We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful (but small) Rooms, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful (but small) Rooms, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a truly lovely weekend stay at the hotel Viking, I would not hesitate to recommend it. The building itself is stunning, might even make you feel like you are staying in one of the Newport mansions! The room (we spent extra for a mansion suite) was decorated with beautiful furniture and was very clean. All of the staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly. The young lady who checked us in gave us a map of the area, circled the hotel, and drew the routes to some popular destinations for us- very helpful!

Perhaps the best thing about it is the location. Barely a five minute drive to the Breakers, other mansions, and cliff walk (might be a nice walk in better weather, but we took the car in single-digit December) and a 5-10 minute walk to Thames Street and the waterfront area for excellent shopping and dining.

A few little issues that kept it from a perfect score- the room, even with the mansion suite upgrade, was small. If we didn't have the little living room area and the whole room was just the bedroom, it was pretty tight. Not impossible, just a little smaller than your typical US hotel room. Also there are not a lot of TV channels. Seems like a sillly thing to complain about but if you visit in December and you are retreating to the room early rather than wandering around in the freezing cold dark of night, you might want to know :-)

The parking system is a little iffy. They charge $16/night for valet or self-park (it is more during the summer months, maybe $30) but they don't have a way to track which cars belong to which guests in the self-park lot... no dashbord receipt, no ticket-tag system. Left us wondering if a few unethical guests pretended they arrived without a car and took advantage.

All in all though, the great location would keep me coming back to this place.

Room Tip: Mansion Suite 402 has very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmelyeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you and we are so pleased you had a wonderful stay. The Hotel Viking has made the very best use of space available in our historic boutique hotel.We are fortunate to be located in a central area of town and it is great for our guests to be able to walk along the waterfront and visit the shops along the way. The other tourist spots are a little further away and can be reached by car or bus. Being a historical boutique hotel, space is used to the maximum in each guest room. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    554
    227
    110
    44
See reviews for
398
933
45
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel in the beginning of December. Everything was beyound the expectations with a charming Christmas atmosphere. Spacious room adjusted for a familly stying. Crispy clean bathroom. Vallet service is convenient

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
December is a very charming time in Newport and the Hotel Viking. The Christmas décor is so beautiful at the Hotel Viking and Newport. we are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your guestroom. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night to celebrate my husbands birthday. From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated like royalty. The staff were awesome. The breakfast was delicious. Look forward to going back for a longer stay and a chance to see more of the lovely city.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paypay7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that when you return, you can enjoy more that Newport and the Hotel Viking has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding. The location is perfect -- walk to downtown Newport and Thames Street. Hotel is beautiful with TONS of character and charm. Staff courteous and helpful. Especially loved eating breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Had the same server both mornings for breakfast -- Anna. She is a DOLL!!! She remembered our order from the day before and had the most welcoming smile. Everyone in the restaurant seemed energetic and happy to be there. (Hate it when you go out for breakfast and the staff seems tired and upset that you are making them work so early in the morning.). The bellmen were very helpful and polite. The rooms were immaculate. This is my new favorite hotel! Highly recommend this hotel/restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
The Hotel Viking is a great place to stay while attending a wedding. We appreciate your comments, and thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A beautiful hotel,perfectly located near all the great places in Newport .It has a classic air and reminded me of Waldor Astoria in New York City .It is close to everything and whatever you need you find it at the reception .The staff is extremely nice one of the best I met

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites ,modeled by the local mansions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for one weekend to attend the wedding of a friend. The hotel Viking is a great historical property. Well appointed with both modern and antique design. The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable.

Pros:
- Central location; walking distance to everything.
- Wonderful French patisserie and chocolatier across the street.
- Beautifully appointed property
- Clean rooms; comfortable beds
- Well equipped gym, pool and spa

Cons:
- Rooms could use some updating; tiny bathrooms
- Limited dining choices in the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mortsiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are happy to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. A wedding at the Hotel Viking is sure to be a fun time. We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Viking and can't wait to return. We loved everything about this beautiful hotel, it's location and just Newport, RI. We traveled all over back east for 23 days & ended our last 3 nights here. This was truly our favorite hotel & destination. We LOVED the staff; they were courteous, helpful, fun and always smiling. EACH one told us, b/c we asked, it was the best place to work & they loved the management & it showed. We had a 3 day pkg of free breakfasts, which were A++, & free valet parking. Dinner was good but the room was poorly lit. Our king bed was extremely comfortable. The trolly & bus were right in front & you are only minutes from the mansions, the gorgeous harbor w/ tons of restaurants & shopping.
One thought...review your bill. We were overcharged $5 at dinner, $4.80 on our room & they forgot to give us one of 3 breakfast coupons. Each time we brought it to their attn., they were extremely apologetic and rectified the bill or coupon immediately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyed by you both. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that your travels bring you back to us again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing