We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somber reminder”

USS Arizona Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$570.00*
and up
Private Transfer Pearl Harbor USS Arizona Complete Honolulu City Tour
More Info
$47.00*
and up
Deluxe Arizona Memorial and Historical City Tour
More Info
$58.64*
and up
Honolulu Double Decker Sightseeing Tour Including Pearl Harbor
Ranked #1 of 328 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A 184-foot memorial honoring the 2,388 Americans who died during the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Somber reminder”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was very windy on Veteran's Day and they advised us that they might have to close the tour to the Arizona. So if you go please keep in mind that weather conditions affect the ability to go out to the memorial. Because it was so windy the sailor's tears or oil was coming up from the ship in great amounts. It was an honor to be there on Veteran's day and visit both the start of WWII for us, and the Mighty Mo, the end of WWII for us. Do go!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KGodinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,041
    3,317
    826
    141
    94
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

On our recent trip to Hawaii, my wife and I were fortunate enough to visit Pearl Harbor and the USS Arizona memorial. Our shuttle to the memorial was full. When we got off the shuttle, it became surprisingly quiet. To see parts of the Arizona and all of the names on the back wall of the memorial, it was very humbling. It was very difficult to imagine all that happened on Dec. 7. Before going on the shuttle, we fortunate enough to meet a gentleman who survived Pearl Harbor. He was 96 years of age. To listen to him was truly amazing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravel0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must do while in Hawaii!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I did a half day tour to Pearl Harbour. The half day tour through Roberts Tours was just enough to visit the memorial if you don't want too take an entire day. The tour was specific to the USS Arizona Memorial as well as the museum displays at Pearl Harbour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovely20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"must do"”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

one of the most important thing to do in hawaii and is free. is a solemn experience buy tou are able to learn and undestand the historic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 22adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Moving”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had previously considered seeing the memorial during my visit last June, but since the online tickets were all reserved weeks prior to my visit, I didn't attempt it. For this November visit, I was able to reserve an 8:00 am Wednesday online ticket. According to the ticket instructions, I was required to claim the ticket an hour prior to the tour time, targeting a very early arrival of 7 am, with rush hour traffic to boot. But on the spur of the moment, my friend suggested we go around noon on Tuesday, and see what happens. So we showed up at 10:50, parked, and went to the ticket window (no line), where we were handed two tickets for the 11:30 tour. This experience has left me questioning all the time I spent online searching for an open tour time, and certainly makes me grateful I didn't take the 8:00 am option. The memorial itself is top notch, and very moving. If you're only going to be on Oahu for 4 days or less, I'm not sure I'd recommend, as there's so many other things to try to cram into such a short visit, but for those with the time, it's a great experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsinext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USS Arizona Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing