We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The luau” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Koa Luau

Hale Koa Luau
2055 Kalia Road, Hale Koa Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
(808) 955-0555
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The luau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The show was wonderful, we had large group 16 people all ages and everyone was thrilled with the performance. The food was Hawaiian, servings were large. Ticket prices are for show ,dinner and a drink. Open bar to purchase more drinks if desired.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Justmelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    112
    23
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Really enjoyed the entertainment and venue. Great drinks at reasonable prices. Incredible performances. Plenty of food. Kids may be put off during pit ceremony--it's never wise to name your pig. ;-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WarthogNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, great entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my second Luau at the Hale Koa. The entertainment is great and fun, the dinner is good which includes lots of meat. "Cousin Jerry" who is one of the dancers and performs individual acts such as climbing a coconut tree, is a true showman. The dancers are exotic and beautiful. The Luau host, Greg Mederios, is okay, and presents kind of a 1950's, 1960's theme throughout the show. He hasn't changed his routine since I attended the Luau more than a year ago.

Make your reservations early to get good seating. I made our reservations 2 weeks before our arrival to the Hale Koa and was able to get a front row table from the stage. There's a good chance that you'll be sharing your table with another party.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peaceandquiet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st petersburg, Fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Military only Luau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great experience but do remember you need to have someone in your party be a Military person with ID, past or present.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Raina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the money an convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first time to Hawaii and I spent a lot of time debating over this Luau as opposed to others on the island. I'm glad we chose this one!!!! We were staying at the Hale Koa so it was very convenient and we especially enjoyed the tribute at the end to all of our service men & women....made me teary eyed! The food was OK but from what I understand, pretty typical of any luau. Check-in early so you can enjoy your Mai-tai and the demonstrations that take place prior to be seated!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Koa Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing