We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to Be in Shape; Great Views”

Diamond Head State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.65*
and up
Diamond Head Crater Adventure
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Diamond Head Running Tour
More Info
$14.00*
and up
Diamond Head Package
Ranked #3 of 328 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
University Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Need to Be in Shape; Great Views”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I walked to Diamond Head from my hotel on Waikiki about 2 miles, took an hour and I did the hike early in the morning, 6 AM to avoid the heat. The park entrance fee for "walker" $1 :-).

Hike to the summit is about 8/10 of a mile and depending on your fitness level, 30 minutes to an hour. My leisurely climb was 40 minutes and about 250 steps to reach the summit. The views are awesome but the hike down on rocky subsurface was harder than the hike up. :-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sib715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,135
    5,293
    1,017
    116
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A View from the Top”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A great walk. I walked from my hotel in Niu Street to Diamond Head and back. I ate at a lovely restaurant in Diamond Head, much cheaper than Waikiki.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our hike up Diamond Head”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I set out from our Hotel and walked to the Park entrance which was a bit of a walk but totally worth it. We saw different neighbourhoods, enjoyed the beautifuk Hawaiian breeze and also got some great excercise. The hike itself was amazing! It was challenging for two 50 year olds but we did it. The view from the top is absolutely breathtaking and to see the remnants of old WW2 and the old barracks in the crater. i will be doing it again! i highly recommend this to all ages as it was incredible and it only costs a dollar for walk ins or 5 dollars for a car.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The view from the top is amazing. Go in the early morning to avoid the crowds and find the best parking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great View and Hike”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

An intermediate hike that has a great view of Waikiki...the end of the hike is fun with the tunnel, stairs and old military posts...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mays H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head State Monument also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing