We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“was nice but pricey”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“was nice but pricey”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Pros: This is a good place to stay in newport. It's pretty big without feeling too big and the size when we were trying to book a last minute trip over labor day weekend. Also very centrally located. You can walk to just about everything that you need to and there's streetside parking available nearby.

Cons: if you stay in the main bldg, in one of the rooms facing the street, be prepared to sleep very little. I had to call down to the front desk several times on the Friday and Saturday nights that we were there to ask them to tell the people out front to lower their voices. The front desk should know this and/or at least do eriodic sweeps of the areas to keep the din from getting crazy. Also, the bathroom, while larger than expected was a weird space. The showerdoor bumped into the toilet, no real place to hang your towel (other than the rack across the room from the shower) and a design flaw in the door that made it so that the floor got totally wet everytime you showered because the door wasn't sealed tight to the floor and water seeped down. Also, for the room that we had, the place was a little pricey.

Room Tip: DONT get a room facing Bellvue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
The Hotel Viking is one of the historic hotels here in Newport and it has the quirky qualities of a boutique type of hotel. Your comments also help us to evaluate our strengths and weaknesses and we do address each and every one to improve and correct whatever needs to be done. Thank you and we appreciate your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    565
    230
    111
    44
See reviews for
404
946
46
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
E. Dennis, Ma
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Viking. From the time we registered to the time we left, we were treated with warm smiles and professional services from making dinner reservations, to obtaining a taxi, to enjoying breakfast and dinner in the Garden Room. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I wouldn't hesitate recommending the Viking to friends.

Room Tip: The noise level from the room above was horrendous...at 6:00 AM and at 9:00 PM it sounded like a hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec.Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We always try to provide our guests with exceptional service, and it looks like we have succeeded again. We cannot wait to have you back as guests again, and we hope you will again find us just as fabulous when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

There was nothing missing from our stay. The Hotel is conveniently located, rooms are very nice, and customer service was great. There were also some very nice and unexpected touches that made it really feel like a special occasion. Only negative is that the front desk recommended 22 Bowens for our anniversary dinner, but we didn't really love it. We had a much better meal the next night at Tallulah! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarelypostreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Celebrating an anniversary is always a very special time and we are so delighted you stayed with us. Thank you also for your thoughts about our associates and the guest service they provide to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a lovely upscale hotel that is very expensive. We decided last minute to spend the weekend in Newport and bought the stay online at Pr______e where we did save a little money but still paid over $300 a night. We were greeted with valet parking (over $30 each night!) and the staff was lovely. The disappointment was the room they gave us. We were SOOO FAR away from the lobby and elevator on the low (stairs to get to after the elevator) on the 3rd floor. They put us next to the housekeeping room. The air smelled funny and we really felt like we were substandard having used the Pri______e online site. I thought of complaining but we had unpacked and my friend did not want to get involved with that. The hotel was not sold out so they could have given us a better location. The inside of the room was nice but the location was awful. If we had booked through them I'm sure we would not have been sent to the bowels of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask where your room is at check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We apologize that you felt this way. We treat all our guests equaly and try to please everyone. It was not our intention to place you in a guestroom that wasn’t what you expected. We do have a variety of guestrooms located in two wings the Viking wing and the Newport wing. When you visit us next time make sure to indicate at time of reservation what your expectations are. Our parking fee is within the range of competitive hotels in the area. Valet or self- parking does provide a safe and secure place for your vehicle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here the first week of September--after school started--and found most of the summer crowd gone. Our room--one of the Estate Guest rooms--was on the top floor with a small view of Newport Harbor out the windows. This room has a unique layout--different than what I thought I saw on the web site. Somewhat of a more long and narrow layout than large and open. But... very nice and comfortable.
The customer service is an excellent example of what all hotels should strive for. From the front desk staff--Andre of course--, the valets, bartenders/waitresses, and just about anyone I had contact with appeared willing--and sincere--about providing exceptional customer service. Good to see there are still hotels like this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on our associates. We all do strive to provide the best guest services that we can and in your case exceeded expectations. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Viking in September for first time - Hotel hits all the right notes and impresses at every step. Called my cell phone when the room was ready for check in - room was spotless and well appointed, very comfortable bed, furnishings are vintage Newport. Location is great, walking distance to everything. Friendly, courteous staff was very helpful. From the drinks at the rooftop bar, to the excellent breakfast on the patio, the Hotel Viking does it right. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sr888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Your words are a melody to our ears. A fantastic review that we always appreciate so much. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
251 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights labor day weekend for a wedding and it was spectacular from start to finish! We arrived at 10 in the morning the first day thinking we would never get the room but we did and what a beautiful room it was! I know there have been some complaints about the size of the rooms but our 3rd floor room was great. If I had one complaint it would be the lack of space around the sink in the bathroom. We did have a couple issues on arrival to the room that we immediately rectified. The location of the hotel is close to everything you want to do in Newport but inside the rooms its nice a quiet. We did not have dinner in the restaurants but did have an amazing breakfast and attended a rehearsal dinner with fabulous food and service. The beds are very comfortable as is the room temperature. I can't say enough about the concierge desk and the service people here they all care about what they are doing we felt the service level was exceptional. Check out was a breeze and the valets do a great job getting you on your way quickly. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: It did seem we got an upgraded room that was a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuclearMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are pleased your stay exceeded your expectations. We take such pride when our guests are given the utmost attention throughout their visit. We hope you let us know when you plan to return so that we may “roll out the red carpet” and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing