We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel - Great Location”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Hotel Viking is one of the nicer hotels in Newport. It is a historic hotel and has quite a bit of old world charm. I have stayed at this property several times over the past few years and am pleased to say that the property has continued to improve over the years.

As you arrive at the property, you drive up to what looks like a stately old English manor. The front porch is adorned with rocking chairs which are well positioned for people watching.

The property does have bell staff and valets, however during the busier times (e.g.: summer) you may have to wait a little while for service.

The rooms at this hotel are nice, but small. There are two wings. The main building has rooms that are more unique and historic in nature. The conference side wing which is a bit newer, has more of standard hotel room setup. I have stayed in both wings in the past few months.

Our first trip room was on the conference wing on the main floor. It was a small room (apps. 250square feet). The bathroom was tiny and only had a tub and toilet. Adjacent to the bathroom was a closet and sink. It was more of a European style setup. The room looked like it was newly renovated and while small, was still comfortable. The view was overlooking a small courtyard internal to the hotel and it was really quiet.

Our second room was a suite in the main building wing. It was a 1 bedroom suite. The room was renovated to a more historic style (not as modern, but still comfortable). It was clear that the hotel was trying to keep the original charm of the structure. While the room was nice, there was not really much of a view...we looked out over the mechanical equipment and could easily have opened up the window to walk right out onto the roof. From a safety and security standpoint, this was a little unsettling, especially when I came home to find the windows unlocked. The one item with the room that I did not find acceptable was the cleanliness of the bathroom shower. There was no tub (only a shower), which made for a challenge when trying to clean small children. The shower was also covered with mold and looked like it needed a good scrubbing. By our second day this seemed to have been taken care of. One strange thing about this hotel is that they don't provide the traditional bathroom toiletries. They provide machines installed in the showers with mass quantities of shower supplies...think college dorm room. It worked, but was a little strange for a hotel of this standard.

The hotel does have free wireless and the code is provided at the front desk. That being said it is not too speedy and the code does not always work.

We had drinks at the bar across from checkin which were good. The atmosphere is charming and inviting. We also had breakfast in the main dining room. The atmosphere is great if you eat on the back patio (although not a lot of shade) or in the glass porch room. Service depends on the day of the week. Our first meal during the week which was less busy, was served quickly. Our second meal over the weekend, took forever. The quality of the food was good ... not great ... but acceptable.

The location of the hotel is good. It is not on the water, but set a few blocks up. It is a quick walk to the waterfront and to the historic parts of town. If you are looking for great views or to be right next to the water, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a good historic hotel that is centrally located, you might want to check this out.

There is a small indoor pool and spa at the hotel that looked nice, but we never used.

Overall, this is a nice hotel. If it were anywhere else in the world, I would probably give it 3 stars, but given that this is at the top end of what Newport has to offer, I am giving it 4 stars. It is not the most luxurious hotel that you will find, but it is nice and the staff do a good job at providing local hometown style service. It is a great place for a weekend getaway where you will be exploring the town. This is not the type of place where you go to relax and make the hotel the destination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SassyTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Your review is excellent and in reading your remarks, makes one want to check it out for themselves! We are proud of our 85 year old history and the fact that we offer 21st conveniences adds to the loveliness of the hotel. Thank you also for letting others know that the AC was no issue at all. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully another wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Balinese massages and soothing pedicures were on the agenda for a 1 night stay at the Hotel Viking in Newport, RI. Eric checked us in and sent cozy robes to the room. With an early wake up call for our spa day, we decided to enjoy the hotel and its amenities. Slipped into our swimsuits for a refreshing dip in the indoor pool, relaxed on the loungers and read a book, then basked in the vivid sunset from the roof deck while sipping yummy cocktails and having a few snacks. What a way to end the day!!

In the morning, donning our robes after a restful nights sleep on the comfy queen beds, we proceeded to the Spa. Rebecca primped our toes while Nicole and Erin soothed our minds as well as our muscles. A perfect one-night escape!! Can't wait to do it again in November. And a late check out too, Bonus!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank amyflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Having guests return time and time again is the key to a successful business. At the Hotel Viking we have many wonderful repeat guests. It is a great way for us to keep all of our guest service skills finely tuned every day, seven days a week. Our purpose and goal is to have all of our guests feel welcomed, have a positive experience throughout their stay, and on their departure feel as if they cannot wait to return. We are fortunate to have you as our guest. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We enjoyed the visit.
It is a nice charming hotel. The food was excellent.
The pool was nice. The shower and bathroom areas were quite small.Front desk staff were very helpful. We thought it was a bit much to charge a (refundable) $60 for an umbrella especially as one was broken.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

The mood and vibes we wish to present to our guests from all of our associates is total attention to detail and to provide a warm and welcoming attitude. We are especially delighted when guests spend several nights with us and enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. Newport and the Hotel Viking is a great place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very nice property, but cleaning crew's work was substandard. Mold in the shower, crumbs on the floor, no soap in the bathroom, and lack of attention to details left a bad taste in my mouth. Likely an anomaly as others in my group didn't complain, but worth noting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BretNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

We would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues that occurred while you were here. We do want to have all of our guests leave with a great feeling of having enjoyed a visit at the Hotel Viking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Viking. We stayed in the older section. The room was well appointed with a comfortable King bed. it was a small room with only one table lamp and a desk lamp. A nice room to sleep in but not so nice if you like or plan to lounge in the room. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. It is in a good location. You can walk to Thames and waterfront. You also can walk to the cliff walk and mansions -- a bit of a hike but not too far and a plesant walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Your wonderful comments are very important to all of us at the Hotel Viking. Noble House Hotels and Resorts has set exemplary guest service standards of excellence for all of us to follow! We are most appreciative you shared your thoughts with us. And, we hope this is the first of many visits to Newport and the Hotel Viking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel staff were attentive, the hotel lovely and immaculate! The rooms were lovely, plush, comfy bed and linens, and thick towels. Instead of bottles of shampoo, conditioner and soap bars, there were dispensers of all shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in the shower! I called and asked for bar soap (I don't like shower gel) and extra towels, they arrived in moments! Great customer service! Oh, and free wifi!
In addition we ate breakfast in the hotel (ala carte) and it was fresh, delicious, and not too expensive! Our experience was terrific!
Also walking distance from the Touro Synagogue, a must when in Newport!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dolltwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at the hotel. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Viking during the International Tennis Hall of Fame tournament and induction ceremony. It is within walking distance of the Hall of Fame and also the harbor/wharf areas. The room was beautiful and spacious and the shower/bathroom was great. Everyone I interacted with was pleasant and provided excellent customer service. The rooftop bar is beautiful, but beware - there is no glassware up there due to the wind - as I was told. Drinking wine out of a plastic cup just doesn't work for me, so I changed my order to a cocktail I didn't mind drinking out of plastic. :-) There were a lot of tennis players and celebrities staying there, so great for people watching. We did have dinner there one night, and I was unimpressed with everything except the vegetables - AWESOME!!!!! It did not seem as if they were properly staffed for providing great service. Our dinner took close to 3 hours, which I felt was unreasonable for a starter, dinner and no dessert. We ordered a bottle of wine and no one ever made a move to pour it for us. Frankly, I only saw our waiter (who was very nice but very harried) until close to the end of our dinner, when another server arrived on the scene. We had a pleasant time, but I would not recommend the restaurant. Great bartenders, however, and a lively bar scene! I would definitely stay here again, but would not revisit the restaurant.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank tennisskigirl1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

We are very sorry to read that your restaurant experience was not a pleasant one. We apologize for all the issues. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
721 reviews
1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $134 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing