We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique Fun Meal”

Hula Dog Hawaiian Style Hot Dogs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hula Dog , is an unique Hawaiian experience.
 A baked daily, in house bun sized loaf of bread. At ordering, we Pierce and "TOAST A HOLE". We then pour in a combination of your chosen 
secret sauce
 Garlic Lemon Secret Sauce, Jalapeno Sauce, Chili Pepper Sauce or Habanero Sauce, with our Uniquely Hawaiian Relishes: Mango – Papaya – Pineapple Banana – Coconut or Star Fruit With a final complement of our Lilikoi Hawaiian Mustard or Guava Hawaiian Mustard, or standard condiments.( Garlic Pepper Cheese, Ketchup, Yellow ,Pickle or onion relish.Finally, we slide in a perfect grilled premium Polish Sausage(Or Veggie-Dog, if you prefer)If you are more traditional you will also find Yellow mustard/ Sweet Relish/ Garlic Pepper Cheese (need to try)and more.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Unique Fun Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The kids had been here before...they enjoyed it again and we found it unique! The dog is more than a meal with great toppings with special island flavor. I would like to start one of these at home! Well worth the walk from the beach!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dancisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique Q, Owner at Hula Dog Hawaiian Style Hot Dogs, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha Dancisak,

Thank you very very much for your feedback. Happy to see that you enjoy your Hula Dog Experience. Hope to see you again.

Aloha Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    103
    49
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
furnitureruss
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“If in town, treat yourself to a unique dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I visit the islands every year around Thanksgiving. We alternate islands each year, but when on Oahu, in Waikiki .... we always treat ourselves to the puka (hula) dog. For those of you who haven't tried one, they impale the bun on a metal rod which toast the bun on the inside. They tunnel it forms inside the bun is where they put whatever toppings you choose + the weinee. I'm no expert on their menu, but I usually just go with some type of mild garlic sauce + the mango relish, I skipped the mustard they recommended. My wife went with the mild garlic, pineapple relish, and mustard (may sound a bit funky, but it is really good). They even have taro buns which are blueish/purple in color, but my wife went with one of those. I went the traditional white bun.

It's on the back side of the International Market on the Kuhio Ave side. Sad news is one of the vendors in the Market told me they are tearing down the market in about a year to build something else. We couldn't be more disappointed about that. We hope the puka/hula dog stand will remain or relocate somewhere close. Know this, when we are back in Waikiki, if the Hula Dog is still there, we'll surely stop by for a quick lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank furnitureruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique Q, Owner at Hula Dog Hawaiian Style Hot Dogs, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha furnitureruss,

Thank you so very much to take the time to send us your comment
You have to be open to try something different like Hula Dog, maybe at first it seems crazy but try it and you will find the taste you really enjoy. You're right the International Market place will be re-build ,(sad) but we look for another location in Waikiki so you will find us in your next visit.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Aloha Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
228 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Same as Puka Dog in Kauai - Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I LOVED Puka Dog in Kauai hence I was absolutely thrilled to find Hula Dog in waikiki! And since we are vegetarians, their veggie dogs are truly truly a welcome treat! Love it Love it Love it! Don't miss this out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hunnybunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique Q, Owner at Hula Dog Hawaiian Style Hot Dogs, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha Hunnybunx,

Happy that you find us. In Hula Dog you will have the same concept/taste and service that in Kauai, only the name change. Wahine Brand Corporation our manufacture supply both business.

Hope to see you again.

Aloha Dominique Quinette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love the hula/puka dog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have been here a few times now and love it. A bit pricey, but definitely a treat if you are a hot dog lover! A variety of sauces, tropical jams and relishes. It is tucked into the rear of the international marketplace. The lemonades are freshly made after you order them too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imthatguytcb247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique Q, Owner at Hula Dog Hawaiian Style Hot Dogs, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Imthatguytcb247,

Thank you so very much for your comment and specially taking the time to write us.
You're right it's a little bit tricky sometime to find us. We are on Kuhio Avenue between Denny's and Payless. Hope to see you again.

Aloha Dominique Quinette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Hawaiian hot dogs!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

When in Honolulu you must try these awesome dogs! Choice of relishes: mango, pineapple, papaya, coconut, banana or star fruit! Love these dawgs!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetstreamsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique Q, Owner at Hula Dog Hawaiian Style Hot Dogs, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha Jetstreamsurfer,

Thanks you so very much for your nice comment and thanks to take the time to write your feedback.
Especially when you're busy surfing.

Aloha Dominique Quinette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Dog Hawaiian Style Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing