We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, comfortable, classic, and different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable, classic, and different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel, receiving a discounted rate from one of the 'hotel' sites out there (don't remember which one). The rate wasn't spectacular, but fairly competitive for hotels in the area - which are I suspect seasonally inflated. Our 'better' rate gave us a room in the original building over the entrance and right by the elevator.

The hotel is located a few blocks up the hill from the main tourist strip along the water, which is kind of nice. There's some nice common areas, and the hotel has a Victorian feel in its decor.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

The classic nature of this hotel leads to some quirks: The windows are older wood framed single-pane glass that can let some noise in. The bathrooms are updated, but tiny - giving you a feel for why the English call them water closets. Some of the layout is odd, for example the tv is mounted on a wall perpendicular to the bed instead of across from it - but you don't stay here to watch tv.

Keep in mind you have to valet your car, and a bit of the town is a little too far to walk to from here.

All in all, a nice change of pace from your the standard chain hotels, in a decent location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmulchY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will come stay with us again. Our hotel is the first hotel in Newport, which gives it much of its historical character. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    545
    222
    108
    42
See reviews for
391
919
45
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Viking for a beautiful destination wedding for a family member. It is stately and elegant, great location where we walked to town and I even had my hair done at a wonderful little salon just across the street. The staff was friendly and courteous and welcoming, starting with the valet. BUT.... it's those little things that were aggravating and took away the '10' I might have given it. The room rates are not inexpensive and they charge $35/nite for parking the car!!! That is ridiculous! How can they do that?!?!?! Everyone who comes has a car!! For crying out loud, if they need the money that much more, raise the room rate!! Then, we get to our lovely room in the older, original part that we had requested. The furnishings were beautiful, the bathroom was renovated and well done. I'm allergic to down and the pillows & duvet were down and I forgot to tell them to get them out of the room the first night! There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room & we thought that was a nice touch until we see that we would have to pay $2/cup of coffee that we make in our room!!!! That put me right over the edge!!! Then they have a tray of snax with a price list that was ridiculous, $4 for a candy bar!! But the coffee really ruined it for me........ Breakfast was nice but a bit pricey. It does have a wonderful indoor pool and spa that would've been great if we had thought to bring our bathing suits.
I would probably stay some place else on my next Newport visit.

Room Tip: We chose to be in the older, charming section but it faced the street and was noisy. We spoke to gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLMac411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. It sounds like the wedding you attended was a success. Due to the limited parking availability in Newport, we do charge a parking fee to our guests. Our spa and pool facilities are fantastic, and are not to be missed. We hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

In Newport for a wedding this weekend. Had seen The Viking many times from the outside and always wanted to stay there. Finally. A lovely hotel. Comfortable beds. The feel of the room was almost like old New York ; lovely armoire, comfy chair , big wood headboard. Comfortable. Bathroom modern---small but certainly big enough. Only complaint is due to the small sink there is really no counter space. There is a little glass cart underneath the sink which works but not super convenient as you have to reach for anything you need. For breakfast my husband went down for coffee and sweets and returned with wonderful muffins and a crouissant. Coffee in the lobby. All in all a delightful stay. Staff very professional.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with 2 windows facing front and street. Fun to be able to see who was coming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobojkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We look forward to have you stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Unfortunately we only spent one night at this hotel. Fortunately, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return. The bed could not have been more comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but the shower was lovely. The staff was great - especially the bartender who was so friendly and accommodating. My husband had a massage at the spa, and had a great experience. The room was beautiful and the location was perfect. We'll be back - for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that your stay was such a success. We do receive many compliments on our beds, as they are very comfortable. It is great that you had a chance to enjoy our restaurant and Spa as well. Our location is perfect, we are within walking distance to it all. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

In town to plan for our daughter's wedding in Newport, we stayed overnight at the Viking Hotel. This was our second time staying at the hotel, and again we were more than pleased! Both last March 2012 and this April, we stayed at the Viking with a special rate we had received from an email. We had signed up to get special rates and events on the Viking website, and we were delighted to get a great rate to come back yet again.
Our stay this time was midweek, so it was not very crowded. We had a reservation in a Manor Guestroom, but we were upgraded to an Estate Guestroom. That's a difference of 200 SQ FT to 320 SQ Ft, and $$! Our room was beautiful!!! We had a King size bed, a fireplace, sitting area with couch and chair, desk, another corner chair, flat screen TV and a very nice modern bathroom. Our double windows overlooked downtown Newport with the harbor in the background. Everything was in working order, and we were very comfortable in our accommodations. The whole hotel is very clean, inviting and very nicely decorated.

We dined downstairs for breakfast the next morning before checkout. The food was delicious and service was excellent. Breakfast is expensive, though the atmosphere is wonderful. On weekends they offer a breakfast buffet for $20 I think, which is probably a better value, but it was not available midweek.

The only negative here is the $35 valet parking/internet/paper fee they tack on to each night's stay. Parking was not a problem midweek in the off season, and we opted to self park ourselves. However, we were still charged the $35 fee. Perhaps the fee should be lower midweek, or in the off season at least. In the busy summer months, I guess the fee is worth it, knowing you have a parking spot secured. Parking in Newport in the summer is very difficult to say the least!

We enjoyed our stay very much, and hope to return again. Beautiful hotel, great service, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capemayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your business. We are so glad to hear that your stay was pleasant once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
415 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent a Saturday night here recently and were very pleased that we chose it above many other options. The hotel has been restored with great taste and style and is truly elegant in its newer iteration. The service was wonderful, and the decor is at once modern and redolent of the history of Newport from an earlier time. The dining room, where we had Sunday breakfast, reminded me of the great historic hotels on London. One suggestion is that they modify the beautifully done bathrooms to be a bit safer for those a bit unsteady on their feet, since we found the gorgeous floors near the sink and tub to be slippery to one in stocking or bare feet, and the shower tubs lack hold bars to minimize fall risk. That said, this is out new favorite place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are thrilled to be your "new favorite place to stay in Newport." We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a fine looking hotel and the staff are friendly. However, there are some things that you should be aware of. First, there is an unadvertised $32 nightly fee for parking. This is a flat fee whether you self park or utilize the valet services. You could try to park on the street but most of the spots are often taken or will result in a ticket (starting May1). If you compare their rates to the rates of other inns in town you will realize that you can get free parking, breakfast, and even afternoon tea and snacks for an all inclusive rate. I would suggest looking around and comparing all options. The room itself was cosy but nicely appointed. Highlights are the shower and the comfort of the bed. Some of the cons: Bellevue side rooms are noisy due to the street traffic, rooms are not made up while you are out during the day (we were told they have until 5pm to clean rooms), the rooms are small, and they seem short staffed at the front desk.

Room Tip: Bellevue side rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cityorcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We appreciate your comments. We hope to earn your business again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing