We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Moly Fast delivery and very good Shrimp was great”
Review of California Wok

California Wok
Ranked #1,088 of 2,389 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Holy Moly Fast delivery and very good Shrimp was great”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed in a nearby hotel and had a craving for Chinese. We had General Tzo's and Kung Pao Chicken and the Shrimp Chef special sauce. Really good and dang were they fast. Like others I got off the phone and they were there quite quickly, within 15 minutes. We will order from there tonight and unless we hear otherwise will keep this as our go to place for delivery. Portions were large and quite flavorful. We were not thirsty the way one gets after Chinese food and that was also a nice surprise.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdomsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow healthy and delicious!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you like crunchy vegetables and just great zagat rated food...this is were you should go. My fav was the steamed shrimp with mixed vegetables (white sauce on the side) but really every other choice sure looked good. I also prefer low salt and they could do that for me as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terranova111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Here is this little restaurant tucked away in the car park almost under the escalator that goes up to Macy's.
You can eat in so to speak but the tables are outside near the bank and the sidewalk or take-out or have free delivery within 4 miles.
The food is excellent-do not judge a book by it's cover as this restaurant does not look too hot from outside.
But don.t miss out on a treat just go inside.
The prices are good and generous servings the highest price would be $13 and the lowest $5.95.
They have full and half sizes and also cater for 8-10 persons 15-20 persons 22-28 persons.
So this little gem caters for all needs

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had been shopping most of the day and were only interested in some take out. My wife had eaten at the California Wok and recommended I try it. I am so glad she made that recommendation. The food is absolutely outstanding. Everything is fresh, wonderfully prepared and healthy. We plan to visit there on a regular basis during our many trips to Honolulu from our home on the big island.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Konabaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value and good food amidst busy mall”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The teriyaki chicken over rice was tasty and a generous portion for a good price.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kteacher10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Wok also viewed

 

Been to California Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing