We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Price for the Holiday Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Price for the Holiday Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Both me and my wife decided to take a pre-Christmas vacation up to our favorite New England town but dread spending the cash to stay at a nice hotel that is convenient and moderately priced. After going to Newport a half dozen times and staying at the B&B across the street we always thought that this historic hotel would be out of range...but TINGO gave us rooms for 2 nights (Sat & Sun) the weekend before Christmas for a hair over $100 so we couldn't pass this opportunity up. The location was excellent, there was plenty of street parking nearby, and the hotel was decorated beautifully for the season. It is also a 5 minute walk to the wharfs and Broadway where there are up and coming restaurants to try out. The rooms were updated and clean but a shade on the small side as that is the reason for only 4 stars. If I had the opportunity to stay here again I would...great place in Newport!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We value our guests’ opinions and appreciate your comments about your visit to the Hotel Viking. We are pleased that you came to stay with us. Our staff is happy to assist in making our guests feel at home and do so with a smile and helpful attitude. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    555
    227
    110
    44
See reviews for
399
934
45
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I stay at The Viking at least three times a year. We always come in December for my husbands birthday. This year was no exception. We drove up and the valet ( young man with a blonde pony-tail) was extremely polite and friendly. We then checked-in with the front desk. As always the front desk staff is always polite and friendly. Kevin at the front desk knows us by name and is a breath of fresh air. We decided to have dinner at One Bellevue this year for my husbands birthday. Usually we stay away from hotel restaurants, however, we decided it would be relaxing this year. We are so pleased that we stayed "in". Our server ( I think her name was Kelly), was a delight. Very knowledgeable and cute as can be. Then Federica came by and was amazing. His hospitality is outstanding! Despite all the options for dining out in Newport, we will ALWAYS consider One Bellevue from now on.
Thank you to everyone who made the birthday weekend exceptional!!

Room Tip: Suites are outstanding!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time and writing these nice comments. It is so important to us to have satisfied guests like you. Our staff works very hard to try to please each little request for our guests, they pay attention to each little detail. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Viking while visiting Newport to tour the Breakers for the Holidays. The hotel is in a perfect location with easy walking distance to the waterfront, restaurants, and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a big room in the 1960s wing with two very comfortable queen size beds. We loved the decor and linens. Although the hotel accommodates a large number of rooms, it still feels like a lovely boutique hotel. The one fault we found was with the set up of the bathroom. There was a water closet with a toilet and shower in one room and across the hall was a small room with a sink, mirror, and closet for your clothes. This set up was fine for a one night stay but was a little awkward. All and all, this is a great choice for a Newport stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzah823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are happy to hear that your stay here at the Hotel Viking was a success. Thank you for your comments and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at Hotel Viking. Room was clean, bed was VERY comfortable and the staff were all very helpful, especially the bartender, Rose! The location is also ideal and you feel as though you are in one of the mansions. We ate dinner one night at Diego's and would definitely recommend it. The margaritas and food were all delicious!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CRMack8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
What a wonderful review. Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your thoughts about the Hotel Viking. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Federico is a true hospitality professional! My husband and I stay at the Viking at least three times a year and we always enjoy our stay. The rooms are so tastefully decorated. The beds are the most comfortable beds anywhere! The hotel is clean and we'll cared for. The front desk staff is friendly and knowledgeable. This trip was an annual trip for my husbands birthday. This year we had dinner in the restaurant, One Bellevue. Our server, I think her name is Kelly, was perfect. She knew everything about the foods she was serving and she had her timing down perfectly. Federico came to our table during dessert to say hello and guarantee our satisfaction. He is a great presence in the restaurant and so great to talk to. He made us feel very special. Kevin at the front desk is also a great staple for Hotel Viking. He always has a smile and kind word for everyone. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful complements on behalf of our staff. We are so proud and happy to have such a great team at the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We just had one night in Newport and luckily it was at the Hotel Viking. The place has the look and feel of a grand hotel experience. The staff are fantastic from the desk staff to the valet parking attendant to the wait staff and bar staff. Our one mid-week night was cold one in Newport and we opted for a light dinner in the bar - the chowder was first rate.
Our room (413) was a little small but very comfortable, the couple with whom we were traveling had a bigger room on the second floor.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If they offer you 413, unless you are solo, see if another is available - it is a good room, just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
The charm of our wonderful hotel is how our associates interact with our guests to make sure they are all treated well during their visit and we succeeded! Thank you for your comments and recommendation to others. We are very appreciative you had a great stay and complimented our staff on their professionalism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a truly lovely weekend stay at the hotel Viking, I would not hesitate to recommend it. The building itself is stunning, might even make you feel like you are staying in one of the Newport mansions! The room (we spent extra for a mansion suite) was decorated with beautiful furniture and was very clean. All of the staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly. The young lady who checked us in gave us a map of the area, circled the hotel, and drew the routes to some popular destinations for us- very helpful!

Perhaps the best thing about it is the location. Barely a five minute drive to the Breakers, other mansions, and cliff walk (might be a nice walk in better weather, but we took the car in single-digit December) and a 5-10 minute walk to Thames Street and the waterfront area for excellent shopping and dining.

A few little issues that kept it from a perfect score- the room, even with the mansion suite upgrade, was small. If we didn't have the little living room area and the whole room was just the bedroom, it was pretty tight. Not impossible, just a little smaller than your typical US hotel room. Also there are not a lot of TV channels. Seems like a sillly thing to complain about but if you visit in December and you are retreating to the room early rather than wandering around in the freezing cold dark of night, you might want to know :-)

The parking system is a little iffy. They charge $16/night for valet or self-park (it is more during the summer months, maybe $30) but they don't have a way to track which cars belong to which guests in the self-park lot... no dashbord receipt, no ticket-tag system. Left us wondering if a few unethical guests pretended they arrived without a car and took advantage.

All in all though, the great location would keep me coming back to this place.

Room Tip: Mansion Suite 402 has very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmelyeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you and we are so pleased you had a wonderful stay. The Hotel Viking has made the very best use of space available in our historic boutique hotel.We are fortunate to be located in a central area of town and it is great for our guests to be able to walk along the waterfront and visit the shops along the way. The other tourist spots are a little further away and can be reached by car or bus. Being a historical boutique hotel, space is used to the maximum in each guest room. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing