds me of The Vegas Strip. Been there done that. Too crowded and commercialized. Maybe we are getting older but the calmness and serenity of The Kahala can't be surpassed.

The beach is absolutely gorgeous and uncrowded. No trouble getting lounges by the pool or on the beach at any time of the day. The Mai Tai's are to die for.

Our room was partial oceanview. Well this was the best. We had a view of the mountains, golf course and the ocean. We felt this was better than a oceanview room because we had all views in one room. The room was large, the bathroom to die for, and it was spotless. We sat out on the lanai every morning watching the sun come up. Doesn't get any better than that.

Service was impeccable. After one day most of the staff called us by name. We ate in most of the restaurants and overall the food was exceptional.

The Kahala doesn't get mentioned much here on TA but it should. After doing the Waikiki thing I will never stay at any other hotel on Oahu but The Kahala. We have already started talking about when we can go back. Yes it is worth every dollar they charge.

To everyone at The Kahala a very big MAHALO.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYYFan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for sending your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than to learn that we have left our guests with pleasant memories of the comfortable resort experience we provided. My staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions. Aloha and best regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Kahala is our favorite resort in Hawaii. It has class, but is comfortable. It is private, but only 10 minutes to the sights, action and great restaurants of Honolulu. The rooms are huge and were redone in the last couple of years. The staff is lovely and helpful. The beach is very private without any high rises to be seen. The spa is top notch. A direct and hassle free vacation to Hawaii in the lap of casual luxury!

Room Tip: Be careful about the ocean view, as many are indeed ocean view, with a closer view over the motor co...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort. It was wonderful to read your positive comments and see that you had a good time and enjoyed our quiet location and your large guest room. Also, the staff was happy to be of service as you enjoyed our beach and spa facilities. We look forward to your next visit when you can schedule another hassle free vacation in Honolulu. Until then...Aloha and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Let me begin by telling you, this is my first trip advisor review. I would never normally write an online review, but following my stay at the amazing Kahala Hotel & Resort i feel compelled to give them the praise they rightly deserve!

Our honeymoon consisted of a few nights in vegas and LA sandwiched with 9 nights at the Kahala. I understand this is not everyone's idea of a good honeymoon, but for us we are very active and while we enjoy an idilic beach we like having the option of lively restaurants/bars and plentiful activities nearby. The Kahala proved to be the perfect balance for us.

Upon check in we were greeted with wonderful lei's, complimentary bottles of hawaiian mineral water and very friendly and helpful bell staff. As we made our way to the check in desk there was no que and a very helpful receptionist who explained the layout of the resort and informed us we had been given a complimentary room upgrade to the dolphin lagoon wing (i must admit, we had emailed the resort ahead and explained it was our honeymoon, and if they could do anything to make our experience even more memorable it would be much appreciated). Once we reached our room, we found a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries! The room was a very nice size, with a huge bathroom (double sink, large waterfall type shower, large bath), a supremely comfortable queen bed and small sofa. Our room was also in a perfect position, at the end of the dolphin wing, which meant we were a short walk from the lobby, but a stones-throw from the beach. the room was overlooking the mountainside/golf course which was very nice. I have read other reviews complaining you get woken at 5:30am by the golf course being mowed, i heard it once and to be honest the only reason i heard it was i had woken early with jet lag - it was so insignificant i cant believe people actually commented on it! The complimentary resort wifi came in very handy for me and the wife making friends and family jealous with pictures and facetime calls!

The beach at the kahala is absolutely gorgeous, i don't think the pictures online do it justice. It is flanked either side by small rock peninsula's which provide awesome views of the bay/resort and the mountain side. The sun beads are free as are the towels/bed covers - its worth noting a lot of waikiki hotels charge for use of their sun loungers. The selection of beach activities are very good - while not being intrusive to other beach users, there are a selection of canoes/kayaks/surf boards but our favourite was the stand up paddle boards. There is also a small reef which protects the beach from the larger waves and provides ample snorkelling terrain.

We ate at the plumeria beach house for breakfast and the beachside bar and grill for lunch. The breakfast buffet was fantastic quality and vast, my favourite meal of the day! Another nice touch is the complimentary Kona coffee they serve untill 8am outside the plumeria beach house. The staff are all excellent - addressing you by name everyday.

Another nice touch is the complimentary shuttle service which takes you to the kahala mall, ala moana shopping centre or the centre of waikiki at regular intervals throughout the day and night....this is good as it saves you approx $20 a time in a taxi. It takes approx 15 mins into Waikiki and we used the service most evenings as we loved the dining options that waikiki offers. Yes it is built up, but not in a tacky way - international restaurants, hawaiian style restaurants and plenty of nice shops and bars to keep you entertained.

Ok, so my only gripes with the kahala were the spa pricing. We were both looking forward to having a nice massage/treatment upon arrival, but when we saw the price list there was no way we could justify the price. Im sure like everything at the Kahala, the massages/treatments would be outstanding but i would like to see them adjust their pricing to make them more accessible to all.

So in summary, i believe the Kahala is the best hotel i have ever stayed in. They helped to make our honeymoon absolutely perfect and i would love to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us following your memorable honeymoon stay at our resort. I was delighted to read your many positive comments about your room and amenities as well as our guest services and facilities. It is always great to know that we have left our guests wanting more of our magical brand of aloha. However, I noted your input regarding our spa treatment pricing and would like to highlight the fact that we do offer unique facilities along with highly qualified technicians. Each treatment room enjoys 550 sq. ft. of space with a personal relaxation area, changing area, a private shower, and a calming infinity tub. We believe there is great value in our product, and our prices are comparable to other upscale resort spas in Hawaii. Thank you for sending your positive comments and for also sharing your concerns. My staff and I will be happy to welcome you back the next time you plan a trip to our beautiful island. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel as part of a 2 week holiday. We stayed at the kahala for 7 nights, following a hectic few days in Los Angeles. We stayed here in 2009 as part of our honeymoon on a weeks holiday and decided to return . We wasnt disappointed,The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The staff were really attentive. Nothing was too much bother.

there is free wifi throughout the hotel.

The public areas are tastefully decorated and very spacious. We booked a garden room and this overlooked the golf course. The rooms were tastefully decorated in a lemon colour and spacious. The toiletries and bath towels were replenished every day. We had an evening turn down service. There was a large separate shower and bath.

There is a dolphin lagoon and ponds with various turtles and fish. it was beautiful to see the dolphins. We swam with the dolphins previously, this was excellent.

There is a large swimming pool, jacquzzi and child's swimming pool. There was plenty of room to get a sun bed at the ,various times of the days we went.

there are restaurants that overlook the beach. The beach is small and caters for mainly the guests of the hotel, but continue walking and you walk to residential areas
We booked breakfast at the hotel for one night and this was $35 per person without taxes and tip. this was a buffet breakfast and the food was exceptional and well with the money. Plenty of choice from fresh fruit, to continental, yoghurts, pastries, cooked food.

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle to Waikiki, Alamano, and kahala mall. You will need to book the shuttle as it does get booked up quite quickly. The first bus starts 10.30 and the last picks up 8.45. This is a good service, but they could look at having a later shuttle back say 10pm. The hotel is about 10 mins in the shuttle. This hotel is in a good location, and away from the main waikiki.. We opted for a cab back to kahala a couple of nights but this was $25.


The views and location of the hotel are superb, and its nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki

Looking forward to returning again soon, as coming from UK it's a long flight

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank timike30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you with us again, and thank you for sending your positive feedback. I was delighted to see how much you enjoyed our secluded location and the comforts of your guestroom. Our buffet breakfast is very popular with guests and other visitors, and your candid comments are appreciated. Your feedback regarding the shopping shuttle was noted, and we will review the schedule as we consider changes in the future. Thank you for sharing your concerns in that regard. My staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you can plan another trip to our beautiful island. Aloha and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was some time ago that i stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend and his family at Christmas time , very fancy to say the least , i had never stayed at a hotel like this before , at night i remember returning to find our beds turned down and a little plumeriam on the pillows . the lobby was decortated for the holidays of course but with a Hawian twist , also there were all sorts of tropical plants all over the place and pools of salt water with friendly dolphins swimming around , being born in NJ i had never seen anything like this , it was like a fantasy !

Room Tip: i didn't have anything to do with the room arrangements but i suggest that the best rooms are fa...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprildoornbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments and share your experience at our resort. We do enjoy decorating our lobby, rooms, and other facilities during the holiday season each year, and I was delighted to see that you had such a good time. Also, the dolphins in our lagoon are a favorite for everyone who stays with us or visits our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner in paradise the next time you plan a trip to our beautiful island. Aloha and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
236 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $388 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing