We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Scenery from The Ride!”

Verde Canyon Railroad
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.29*
and up
Verde Canyon Railroad Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Verde Canyon Railroad is a Southwestern adventure that takes passengers on a ride through Arizona’s backcountry, only accessible from the comfort of this train. This legendary “boutique” attraction allows members of groups an uncommon view of a wildly-wonderful red-rock canyon. The four-hour excursion requires no laborious effort or exertion except by the highly-trained staff who absolutely love what they do. As evidenced by exceedingly positive reviews, they do it very well. Verde Canyon Railroad is the only excursion train in the Southwest which offers every guest two seats for the price of one: inside viewing through large panoramic windows in all coaches and 360-degree views from open-air viewing cars attached to each coach. As the train passes “through” a grand canyon, both vantages celebrate incomparable scenery, high-desert flora and fauna, historic trestles, dramatic geology, unusual rock formations and passage through a century-old 680-foot tunnel. Throughout the journey the captivating history of the Verde Canyon and the Railroad unfolds with narration interlaced with a wide genre of popular railroad tunes.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Kirtland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Spectacular Scenery from The Ride!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great attraction if you enjoy trains and great scenery. Viewing the rock formations is very interesting. They say there is wildlife to view, but we were not that lucky.
We saw NO wildlife in 4 hours.

The outdoor cars let you view even more scenery. The guides try to speak, but due to the loud music that keeps playing it is very difficult to hear.

Their are snacks available on the train, but there are no meals available. It is a good idea to pack some snacks or sandwiches.

The return ride can be a little dull since you have seen the same areas on the first 2 hours of the ride. Inside the rail car can be quite loud since they blast some corny music the entire ride.

Be sure to make an advance reservation since this is a very popular attraction in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiga9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,058
    407
    116
    43
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see Verde Canyon”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were assigned to a coach car, but it was a beautiful day and we were able to spend the entire trip in the out door car. Beautiful views and very nice staff. We chose the Ales on Rails tour because it seemed to be advertised on their website as an event. No where did it state that the beer, brats etc were not included in the price. It was a little disappointing, but did not stop us from having a really nice experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgaw
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you enjoy trains, this is a must. About four hours of very smooth rail riding with incredible photo ops. The train follows the Colorado River for most of the trip with beautiful vistas, great rock formations and some interesting wildlife. A great value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike16248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
1 review
“Verde Canyon Railroad Tour”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The night before going on the Verde Canyon RR tour, I read a bunch of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Most of them were very positive, and a few left me a touch apprehensive about what we might find, and some actually offered good advice.

First, EAT lunch before going, there isn't a lot of food on the train, and you will appreciate taking the time to have a bite to eat. We chose to eat at the cafe at the station, and it wasn't fancy but was good.

Second, I have lived in Arizona for a good part my nearly 60 years, and this trip is up very good. I have 4 wheeled a good portion of the state, hiked in the woods, visited the Grand Canyon and most all the National Parks, but this was a special trip in the scenery as well as the diversity of the Arizona countryside. It starts in the high deserts and quickly joins up with the Verde river in which the Cottonwood trees were in the midst of turning color. It's also as the name implies a tour through the Verde Canyon, and many of the canyon walls have the color of Sedona red rocks with the contrast of the Verde River flora.

I saw a review that the tour was too long, but I found I wasn't bored, and rather enjoyed seeing the transformation of the late afternoon sun. The colors were rich, the critters were out during the return trip. We saw both Bald Eagles and Deer on the return to Clarkdale.

I would recommend this to any of our out of town friends, it's worth the dollars, as well as the time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"Love old trains"”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The train ride is the whole package,eagle sightings, old Indian ruins and plenty of great local history. Granted all this stuff is better understood by us older folks but the young ones learn what it was like not to have all the modern gadgets and luxuries. When you stand out side on the open observation car you smell the engine smoke hear the tracks it just transports you back in time. We booked a first class car with a great staff. We were served complementary food with a no host bar. All the staff were a wealth of information and pointed out all the points of interest. I'm glad there are people out there that preserve these old trains and rides and keep what built America alive. Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 03GWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Canyon Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Verde Canyon Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing