We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has changed and for the better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument

Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument
Book In Advance
$69.00*
and up
USS Arizona Small Group Transfer with Panoramic Honolulu Tour
Ranked #2 of 311 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“This place has changed and for the better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

They have really made this attraction nice since the last time I was there years ago. The museums are so much more comprehensive and the grounds there are so beautiful now. This is an incredibly moving site and you really should not visit Oahu without going here. It is quite a process to get a tour time if you are not a part of a formal tour group (which I never am). We missed going a few years ago because you have to get there very early in the morning to get your tickets for later in the day. I think the tickets you get then are free. I recommend getting tickets online and those are $7 each.They become available about six months ahead of time and you need to get them then because they fill up. I say "about" because I set a calendar reminder for myself 6 months out and they weren't available and I had to keep checking until our dates showed up. Also, when they say you can't bring bags in to the attraction at all, they are not kidding. So, leave your bag in the car, or be willing to check it in there before you can go in. You will not regret any hoops you have to jump through to visit Pearl Harbor. It is worth all of it and more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,412
    1,640
    447
    68
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Give yourself time to experience Pearl Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a "free" attraction in Honolulu, but you must book your tickets well in advance if you want to visit the USS Arizona which is an experience in itself. I did not plan ahead well enough so there were no more tickets available during our week on Oahu so I booked a tour through Oahu Nature Tours.
I could have spent more time that what was allotted here touring the grounds, the two museums, talking to a "survivor" who was there the day I attended. I didn't have enough time to tour the inside of the Bowfin. If you don't have tickets in advance, go very early, line up for your USS Arizona ticket. You will find plenty of interesting stuff to see, watch, read and do while waiting. Definitely a sobering and intense experience. Certainly not to be missed during your Hawaii visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haggis678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A fine memorial.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Pearl Harbour was one of our ‘must do’s’ & my goodness this is a fine memorial to a truly terrible event. You have to experience it to understand everything. The staff are all so informative & helpful. The driver was also so informative both to Pearl Harbour & on the return which included a good trip around Honolulu involving numerous views & sights e.g. King Kamehameha statue, Diamond Head, Aloha Stadium, Imperial Palace & the unforgettable National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific. A truly thought provoking day with some excellent sights of the City at the end.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank J0seyWhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

No trip to the island of Oahu is complete without a visit to Pearl Harbor, specifically the USS Arizona memorial. There are several museum style displays, educational theater showings, and several other things to see before or after you go out to the memorial. You reach the location of the ill-fated, tragically lost Arizona via ferryboat. Once there, there is no rush on the memorial. You can stay as long as you would like (within park hours of course) to take it all in. It is by far the most solemn place I've ever been. There is just seems to be a heaviness of sadness hanging in the air and rightfully so, given her history and why you are there. There is a gift shop and a small café with drinks and small snacks/light lunch items I believe (we didn't stop at the café so don't hold me to that). Overall, the entire site is very well taken care of and a definite must see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalrenee1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well done remembrance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Once you have your free ticket and enter the Pearl Harbor site, there are several museum areas to view either, with or without audio headsets, and an excellent theatre presentation to see before going to the Arizona Memorial by boat. It is very well maintained and the tours well coordinated. There are areas to reflect on the events of 12/7/41 without feeling any crush of tourists.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing