We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Verde Canyon Train Ride”

Verde Canyon Railroad
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.29*
and up
Verde Canyon Railroad Adventure
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Clarkdale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Verde Canyon Railroad is a Southwestern adventure that takes passengers on a ride through Arizona’s backcountry, only accessible from the comfort of this train. This legendary “boutique” attraction allows members of groups an uncommon view of a wildly-wonderful red-rock canyon. The four-hour excursion requires no laborious effort or exertion except by the highly-trained staff who absolutely love what they do. As evidenced by exceedingly positive reviews, they do it very well. Verde Canyon Railroad is the only excursion train in the Southwest which offers every guest two seats for the price of one: inside viewing through large panoramic windows in all coaches and 360-degree views from open-air viewing cars attached to each coach. As the train passes “through” a grand canyon, both vantages celebrate incomparable scenery, high-desert flora and fauna, historic trestles, dramatic geology, unusual rock formations and passage through a century-old 680-foot tunnel. Throughout the journey the captivating history of the Verde Canyon and the Railroad unfolds with narration interlaced with a wide genre of popular railroad tunes.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Verde Canyon Train Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

So relaxing and got to see inside one of the Canyons in the region from the comfort of a train car. The depot has food service if you choose coach class which does not serve food although first class (mighty comfortable with bar service and food....outdoor railcar is wonderful way to see everything. The train staff was definitely there to make our trip the best.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,006
    392
    111
    42
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“train ride into verde canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The food at the depot is very good. We ate lunch there before our ride. They sell prickly pear lemonade and good cookies on the ride. Get your cookies before they run out. The "guides" on the train pointed out all kinds on interesting sights along the way. At the half way point they sold ice cream sandwiches. The ride seems a bit long but well worth the trip into the canyon. You might need to reserve ahead as our train was sold out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas fort worth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First Class Experience But Last Year Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We decided on this trip because we wanted to see the canyon without bumping around on a jeep or horse. We made the right decision. At least we did while we were here in 2011. The first class tickets we bought allowed us to have champagne waiting for us at our table, as well as some crunchy baked chips. Now they wrote that we would have finger foods but I did not realize they would have hoagy, salads, chicken wings, cheese and crackers and the absolutely best little fried brownie chunks I have ever eaten in my life. The crew was friendly, knowledgeable and spoke loud and clear to hear. We could sit inside or outside.And there was just about something for everyone on the drink menu. The cucumber margarita is so not to be missed and I have to say the coffee drink I ordered at the end was simply yummy. Don't worry if you smoke, there is very little time before the outside seating with ashtrays is ready. The bathrooms were clean and the food area was neat. If there was one thing less than positive it might be that is was a bit long on the return. We were all ready to get back. But I can't stress enough, be sure to visit with Ralph, Don and Laura. Three guides that know their stuff and have a passion for the land. AND REMEMBER THIS WAS LAST YEAR AND WE PAID FOR FIRST CLASS...and got it!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank tlc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a nice time on the train, friendly staff and spectacular views! We booked first class as normal tickets were sold out. First class gets you some champagne, food and à lot of space. But as you should be on the open car the entire trip both normal and first are fine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mkrijntjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“first train ride, deffinately not my last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

i have never been on a train ride and was never a "natures beauty" person but the things you will see on this ride are absolutely breath taking! the staff is increadible and we will deffinately go back many times as you are never sure what all you will see!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DrewPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Canyon Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Verde Canyon Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing