We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hike up Diamond Head” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Head State Monument

Diamond Head State Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.00*
and up
Diamond Head Package
Ranked #3 of 318 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
Hamilton, NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hike up Diamond Head”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We caught the #23 bus to Diamond Head for $10 for 3 adults and 2 children with a transfer for the return trip. The walk is moderately easy with a few steep steps and the end. Make sure you wear comfortable shoes (not heels like we saw some women wearing!) and take PLENTY of water. Its hot up there! Only $1 pp entry fee so makes for a cheap sightseeing tour with a beautifl view to boot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,185
    4,902
    953
    111
    38
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rathdrum, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Diamond Head”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

About 2 years ago we did the Diamond Head hike! it was a grueling hike but in the end it was worth it. The view from the top of it was totally awesome. Just remember to take your camera. it was a memorable experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nanamelelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bit of a sketchy hike, but views at the top well worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are in fairly good shape, so we took a rapid pace up the mountain. The paths were pretty narrow, and definitely uneven. There is a long set of incredibly narrow stairs that we would recommend avoiding if you are not in great shape. The view at the top is priceless though.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtgirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I climbed to the top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a nice experience on day two of my family trip. The climb to the top was challenging but exciting for me considering I am so scared of heights. There were folks jogging to the top even though there were so many stairs to climb. The view on every level was breath taking. I would highly recommend it as a "must see" on your next trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DailaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Diamond head”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Really enjoyed seeing diamond head. The beaches are more secluded and are safer to swim in. The scenery is spectacular.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ap1970_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head State Monument also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing