We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spotless and comfortable room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NYC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spotless and comfortable room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in a Newport Guestroom with 2 queen beds. After a day of visiting the Breakers etc, the room made us feel like we too were experiencing a bit of luxury! Although the bathroom (with tub) was small, the overall feel of the room was elegant and luxurious. I've stayed in hotels around the world and this was perhaps the cleanest I've ever seen. Nice touches included a Keurig coffee maker in room, fresh coffee in the lobby in the morning, valet parking, a clean and pleasant indoor pool with very comfy seating for parents who don't feel like frolicking with the kids, and extremely friendly staff. The location makes getting to the mansions easy -- if the weather is nice several are easily walkable -- and there are some good restaurants close by that are not touristy like those on the wharves (Pasta Beach was a fantastic find on nearby Memorial Blvd). The room rates are on the high side but entirely in keeping with the pricey market of Newport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artmumNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. Our hotel is in the heart of Newport, and as you mentioned, we are within close walking distance to most of the attractions nearby. We are glad that you enjoyed a feeling of luxury and cleanliness, both qualities that we strive to maintain. Again, we thank you for your wonderful comments, and please do stay with us again sometime. We look forward to serve you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    508
    209
    99
    38
See reviews for
362
848
41
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My sister-in-law's birthday coincided with our trip to Newport, so I booked massages and manicures/pedicures at Spa Terre to celebrate.

Ahhhhh, what a treat!

The spa is small and quaint, with every need attended. Lockers are provided, as are fluffy robes and sandals. The shower has top-notch body wash, shampoo, and conditioner for the guests to use, as well as a hair dryer and hair products (upon request, at the front desk).

My massage was very relaxing and thorough, and the room where it was performed was dreamy. My mani-pedi was the best I've ever had (and I've had a lot).

We walked in tired and drained; we walked out spruced up and ready for lunch and a day of shopping!

PLEASE visit this beautiful hotel and the spa if you find yourself with a couple of hours to spare. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our Spa Terre is a great place to unwind and free yourself from the stresses that can build up during our hectic lifestyles. A massage, and manicure/pedicure is a fantastic way to treat yourself to something truly special. As you mentioned, when leaving our Spa Terre, one will feel rejuvenated and ready to enjoy Newport! Thank you again, and we look forward to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed here the night we got engaged. First, I must say that the hotel staff worked so nicely with my Fiance before we arrived to make sure that the room was set up exactly how he wanted. They made sure that rose petals were all about the room and took care of the details seamlessly. Our room was beautiful and spotless- I really appreciated the decor, a mixture of old and new world. There is a keurig is the room so that you can make coffee in the morning. The bed and linens were luxurious, as were the towels. The bathroom you could tell was newly updated and had great lighting. We found the shampoo, conditioner, and body-wash dispensers a bit strange-it reminded us of a gym and didn't fit in with the rest of the hotel's decor. Parking is easy, they have valet right in front. We did some exploring around the hotel the next day and the event spaces below were well maintained and looked beautiful. There is also a rooftop lounge that has a small view of the harbor, seating (covered and uncovered), and a bar. The hotel is wonderfully located and is ideal if you'd like to explore Newport by foot. I'd suggest walking around Newport as much as possible--parking is very difficult if you're not a resident. We would absolutely come back and stay at Hotel Viking again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inlovewtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec.Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It is so nice to hear that your time spent with us was truly a memorable occasion. To get engaged during a stay at the Hotel Viking must have been very special. Attention to detail is what can make an experience like yours a truly unforgettable one. The fact that you will absolutely come back and stay with us again at the Hotel Viking is wonderful. We hope that you will always cherish the memories of your engagement here in Newport. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, steeped in history. The rooms are spacious with beautiful wallpaper and furniture. The bed was luxurious. The bathroom was lovely but the bath/shower could do with being updated. Free coffee making facilities are in the room, along with iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Swimming pool is lovely. Car parking rates are expensive, but they seem to be similar everywhere round Newport. Good location for getting round the local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy2travelBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Keeping with Newport’s historic past is part of our heritage and we are fortunate to have a wonderful hotel with associates who care about our guests and our property. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visited Hotel Viking for a business conference at the hotel. When we all arrived the staff was very polite and they provided a high level of service throughout the entire stay. This was a huge plus! I mean all of the staff was great, from the guy holding the door open for you to the front desk to the waiters and catering staff, I can't think of one person in the staff that wasn't great.

The hotel itself is a bit of a maze. A few of us got lost getting to our rooms, but if you listen to the initial directions the front desk provides you should get there without a problem. A few of us weren't paying attention.

Once you're in your room, you'll notice it's a bit small. I was just there for the conference, so it was fine. The heating was on the fritz, sometimes it was too hot, other times too cold. I think that was mostly me, though. We joked that the place was haunted, but I doubt it.

My one qualm was with the food for the conference. It was pretty bland and seemed tasteless. That was the only thing that I really didn't like.

Overall: I'd recommend this place for couples and business-related travel. The staff makes the visit, though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We value our guests’ opinions and appreciate your comments about your visit to the Hotel Viking. We are pleased that you came to stay with us. We are a small boutique historical hotel in a fantastic location here in Newport. Our staff is happy to assist in making our guests feel at home and do so with a smile and helpful attitude. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We has a Newport weekend with accommodations at The Viking. The room was a junior suite in the older section of the hotel as it was not a special occasion for us, but I here that the California King contemporary rooms with fireplaces are phenomenal so for a winter excursion. The service is always outstanding here. You are referred to by name-nice touch. Also, the menus and wine lists are interesting and quite international to please the far from home crowd. The veranda was full of guests sporting the latest in spring fashion. I felt like I was in a Manhattan by the sea. I recommend an escape here to the Viking, back to the see and be seen traditional upscale experience that is what most seek in Newport, RI. Btw-you cannot be overdressed for dinner-go designer all the way if you wish. I love that about The Viking-class, sophistication, and fit for royalty. It doesn't get much better for Bellevue Ave. unless of course you just got received the keys to the mansion.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyincharlietown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
WOW! You have done a fantastic job of capturing it all in a couple sentences! Yet it speaks volumes! The best part is it definitely catches one’s attention and brings the vision to life of what a visit will be to the Hotel Viking! Others will want to visit because your description is so apt. Thank you and do come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during a busy holiday weekend. It was Ian great location near tennis hall of fame and near cliff walk and 15 minutes walk to bars and restaurants near the water. The only downside was the bathroom as it had a really unpleasant smell otherwise great

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 246cav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Especially on a busy holiday weekend, it is a great advantage to stay at the Hotel Viking. We are centrally located only few steps away from it all. The tennis hall of fame is on the same avenue as us, which is a great advantage during the tennis tournaments. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Groupon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing