We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgetable evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hale Koa Luau

Hale Koa Luau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Unforgetable evening.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to this Luau after reading some reviews on TA and I'm really glad we did.
It was a great evening, upon arrival we were given a shell lae and a Mai tai. There were activities in the garden and a very funny and entertaining show.
Coming from Australia the thing that really stood out for us, is how patriotic the American people are especially when it comes to their armed forces.
What made this show very special for us was the returned soldiers we met on the night and the tribute to the returned service men and the ones that didn't make it back from the war. Didn't matter which ountry you were from the tribute was very touching.
As this is only for returned service men and their families, if you can get sponsored (contact reception) forget the other luaus and go to this one, you will not be dissapointed.
Such an amazing evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Foti_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    120
    28
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We had a great time at the Luau!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved the Hale Koa Pool and the luau was great as well! It is about $50 each and includes a shell lai when you walk in, then they hand you a Mai Tai with an ordchid in it. It was pretty good. Then during cocktail hour (you can buy other drinks at the cash bar) you can see how orchids lais are made, get an ink "tatoo", weave baskets of palm leaves, listen to the band, learn some native arts, and enjoy the gardens. Then before dinner the men blow on the shells to draw the crowd to the fire pit. The scantily dressed men then lift the pig out of the ground and show it to the crowd before being seated. Once seated, the appetizersd are on the table and inlcuded diced tomatoes with raw salmon, pickled seaweed (actually pretty good) and cucumbers. There was also banana, apples and pineapple. There were bowls of poi on the table (the only thing I didn't like - tastes like wall paper paste). Then they bring out plated dinners with beef, while fish fillet, kalua pork, sweet potato, fried banana, roasted chicken and garnishments. It was a LOT of food. I was hungry and ate it all, but most did not. I thought all the food was great! Then there were two desserts which were pineapple cake and some type of gelatin. The cake was a light dessert which was sweet and just right.

The show started with a singer/MC but the dancers were the best. Five women and five men danced many dances representing Hawaii, Thailand, New Zealand, Samoa and other polynesian islands. Each with explanation. They were wonderful. Then a 12 year old boy who was the fire dancing champion of the world. He was awesome! Then a salute to the troops and the military guests at the Hale Koa.

Doors opened at 5:30PM (assigned tables) and we left at 9:00PM. It was just right. A full nights entertainment. A little hokey at times, but thats what I expected at a Luau with a floor show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank MVOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fire dancer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

For under $50 the luau at the hale koa is well worth the price. While waiting to be seated they have displays of how people lived before. Palm tree climbing, weaving, dancing. The mai tais keep coming without additional charge until showtime.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank cm1js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Performances, But Food Could've Been Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I loved the performances, especially the fire dancing. I understand that the pig is cooked underground and it shouldn't taste like the pork I eat, but the rest of the food lacked quality.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphinx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luau experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The buffet food was really good. Had bowls of different hawaiian foods to taste, such as lomolomo salmon, ahi pke, taro rolls (mostly all the luauas serve the same kind of food). Interesting stage show. The tables were close as the chairs which were little wooden type chairs, all in the open. It rained for a short period while I was there, so needless my food got wet and there is no refund for rain and water sogged food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vivecashawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hale Koa Luau also viewed

 

Been to Hale Koa Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing