We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unwind at Hotel Viking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“Unwind at Hotel Viking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Hotel Viking for her 30th birthday celebration. We have been married for four years, have a son, and another child on the way. We opted to spend the weekend together and were given the opportunity as a family member watched our son. It was an exceptional weekend. Newport is phenomenal and the experience we had at the Hotel Viking was top notch. The entire staff was extremely warm and dedicated to making sure we had an enjoyable stay. We plan on returning to Newport, and the Hotel Viking will certainly be where we stay!

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel Viking offered an eco-friendly environment. Energy-efficient lightbulbs in the room offered excellent light along with being good for the environment.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We wish all of our guests have a great experience when visiting us. We strive for comfort and elegance with close attention to detail so are pleased when a guest receives help and assistance from everyone they encounter at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    545
    222
    107
    42
See reviews for
390
918
45
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here Thursday to Saturday the week before the 4th of July. The check in was easy, they gave me a queen room after I had requested 3 times for a king during my reservation process. I went back down to the lobby and they were totally ok with changing our room to a King which was a fantastic display of the service right at the beginning. The room was TINY but well appointed. The bed was comfortable, nice size flat screen tv and a desk with chair. The bathroom was super tiny! When sitting on the abode if you are tall enough your knees may hit the sink which is cute and narrow - not good for washing your face. The shower was a nice size. Since we are only ever in the room to sleep and get ready it wasn't a huge deal but there is absolutely no privacy from the bathroom to the bedroom. There was no fan in the bathroom and no hooks for towels which I can't imagine is common. Also the door - as hip as it is, it's frosted glass. If your in a semi newer relationship or are a little shy - don't stay in one of the older rooms because there is no privacy.

We had valeted a car and the staff was excellent about retrieving it for us and handling it when we returned. We also had a bike with us and the staff was happy to hold it in the back room rather than leave it on the car all night. The front desk staff was great about recommending restaurants and directing us places to visit that we may have not thought of before.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant both mornings we were there. The first inside and the second outside on the patio. I actually ordered the same thing both days as did my boyfriend because it was just so great. The patio is amazing - I would beyond suggest sitting outside because it is so peaceful and nice. The traffic sometimes got a little loud but it's easy to ignore. There is also a great rooftop bar at the hotel called the Top of Newport and it was great. We had drinks up there one night before a late dinner reservation and the views of the distant water were really nice. They had a guy playing guitar which was a nice setting. I was talking to someone who had lived in Newport for years and didn't know about the rooftop bar until recently so it may be an undiscovered gem.

The long and the short of it = go here. The staff is fantastic, the service is amazing and ask for a room in the new part so you have a little more privacy. I took pictures of the hotel but apparently they are too small for me to post, they are from an iphone so I am not sure what makes them too small but I am happy to email them to anyone who is interested.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section. From my understanding they are larger than the old side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Your comments are very helpful. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my weekend stay at Hotel Viking. The room was really cute and comfy with a unique feel to it. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was nothing special but it was nice to dip into the hot tub after a long day of walking around. The hotel is centrally located between the downtown area/ restaurants/ water and mansions. I would def stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Even with a very short visit, guest service is so very important and our hope is to stand above others to provide excellence in service. Our guests are the key to our success and in training our new associates, it is instilled in them that we continue to strive for perfection and continue to reach for this goal. When we do receive a wonderful review, we are proud to share with our associates. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Recently visited Newport and sadly only had one night in this great place. The staff is what made it truly outstanding! Everyone was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. The only thing that might be improved was the breakfast which was okay, but not outstanding. Will definitely stay again next year when we come back for the flower show!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bellanhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the compliments about all of the Hotel Viking Associates you met while staying with us recently. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and the attitude of all of our staff is a strong factor in deciding if you will return to visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip. Excellent staff and great accommodations. The room was on the smaller side, but everything was very clean and modern. The location is superb for walking around downtown Newport, which was about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Food at the hotel was excellent as well, better then the restaurants I ate at downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests to say that everything was very clean and modern and the food was excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Nice ambience in this hotel and good location but the AC doesn't work well in 3025 so don't take this room unless you confirm it is working well. We brought this to the attention of the staff but they told us they checked it out and that it is working properly - not a good sign when they tell you your problem isn't really a problem. Disappointing. I was hoping this specialty hotel would be better than the chains but I think next time I will go back with the Marriott - I have never had this sort of issue there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank golferddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are sorry to hear that your experience was not the best one. We always try to provide exceptional service and make all our guests feel pampered. However we thank you for taking the time to write this review, as we always look for ways to improve Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were very pleased with the accomodations. The staff was very welcoming,friendly & courteous. We were celebrating our anniversary & found the overall experience to be romantic.The room was nice and the grounds are well kept.
The location is excellent , the city is safe, clean and full of exciting things to do. The Hotel is in walking distance to many local attractions, beaches,shopping & resturants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birthday729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Celebrating an anniversary is always a very special time and we are so delighted you stayed with us. Thank you also for your thoughts about our associates and the guest service they provide to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing