We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Superb staff. Great location"”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location of The Hotel Viking couldn't be any better. It's on historic Bellevue Ave, and it's just over a mile to the glorious mansions along the shore. The wharf are is a short 5 minute walk, and that seems to be where all of the action is...bars, restaurants, etc.
The staff made a friendly and helpful first impression, and continued to "wow" throughout my stay. The room was large and comfortable, with an impressive bathroom that included a large shower with a rainfall nozzle. I liked the wall mounted dispenser for shower gel, shampoo and conditioner.
The breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic (the omelets are great) and the service was superb.
The only improvement suggestion? A mini-bar in the room! I had medication that needs to be refrigerated and I had to purchase a small cooler, since the room had no means to refrigerate it.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite. They're large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraa463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Your words are a melody to our ears. A fantastic review that we always appreciate so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my first trip to Newport and Hotel Viking. The location is perfect! It's an easy walk anywhere you need to go, and makes it easy to travel without having to rent a car. The rooms aren't large but they are nicely appointed and classy. The hotel is a historic hotel and beautiful and quaint. The staff was very nice and it was nice to have my Wall Street Journal there each morning. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanderscdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time and writing these nice comments. It is so important to us to have satisfied guests like you. Our staff works very hard to try to please each little request for our guests, they pay attention to each little detail. We are also glad to hear that you were satisfied with us to deliver the paper to you every morning. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here since we were going to a local wedding. The location is great. It's not right in the middle of the madness but it is a perfect walk to the wharf, town or Easton beach. I read reviews and expected small rooms. They aren't large by any means, but it certainly was not small or too cramped. The bathrooms are smaller than most hotels, but the shower is large and fully updated with tile and a fantastic shower head. The hotel and rooms were very clean. The historic hotel holds nostalgia, yet keeps up with modern day class. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Yes, the hotel is pricey but you are in Newport mid summer.

After the wedding we returned to change and then headed back out to meet the bridal party. We walked outside and asked the valet for cab. The gentlemen asked us to hop in the hotel car and gave us a complimentary ride to the bar where we were meeting friends. It was unexpected and very hospitable. He even offered to drive us back. Little things like this go a long way in the service industry.

Valet and parking are $32 a day, but worth to walk everywhere.

There is a lovely cheese shop and wine shop across the street. I highly recommend checking those out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Your review puts a big smile on our faces. You expressed it all so wonderfully. We are most appreciative of your kind words. We are in a perfect location , we do have a wide range of guestrooms to everyone’s liking. And yes our showers located in the historic wing do have the rain shower heads which are so popular among our guests. Our valet service is provided by fantastic individuals that we are so pride of. They are a great asset to the hotel . We are glad to hear that you had a chance to experience the unique service that they provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

So let's start with expectations. The Hotel Viking is rich in history having opened in 1926 and it has certainly had it's share of celebrity guests....President Kennedy, Ella Fitzgerald, and Bob Dylan to name a few. The town of Newport, RI is a wonderful place to visit and, from what I can discern, there is no nicer place to stay in the city than the Hotel Viking. That being said, the Hotel Viking is NOT a five-star hotel.

Don't get me wrong. It's a nice hotel, it's just that it can't be mentioned in the same breath as the Stein Eriksen Lodge in Utah, the Broadmoor in Colorado, or Ponte Vedra Inn & Club in Jacksonville. These are just a few of the true 5-Star luxury hotels to which all others must be measured.

Let's start with the positives which are, in a word, location. Newport is a great town to explore and visit and Hotel Viking is situated close to everything. Wonderful shops and restaurants. Mansions and bookstores galore to visit and explore and then there is the seaport! Fishing boats, luxury yachts and sailing boats too numerous to count. What a treat!

Unfortunately, the positives really start....and end there. The hotel is above average in facilities and service when compared to an everyday hotel, but when compared to the truly exceptional hotels (to which it wishes to be compared) it is a bit lacking. Well, with the exception of a VERY nice Pool and Fitness Room. They are top notch.

Specifics? Here we go....and remember, it's the little things that count.

1. It is very difficult getting into and out of the hotel. This is primarily the result of it's location. Narrow streets and a very "cramped" drive at the front entrance add up to an uncomfortable check-in and check-out. (I will say that the desk personal were very nice and actual check-in was a breeze, however.)

2. Parking. Take advantage of the valet service! After all, you can either use the valet OR self-park. EITHER WAY, it will costs you $32 per day. That's right. Same price, so go the route of the Valet.

3. Internet. TERRIBLE! I never was able to connect reliably. My wife and son had more success, but it was certainly not very good service. In this day and age, consistent and high speed internet is a MUST. Failing grade to Hotel Viking on this one.

4. Maid Service. Okay, this is a tricky one to speak of, but it needs to be said. When you leave the room in the morning with a half roll of toilet paper on the roll, you really should be able to expect the maid to provide an additional new roll, right? Yeah, I thought so too, but that's not what happened. (In fairness, when my son called about it that night we were provided with TWO rolls.)

5. With three of us sharing the room, I think it is a fair request for some extra towels. Nope. Totally ignored the request. Oh, and I think they should sweep the room each day. (Are my expectations too high for an "elegant grand hotel?" I didn't think so either.)

6. Pretty limited television choices and no numbers on the remote control. What? Did they wear off or what? Well, of course I could still figure out which button corresponded to which button, but REALLY?

7. Instead of individual bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel, the hotel uses dispensers attached to the shower wall. Very cool! Well, it would have been if the maid would have filled them up each day....or at least ONCE during our four night stay.

There were a few other positives. The hotel has a lot of character and it is sort of quaint. Outside of the poor maid service, all of the other personnel were quite friendly and attentive. (Actually, the maid was also friendly.....just inefficient.)

So there you have it. Would I stay again? Absolutely! It's a very nice hotel. My only admonition to other travelers is that it is NOT five star. To be fair, it is above average and I would definitely give it Four-Stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trademark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is very disconcerting and upsetting when we read a review of our hotel that is not favorable and was not a pleasant experience. We apologize for all that occurred during the visit and do wish we had been able to solve the various issues. We are all putting our thoughts together to make sure these things do not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. We stayed in a renovated room this time, which was very pretty and had a large completely new bathroom. A few improvements are needed; however, more than one tiny trashcan is needed, provide a true mini/honor bar, and turndown service in the evening should be added. Also,our cable box wasn't working properly so we couldn't rent a movie (lost revenue for the hotel)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSydelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for coming back and staying at The Hotel Viking. We appreciate your business and comments, suggestions as well. We always look for new ways to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The conference I was attending chose this hotel. I was not impressed. The decor isn't that bad, but the hotel needs to be renovated. The housekeeping staff needs to be retrained. It's seems all they did was pick up the towels ad make the bed. No replacing of used mugs/glasses. The doors to the rooms don't close right and could probably be kicked in. The stomping of the people above me reminded me of my college dorm room. The worst thing was the smell in the common areas. Not sure what its was, but yuck. Not as bad in rooms. Location was good. Away from crowds but not a long walk (4-5 blocks) to the main area of town. Valets were very friendly, but under staffed for peak hours. Same goes for catered events. It took a while to get played food with only 2 staff serving.

Room Tip: Although, windows were at ground level, 1st floor room seemed quieter. Avoid 1022 handicap room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our apologies that things were not as you expected. We would like this opportunity to apologize for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. We constantly strive for the highest standard but in this case we have fallen short. However, we appreciate your feedback, as your comments are necessary to help improve our service. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest services that positively affect each guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just completed a stay at the Viking for a conference. We paid less than the "normal" rate, which is exorbitant, but still quite a bit. I upgraded from the smallest room to a slightly larger one, as we like to have a fridge when staying for a few days (it was a minibar without a sensor, so limited room in it). Even so, the room was very tight for two people, let alone three. The bathroom is split in half, with the foyer in the center (with no overhead light or nearby outlets, so only the mirror in the bathroom is useful). There is a sink in the closet, with no door and room for only one person to stand, and room for only one person's small wardrobe to hang, as half is taken up with a chest of drawers. The sink has almost no counter space. The toilet and tub/shower are across the foyer, also very cramped, with moldy grout and a ceiling in need of painting. No place to put anything and all of the towels hang here, even the ones needed by the sink (except for one). So showering, dressing, make up and hair become a dance of constant movement and changing places. There is only one chair in the room, at the desk which is right in the line of the air conditioning vent. Freezing at the desk and warm in the beds. There is no light switch for the lamps as you enter the room. Water bottles are $6 and there is no sundries shop in the hotel, and no snacks available except from the minibar. Parking is about $30 a night. Parking costs a lot everywhere in Newport. On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the location is good for walking into town near the harbor, but a bit far from the beach. There are no outdoor facilities - it's just a city hotel, not a resort, but at resort prices. Banquet food was marginal (breakfasts, lunch and receptions). All in all, like cramped European rooms with an impossible bathroom/closet set up and few amenities, but a good staff. Rooms might work for a single, but that's it. Generic bathroom amenities, too (cannisters with shampoo, conditioner and body wash on the wall, and nothing else). Historic or not, not our cup of tea.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice machine, and not all rooms have the split bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahdorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

The Hotel Viking is a historic hotel with a variety of guestrooms. When guests reserve their rooms we explain to them all our options so they can choose the best room to their liking. We do have refrigerators available for everyone staying with us. Some rooms have the fridges in room and some rooms have them available upon request. We appreciate all your comments as they gave us a chance to improve . We are always looking for ways to provide the best possible service to our guests, so your feedback is valued very much. Thank you for your wonderful comments on behalf of our staff. We do have the best team in town. We take part in many environmental initiatives …the shampoo, conditioner, and bath gel amenity dispenser saves us from disposing of over 70,000 plastic bottles a year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
715 reviews
1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $116 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing