We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass on the hot corned beef...”
Review of Giovanni Pastrami

Giovanni Pastrami
Reserve with OpenTable
Giovanni Pastrami is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Helumoa
Transit: Parking at the Wyndham Hotel, adjacent to the restaurant on Lewers Street. Lunch parking 11:00am-3:00pm free with validation. 6:00am-6:00pm flat rate $3 with validation. After 6:00pm, $6 for four hours with validation.
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pass on the hot corned beef...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I went on a Friday late afternoon/early evening. I have passed this pace many times and finally decided to visit. Hot corned beef sandwich was nowhere hot, not even lukewarm, and served on a rye bread the consistency of white bread. Not kosher!. Meat was stringy, did not bite off easily, and meat portion was not typical for an advertised hot corned beef sandwich. Cole slaw was A+ though. Service fair. Waiter did his job and only that. Too bad he didn't ask me how my dinner was and he tried to clear my plate before I had quite finished. Don't know what the rush was, as they were not that busy yet. So will pass on the corned beef here. May try them one more time for the garlic shrimp to see if it measures up to some of the other local hot spots for this specialty. Sports bar ambience. Hard to watch as the booths are aligned forcing customers to twist heads to see anything.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    437
    227
    86
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a game!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Located right next to the Wyndham Waikiki, caught the Broncos vs Cowboys game. The have a great set-up, all the action and good food. Place gets filled up fast on game day so arrive early and enjoy the food and service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

After trying out a few more expensive restaurants during our stay, we decided to try and find a more medium priced restaurant and came across this one.

The staff were all very friendly. Service was a little on the slow side, but nothing to grumble about - just gave us more of a chance to watch the NFL.

They have a great choice of food, and we ended up eating here 3 times during our stay - once for lunch and twice for dinner. The onion rings are absolutely huge, but very tasty, and the burgers and lasagne are delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jomerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummmmmmy kalua pork”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I searched and searched for decent food and when we happened upon this awesome place we finally found it!! We both ordered their kaluha pork sandwiches. Delicious!! Quite possibly the best food we have had yet during our stay. Highly recommend! We have been here twice already since we arrived and there's never been a long wait. Only slight drawback is the service which- friendly enough- was on the slow side.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Choices, Choices, Choices”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went there for late breakfast, I wanted to order everything on menu, everything looked and sounded good. We had a party of six and was seated at one table large enough for all. The waitress was friendly and she took all six of our orders without writing anything down and brought all our orders correctly, even the special request and extra sauce, etc. Thought that was pretty impressive. The food was delicious and plentiful. We were impressed enough to go there for lunch the next day, Sunday at 11:00am and couldn't get in, It's a sports bar/restaurant and seems everyone goes there to watch football games, which I had planned to do. Everybody had the same idea. Ask the front desk how long is the wait and she just laughed and said, "couple of hours". If your in the Waikiki area anytime other than Sunday morning, I highly recommend Giovanni Pastrami.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kanaloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni Pastrami also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni Pastrami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing