We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in Newport, RI. This IS the place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you're in Newport, RI. This IS the place to stay!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a great hotel! We were in RI for our sons graduation from Naval Flight Officer Training Command and being from Southern California we had no idea about where to stay. We read some reviews and did some research on TripAdvisor and The Viking looked like a great choice. You never know not being familiar with the area or the property but this place exceeded our expectations. Upscale and quaint, all of the amenities one could ask for, well maintained rooms, centrally located. Everything was exceptional, including the staff. Top notch. We had a very important item shipped to the hotel as a special gift for our son, the icing on top of the cake if you will, and the staff there gave us the confidence that the delivery would not be a problem and it wasn't. They even went so far as to call and tell me that "the package has arrived and is in our custody." Fantastic. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEW4USC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are glad to hear that we exceded your expections and that you felt comfortable when trying to deliver a special gift to the Hotel Viking. It is our mission to make sure that we provide our guests with the best possible services. We thank you for your positive comments on behalf of our associates. Please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    583
    235
    118
    47
See reviews for
416
970
47
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the Hotel Viking for two nights this past weekend to celebrate my birthday. The hotel is in a prime location for anyone wanting to visit Downtown Newport (walking distance) and is just a short drive to the Coastal Extreme Brewery & Distillery, Newport Vineyards, Cliff Walk/Ocean Drive, and the famous mansions. Our room and the common areas were clean and very well-kept. We had an amazing weekend and, while we loved all aspects of this hotel, it was mostly due to the staff. Every member of the staff was professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. I do have to mention just a few of them who helped make our stay very special:

Tyler Nadeau in Reservations was the first person I spoke with from the hotel while making my reservation in September. He was very professional, helpful, and kind over the phone. He was also very patient as I emailed him over the next two months with various questions regarding our upcoming stay. However, the real testament to his character came when we arrived at the hotel to find ourselves in an upgraded room with a personalized note, spa robes, and (delicious) cupcakes to help celebrate my birthday. I was able to meet and thank Tyler in person while we were there, but I just want everyone to know how fantastic he is. And, as he seemed very humble, I wanted hotel management to know what an amazing asset he is and how he contributed to our first impression of this amazing hotel. Thanks again, Tyler.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with a very warm and welcoming smile from Michelle at the Front Desk, who was also extremely friendly and helpful. She got us checked in and remained an important part of our stay with her knowledge of the surrounding area and her enthusiastic warmth. She was beyond accommodating with a special request of mine and was also kind enough to have a mini fridge sent up to our room when we came back with leftovers from Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant, one of the many amazing restaurants in the area. She made us feel at home while away from home which is rare to find in a hotel staff member and something that is key to a truly relaxing and enjoyable hotel stay.

I would also like to extend a special “thank you” to Aaron, the Engineer who delivered our mini fridge. He was very friendly and offered his knowledge of the area saying he would be available if we needed anything at all. He made a great impression on us just in the few minutes it took him to plug in the mini fridge.

The valet staff were also very friendly, attentive, patient, and accommodating. Each one was always smiling and ready to help in any way possible. They are just another example of the amazing staff at this hotel – willing to go above and beyond to make their guests feel comfortable.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this historic hotel and feel we made the absolute most of our weekend, and it is mostly due to the hotel's excellent staff members. We will definitely recommend Hotel Viking to any and everyone and will be staying again on our next visit to Newport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
There are times when a review comes in about our hotel that brings forth a huge smile from all of us making coming to work that much nicer and worthwhile. It is especially gratifying when our guests not only enjoy themselves but want to share their enthusiasm with others. A special thank you for your compliments regarding our staff members of the Hotel Viking. We take pride in our associates and it’s an honor when special notice is made of their abilities. I will certainly pass on your praises. You have portrayed the Hotel Viking as we wish to present ourselves to those who may wish to visit and to our returning guests! Thank you for making our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at The Hotel Viking last February and it is by far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The beds are luxurious, the spa is top notch and we got free breakfast with the Spa Terre package everyday (the crab cakes eggs benedict are to die for). The staff couldn't be nicer, everyone greeted you and the car service came in very handy! Loved getting PROJO every morning too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
WOW! You have done a fantastic job of capturing it all in just few sentences! Yet it speaks volumes! The best part is it definitely catches one’s attention and brings the vision to life of what a visit will be to the Hotel Viking! Others will want to visit because your description is so apt. Thank you and do come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My Husband and I have spent our last 2 wedding anniversaries here. It is romantic, the service and staff amazing. A definite repeat! The One Bellevue Breakfast PKG is worth it as the breaky is uber delicious..and the garden room so gorgeous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodyrdasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary that you and your husband were able to celebrate and enjoy with all of us at the Hotel Viking. Our staff does take great pride in doing their very best to work at having a spotless hotel which takes constant work. When our guests are able to relax and enjoy dining in One Bellevue we are more than delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I with 2 friends stayed here for one night during a short road trip up to Newport and Boston, from Long Island.

The service was 5*, good facilities including nice pool area, even the standard rooms are well furnished with lovely spacious bathrooms. Situated in a perfect location in Newport - 5 min walk to harbourside restaurants. Hotel parking just a skip across the road. The staff, from cleaners through to reception and restaurant bent over backwards to be helpful and friendly.

When departing in the morning, the elevator was being serviced, so out of action. One of the cleaning staff saw our plight and without hesitation took our bags from us and took them down the 3 flights of stairs.

The first rate breakfast was included in the price of our stay and was cooked to order with full waitress service.

Granted, we were travelling off season - but all this for $150? Nothing else came close in terms of value for money during our trip to the US.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad_J2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are pleased to receive such heart warming praise. The Hotel Viking is continually looking for ways to improve every aspect of our guest service. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is our second stay at the Hotel Viking. Upon arriving the guys at the front door were just awesome. Very friendly and after the first day they would always ask how our stay was going. They gave good suggestions on places to eat and also what to see and do. Check-in was a breeze. The front desk staff were very helpful. Our room was very nicely decorated and very clean. Although it overlooked a small courtyard, it was very quiet with little to no outside noise. The hotel is an easy walk into the downtown area of Newport. It is a little bit of a hike uphill coming back, but after a couple of times it did get easier. I have read several comments about the parking. There is a charge for parking. We self parked across the street and since we never used our vehicle, the $16 a day charge was more than fair. It seems more and more hotels are charging for parking, so we're kind of used to it by now.

All in all we would definitely stay here on our next trip to Newport. The trolley that runs a loop to the mansions and downtown area stops right in front of the hotel. Ez on and off. We have read some comments about the layout of the bathroom. Considering the hotel was built in 1926, the layout seemed to work just fine for 2 people. Also there is a safe in the room which made storing valuables a snap. If I have to add something that may be considered a drawback, I would just say the breakfast is a tad pricey. However there is Hotel guest courtesy coffee and tea available in the lobby. It's a great place to sit and read the morning paper in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raxel7851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We cannot thank you enough for all of your kind words, and we take pride in offering you an exceptional experience every time. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at Hotel Viking this past weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel and staff were very friendly. Our room was a bit smaller than I anticipated and when we asked to switch to another room due to our room facing out on a busy street, they weren't able to accommodate our request thus the 4 star rating instead of 5. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but it was well equipped and the shower was a really nice size with a rain shower. We were able to walk downtown and a bunch of other places. We swam in the pool after breakfast and then went on our way. I recommend taking a room with breakfast included. I think it was only $20 more per night but the buffet breakfast (which was included) costs $24pp if you don't have breakfast included. The buffet had an omelet station and a bunch of other items. Well worth adding it into our room package.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlingAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
What a terrific summary of your visit to the hotel. We are all delighted when guests enjoy their stay even if only for one night and we are able to provide all that is needed to take advantage of the many fun things to do in Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing