We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A patriotic and informative luau!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Koa Luau

Hale Koa Luau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A patriotic and informative luau!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We are currently stationed in Guam, and have seen these performances there. When you walk in, you are leied with a shelled lei and handed a beverage (non-alcoholic or alcoholic). Then there are stations set-up for you to observe palm weaving, leis and other cultural crafts. Once the host starts speaking on the main stage, you can start on the available appetizers on the ends of the table. Food is served in two courses after that while being entertained. My husband and I had sat in the back, so after we were done eating, a waitress had moved us up closer. Very considerate. This show is most definately for the military, mil families and retirees! Beautiful ending, too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Seerystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    118
    27
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun in a Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We enjoyed this luau - many interesting demonstrations before the actual show. One free drink as you enter, additional ones available for purchase at fairly reasonable prices. The food was good, not great. As others have mentioned you had to get your own water or tea but not a big deal to me. For the price, this luau provides a lot of entertainment and you may just get to be a part of the show.....I did!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A little different but a luau is a luau”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I don't get the attraction of going to a luau. I always go because others want to and I get dragged along. Tons of people all crammed together and average food that gets served and removed at lightning speed. The only drinks were water and coffee and you had to get that yourself. This one was a little better in that there was about 30-45 mins out on a lawn area where there was a band and the luau performers were doing various island crafts that people could participate in. The actual luau performance was pretty standard fare. If you have gone to the Polynesian Cultural Center and seen the performances there - well you're going to see them again here. Even some of the same jokes. The guy who was the host (and the main singer) did a medly of songs from the 50's to the 90's that didn't make sense. They really didn't fit with the show or the islands. He did do a tribute to the military at the end that was very touching (it is a military hotel). If you "have" to go to a luau this is one of the better ones.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Falconfixer86261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hale Koa Luau - very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We purchased this tour ourselves and had no trouble booking it. We got there a bit too early so had to stand in line for half an hour but once in there it was a good set up. They gave us a Mai Tai and a lei on arrival and then we could walk around to see craft exhibits and entertainers before we were seated in the arena. We had pretty good seats and met some great people on our table. The tables have 10 people on them so you can't get a table for two :).....we weren't that impressed with the meals though. Had better. The entertainment was fantastic and we had a great time with a lot of audience participation....fun night!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pdhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level Contributor
267 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best on the lsland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've been to several luau's but none match the Hale Koa luau. Entertainment, food and fun are the best attractions. You learn about the ancient rituals, see a pig roasted in the ground and enjoy a great dinner show too. Must be military active or retired to attend though (a few exceptions).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hale Koa Luau also viewed

 

Been to Hale Koa Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing