We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We HAD to do this...day 1 in Hawaii~”

Diamond Head State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.00*
and up
Diamond Head Package
Ranked #3 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We HAD to do this...day 1 in Hawaii~”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My roomie and I attending our econ conference ffelt we needed this - we walked to it, then up the trail...We did the trail up in about 35 minutes and down in maybe 15.
Wonderful shaved ice as a reward upon finishing, at the bottom. Nicely kept up state park- recommend this trek be done before noon, or it might get to hot for some.
Beautiful views, and being able to "say" you hiked Diamond Head was reason enough - only about a 500 ft climb- still challenging enough to keep your head down and watch the uneven trail - a fall would not be pretty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dwhite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,778
    5,143
    992
    114
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yellow springs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Diamond Head is a good hike, not too strenuous until you get to the top. The winding trail keeps it pretty easy, but be prepared for the over 100 steps at the top. Trust me the views from the top are completely worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank deadangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great exercise and views!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Go early in the morning, it gets really hot later and there is no breeze. Wear comfortable walking shoes and bring your camera! There are lots of places to stop and rest along the way and take great pictures. It is a bit of a rocky trail but there are handrails. I am not in great shape but was able to climb it with little trouble.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 173SusanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Loved every bend and step of the hike. You cannot stop taking pictures. I've shared few pictures to show how beautiful it really is.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeenaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Morning hike”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great morning hike with an incredible view at the top!!! Everyone should try it. Tell everyone at home you did that !!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head State Monument also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing