We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great location, fabulous stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

having been staying at this hotel since the 1970's, thru many owners and still love it. the staff is great and the property very pretty. not right in waikiki but they have a shuttle for guests that goes into waikiki many times a day, also bicycles for use to go to the local mall and stores. has a great beach, nice pool area and a dolphin pond. also a great spa and workout room. there is a golf course right next door. always get a room down by the beach and dolphin area, they are especially quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
I was delighted to see that you have been a loyal guest at our resort for many years, and thank you for sending your comments following your most recent stay. As you may know, the beautiful golf course next door is a private club for members only. Again, your feedback is appreciated, and it will be a pleasure to be of service to you again on another occasion.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,933
    489
    163
    77
    61
See reviews for
944
1,197
68
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service and attention we received was second to none. When we did have a tiny problem it was dealt with immediately and without any fuss. The staff are amazing, the location beautiful - and after visiting a heaving Waikiki beach, we realised how lucky we were. The only (personal) issues we had were with a few other guests who seemed to have lost the ability to pick up after themselves or even carry their own dog (true!), and expected others to hold back and allow them through without so much as a glance in your direction (unless it was withering). However, as we didn't go to the Kahala to make new friends this was something we chose to ignore.

Our room was spotless and housekeeping were obviously proud of their standards. We were placed close to the lift which did cause some noise at night and early in the mornings, however as our room had double aspect windows with views over the golf course, small dolphin pool and the ocean, it was a small price to pay - the slight noise outweighed the possibility of being moved to a room with a lesser view, it was no big deal.

Although food at the hotel is excellent, it's good to have a change of scenery and choice so we made use of the free shuttle bus into Waikiki - a cab costs less than $30 if preferred. Some people have mentioned that prices at the hotel are expensive - this is true, however it's true of all hotels. To be honest, it 'appears' that most guests at the resort don't even look at prices, but if you are concious then take advantage of the free shuttle and eat elsewhere. Also, the hotel offers speciality buffets a couple of times a week so if you like to eat copious amounts of good food, these are excellent value.

We loved this hotel, from the turtles and tropical fish to the stunning chandeliers. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for sending your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you had a good time and enjoyed our services and facilities. We always try to provide a pleasant resort experience for our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
269 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I was there for a week long conference that was in Waikiki and I was so happy to come back to the hotel for peace and quiet away from the crowds of Waikiki. The hotel and service was superb. They have a great breakfast buffet and you can eat on the lawn facing the sea. The concierge was very helpful for names of great places to dine. Lunch on the beach is also great. I jogged the length of the beach in both directions and did snorkeling there as well . Dont miss Mahana cove the greatest place for snorkeling. The hotel lent us bikes (no speed) but we pedalled to Diamond head and then hiked up to the top. The best part was watching the dolphins morning and evening!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Aloha and thank you for sending your feedback following your recent stay. I was delighted to see that our services and facilities met your expectations and that you especially enjoyed watching our resident dolphins. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Came back to the Kahala after three years and was a little disappointed. Maybe it was the fact that the hotel was filled to capacity but the service was really lacking. Every morning there was a line for breakfast, a line for the egg station, a lady making eggs that hated every minute of it. If you told her more than once what you wanted in your eggs she would chide you for it, if you didn't repeat yourself she would get the order wrong. The beach was packed, beach chairs in various rows. The beach fare was not bad, nor the drinks, sadly the cheese is indeed Velveeta, it says so on the menu. There is no place to go online without paying (unless you go to the business center), the snorkeling equipment and boards are expensive and crappy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank interterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is the worst hotel for the price I have ever experienced. There seems to be nobody at the wheel. Rooms are dirty, carpets stained, food unbelievably bad at the "Seaside Grill" and service even worse (wait staff stands around doing nothing while you sit there waiting for a menu for five minutes....you finally ask for a menu and they are rude to you...the cheese is like velveeta, the toast is burned and soggy, the chocolate milkshake was more like a snow cone with large pieces of ice and water and some chocolate flavoring... a coke costs $4 if you want the whole can or $3 for a small cup that's mostly ice). The main restaurant is ok but also way overpriced for what it is. The hotel seems to be out to soak customers to the maximum without thinking it necessary to provide any real care or consideration let alone going the extra mile. They obviously survive on their location, which is stunning and serene, and perhaps their reputation (they're still resting on the laurels of their Hollywood days in their brochure, but that was back in the 60s when Hilton owned it...it's now owned by a large conglomerate that doesn't care about anything except the bottom line). Buyer beware. Oh, yeah: last year a judge ruled against them in a deceptive-service fees case.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ed e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
The Kahala Hotel & Resort has been locally owned since 2005. The Kahala is proud of its superior staff and their excellent service to its valued guests. In 2009, a former banquet customer sued The Kahala based on a statute regarding customer service charges. The court held that the service charge was not illegal, unlawful, or deceptive. The Kahala won on all claims alledged against it in the lawsuit. The Kahala continues to provide its guests the best experience in Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We spent seven excellent nights in paradise but wanted to stay just one more night.... Or several!! Upon arrival we were shown to our room which had a lovely view of the sea and beautiful golf course. The room was spacious and had tea and coffee making facilities which we were pleased to see! My husband and I was looking forward to rekindling a groovy kind of love after a stressful time at work and home prior to our holiday and this resort offered this.
The beach was very clean and nice to swim in, it was also fairly quiet unlike Waikiki. We visited all the restaurants but our favourite was Hoku. All offered excellent quality of food but it was quite pricey. We visited Pearl Harbour which is a must see when you are on the island. It was an amazing place with a lot to see and learn from.

After leaving a rather wet uk we didn't want the daily thoughts which we have in the UK of I wish it would rain down, and happily it didn't really, only the odd shower and general sunshine with a refreshing breeze daily.
In summary at the end of the holiday and against all odds we were not saying take me home more like another day in paradise please!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaxbyCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We just discovered our new favorite hotel in Hawaii! Planned on staying 4 nights in Waikiki, but couldn't stand fighting the crowds there and came here after one night. Well worth the few bucks more!
First class service, gorgeous grounds, great food options, beautiful uncrowded beach with everything you need right here. Swam with the dolphins 3 hours after we checked in. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,498 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing