We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and nice place to stay.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the close proximity to the International Tennis Hall of Fame and we were in Newport for the tennis tournament. Many of the players stayed here as well and it was a treat for tennis fans such as ourselves. The hotel is also within walking or short driving distance of many of the Newport attractions and dining. The staff we encountered were very nice. I will say that the wi-fi was very slow and the TV reception and choice of channels was very poor for the price of the room. Not carrying The Tennis Channel in a town that houses the International Tennis Hall of Fame seemed very unusual. The rooms were not large, and the bathroom set up is odd in that the tub and commode are on one side of the entry hall and the sink in a small separate area across from it; there was very little dresser drawer space. This stay included only me and my husband, which was fine, but it is a small space for any more than two people. We stayed here earlier in the year with our son when visiting URI and it was definitely a tight fit. There are, however, many places outside of the room to sit and relax, and we spent each evening sitting on the front porch. Overall it was a good experience and we will probably stay there again if possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyesontheball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. What a great week it was to be in Newport. We thank you for your suggestions to improve our services as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    588
    240
    119
    49
See reviews for
423
976
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We did three week in New England and the Hotel Viking Newport came out top. Room upgrade on arrival, great bar staff, super breakfast and a short walk to the town. Just could not fault the place. An Historic Hotel with character. Would recommend unreservedly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Your upbeat and enthusiastic comments are a “breath of fresh air” to us as well. We all become much more motivated when we are able to provide guest services that meet and exceed expectations. Thank you for your lovely comments about your visit to the Hotel Viking. We are so pleased you were able to visit Newport during your New England visit. When you come again to this area we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We chose the Hotel Viking largely based on its TripAdvisor standing. We were, in the main, disappointed. Another recent review discussed the HVAC system, which apparently relies on motion sensors in the room and sets the temperature to 75º F. when no motion is detected. We must be very still sleepers, because we awoke and had to reset the thermostat several times both nights because the control showed "Room Unoccupied", and the temperature became too warm for sleeping.
The property is an "all-valet" hotel and charges $30 per night to park your car. While this fact may be disclosed somewhere on the hotel's website, it is not prominent, or at least I didn't notice it.
Although we received a very favorable rate, the room was literally the smallest room in which I have ever stayed, including Manhattan.
We couldn't receive television program our first night until someone from engineering came and tightened some connections on the back of the set.
We had a very early flight the morning that we checked out, and the front desk clerk spent ten minutes on a radio, trying to reach the valet who never did respond. It actually became a bit comical: "Larry? Larry? Are you there Larry?" Finally, a colleague of the desk clerk retrieved our rental car from the valet lot adjacent to the property.
On the plus side, the hotel is lovely, well-appointed and very well located. All of the members of the staff with whom we dealt were unfailingly polite and considerate.
All in all however, I would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrison1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are very sorry that you had to experience all the issues during your stay. Our engineering team addressed it immediately . Thank you for your positive comments on behalf of the hotel and staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The room was unusually small. They did make very good use of a small bathroom - very nice for the size. The room temperature control system was terrible. I think it was motion controlled. One of the days I was there, I was trying to work in my room and while sitting with my back to the room typing on my computer, the thermostat repeatedly turned to "room unoccupied" and required me to repeatedly get up to re-set the thermostat - otherwise the default was 75-degrees. The hotel staff that I encountered were VERY professional and VERY friendly!

Room Tip: Expect very small rooms with lower-end rate options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We would like to apologize for the issues that you experienced while staying with us. Thank you for the positive comments on behalf of our associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Walking distance to water, mansions and tennis tournament. Wonderful staff. Rooms a bit dated but clean. Good value. Tennis players stayed there during Hall of Fame Tournament and it was fun to walk with them to the stadium.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaffieNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your nice comments with other travelers. The Newport Tennis Hall of Fame championship is an excellent event. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although most of the reviews I've heard were really great, my husband and I stayed for two nights this past week for the first (and last) time. The parking attendant, Mike, was great, attentive and polite. Our room was nice, but there was a constant clanging and banging outside. Still not sure what that was! Loud and annoying! I went down to the front porch area with a book to read and relax for a bit. The area was littered with cigarette butts and two of the porch rockers had broken slats on them. Very hard not to notice that!
We had a drink at the bar just inside the main entrance. While the bartender, also named Mike, served our drinks, he never even offered a napkin! Not what I expected at all. So, we left that bar and went up to the rooftop. The atmosphere was so much nicer. Friendly staff greeted us and it's far too windy up there for a paper napkin, but cloth ones came with our dinner. Sad to say that the area isn't open earlier for those who love the view and the outside in the daytime.
We had planned to stay for a third night but bailed out and went to our all time favorite B&B, The Ivy Lodge for our last night in Newport. Never disappointing!!!
In a nutshell...there are so many nice places to stay in Newport. Why stay on a busy traffic corner?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moreenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit. We are sorry you did not enjoy our bar in One Bellevue. We realize that each and every guest has their personal preferences and in this case we fell short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding. When I walked in (pregnant and all) with arms filled with bags, there was no one to help. As I began checking in, the staff ignored what I was carrying, and the receptionist said she was sorry, but no one could help. She simply said the hotel was busy. Sadly, there were four people at reception who were not helping customers; you would have thought they might have attempted to help or at least get the luggage carrier for me. The room was fairly clean, but very dark and dreary. The best part of this hotel is its location, yet considering the price and how unimpressive the room was, there were other hotels in the middle of town (much cheaper) that we wished we stayed in. When we checked out, we had many problems with our bill. We were part of a wedding block and unfortunately, despite what still seems to be an error, the hotel refuses to honor the block rate. We never received a call back when we tried to have this cleared up, and had to phone the hotel many times to even reach someone, who basically told us they would not change the rate. We would have expected the hotel to honor the wedding rate and change the rate on our room, especially to hopefully have returning customers. The staff was so unhelpful and rude, and truly did not seem at all to care about their guest experience - something which was such a disappointment. It seems like they were being quite difficult and cheap, and was such a turn off. Castle Hill was such a gorgeous hotel and for almost the same price, we would have certainly preferred to stay there for a truly luxurious experience. The food was remarkable and the hotel was exquisite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Our apologies that things were not as you expected. I would like this opportunity to apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. We constantly strive for the highest standard but in this case we have fallen short. However, we appreciate your feedback, as your comments are necessary to help improve our service. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest services that positively affect each guest. I assure you that this is not the standard service you should expect to receive while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing