We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views”

Diamond Head State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.00*
and up
Diamond Head Package
Ranked #3 of 322 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We took a moderate pace and stopped for photos along the way up and back, took a total of about an hour and a half (can easily be done faster). It is definitely 100% worth it, the views from the top are amazing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank omar2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,588
    5,055
    984
    115
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You can do it!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Even if you are handicapped! As long as you have arm strength! With a crutch in one hand and using the hand rail with the other, I managed to get up there in one hour and another hour down! This was definitely a challenge but I was determined to do it with my family behind me!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mredtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
1 review
“a huge climb”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A must see! Be sure to wear comfortable shoes. There is a lot of walking & climbing stairs. You must be in good shape to do this hike. Make sure you have plenty of time to reach the top. Take plenty of water, no place to purchase water on the way up. Take lots of pictures. Not for small children or older people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from the top”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Moderate hike with views from the top that make it worth it. We made it up it about 30 minutes but that was after an hour walk from the Hilton. Amazing picture opportunities at the top...get a panoramic!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“be careful people!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a fun walk/hike. I'd call it moderate. We went midday on a Saturday and had NO issue with crowds at all (go figure...) There were multiple stupid people breaking the rules, probably for FB pictures. Climbing on roof-tops, edges of cliffs and- I kid you not- "tight rope walking" on the overlook railing. I've seen this on multiple sites as a "kid friendly hike." Well: yes and no. There are absolutely places a child could VERY EASILY bypass the railing and die. One obviously place is an overlook, part way to the top. Another is at the very top. The railing is reinforced with fencing at that point, which might make a parent feel secure, but around the very last curve (by the stone overlook room), the last section of fencing is not reinforced. A child of any size could go under easily. My general recommendation: 2 and under, put in a carrier. 3-5 put on a leash (target carries $10 cute animal ones). 6-12: watch closely. A careful, obedient child can absolutely have a safe hike here. But if you've got a mischievous, daredevil...there are places to get into trouble.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head State Monument also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing