We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, Interesting, and beautiful”

Verde Canyon Railroad
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.29*
and up
Verde Canyon Railroad Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Verde Canyon Railroad is a Southwestern adventure that takes passengers on a ride through Arizona’s backcountry, only accessible from the comfort of this train. This legendary “boutique” attraction allows members of groups an uncommon view of a wildly-wonderful red-rock canyon. The four-hour excursion requires no laborious effort or exertion except by the highly-trained staff who absolutely love what they do. As evidenced by exceedingly positive reviews, they do it very well. Verde Canyon Railroad is the only excursion train in the Southwest which offers every guest two seats for the price of one: inside viewing through large panoramic windows in all coaches and 360-degree views from open-air viewing cars attached to each coach. As the train passes “through” a grand canyon, both vantages celebrate incomparable scenery, high-desert flora and fauna, historic trestles, dramatic geology, unusual rock formations and passage through a century-old 680-foot tunnel. Throughout the journey the captivating history of the Verde Canyon and the Railroad unfolds with narration interlaced with a wide genre of popular railroad tunes.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Interesting, and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Beautiful scenery on a historic route that you not only cannot get to by car, why would you want to? Sit back and relax on this refurbished train, go out on the viewing platform, enjoy a drink, listen to the interesting narrative by a local guide who is also available to answer any questions. As with a previous reviewer, we booked seats in a first class car but did not realize that buffet lunch was included.It looked good. Beverages extra. This is not a loop but apx. 2 hrs. out then the train is reversed, but the canyon offers such spectacular views that the time goes quickly and you are bound to see things you missed on the outbound trip. Take your camera!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mother19348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    393
    112
    42
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great train ride and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

If in Sedona you need to look into the afternoon ride on this train, it was well worth the cost. You are told to be at the station 1 hour before the train leaves, so we go there thinking we need to have lunch before we leave. We had 1st class tickets but they did not explain that there would be food on the train for us. We had a nice lunch at the station and got on the train where they told us there was more food, but we were not hungry now. They had little sandwiches and chicken wings and each train car had a cash bar. After an hour I had some chicken wings. The cars are comfortable and there are open air cars to go to to see the views from outside. The temp in mid November was a comfortable 55-59deg and the train goes along at 10-15 mph making it nice to stand outside to see the views, and the views are incredible. The steep red rock cliffs are something. We saw an Eagle and it's nest. The ride is 25 miles long and takes 2 hours and then they reverse the train and take you back another 2 hours to the station. It was a fun afternoon and worth the money. I am not sure what coach class was like but 1st class was really nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank OBX200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Train Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

What a wonderful afternoon! Our tour group traveled in one of the first class cars. Very comfortable. Generous snack buffet and friendly service. We spent our time between the comfy seats and the open car that had a very knowledgeable guide. The open car was great for picture taking. One of our friends even got a photo of an eagle thanks to the guide telling her when the nesting place was coming up. Beautiful and at times breath-taking scenery, high bridges and deep canyons.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaAngela1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“mountain views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was well worth the cost,it was informative,the views were spectacular,the ride enjoyable,the drinks marvelous, I would recommend first class, or for those who have a group of six and no lack of funds can take the private caboose. if you are lucky you will get shoe the tour guide a retired school teacher now working as information guide very pleasant, funny and personable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbirds3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Take the train!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We took the train in Oct.2013 and found it an excellent afternoon out. We travelled standard class and the carriages were clean and comfortable with access to open-air viewing carriages. The facilities at the Clarkdale terminal were excellent - food, drinks, gifts, toilets etc. The journey itself was very scenic with informative onboard guides. Not a large canyon but very interesting with geological/industrial sights as well as the river and the autumn colors in the trees. It's an out-and-back trip but the return leg offers different views, enhanced by the lighting changes over the time of the trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank myvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Canyon Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Verde Canyon Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing