We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakhurst
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Unfortunately we only spent one night at this hotel. Fortunately, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return. The bed could not have been more comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but the shower was lovely. The staff was great - especially the bartender who was so friendly and accommodating. My husband had a massage at the spa, and had a great experience. The room was beautiful and the location was perfect. We'll be back - for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that your stay was such a success. We do receive many compliments on our beds, as they are very comfortable. It is great that you had a chance to enjoy our restaurant and Spa as well. Our location is perfect, we are within walking distance to it all. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    555
    227
    110
    44
See reviews for
399
934
45
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

In town to plan for our daughter's wedding in Newport, we stayed overnight at the Viking Hotel. This was our second time staying at the hotel, and again we were more than pleased! Both last March 2012 and this April, we stayed at the Viking with a special rate we had received from an email. We had signed up to get special rates and events on the Viking website, and we were delighted to get a great rate to come back yet again.
Our stay this time was midweek, so it was not very crowded. We had a reservation in a Manor Guestroom, but we were upgraded to an Estate Guestroom. That's a difference of 200 SQ FT to 320 SQ Ft, and $$! Our room was beautiful!!! We had a King size bed, a fireplace, sitting area with couch and chair, desk, another corner chair, flat screen TV and a very nice modern bathroom. Our double windows overlooked downtown Newport with the harbor in the background. Everything was in working order, and we were very comfortable in our accommodations. The whole hotel is very clean, inviting and very nicely decorated.

We dined downstairs for breakfast the next morning before checkout. The food was delicious and service was excellent. Breakfast is expensive, though the atmosphere is wonderful. On weekends they offer a breakfast buffet for $20 I think, which is probably a better value, but it was not available midweek.

The only negative here is the $35 valet parking/internet/paper fee they tack on to each night's stay. Parking was not a problem midweek in the off season, and we opted to self park ourselves. However, we were still charged the $35 fee. Perhaps the fee should be lower midweek, or in the off season at least. In the busy summer months, I guess the fee is worth it, knowing you have a parking spot secured. Parking in Newport in the summer is very difficult to say the least!

We enjoyed our stay very much, and hope to return again. Beautiful hotel, great service, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capemayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your business. We are so glad to hear that your stay was pleasant once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
436 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent a Saturday night here recently and were very pleased that we chose it above many other options. The hotel has been restored with great taste and style and is truly elegant in its newer iteration. The service was wonderful, and the decor is at once modern and redolent of the history of Newport from an earlier time. The dining room, where we had Sunday breakfast, reminded me of the great historic hotels on London. One suggestion is that they modify the beautifully done bathrooms to be a bit safer for those a bit unsteady on their feet, since we found the gorgeous floors near the sink and tub to be slippery to one in stocking or bare feet, and the shower tubs lack hold bars to minimize fall risk. That said, this is out new favorite place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are thrilled to be your "new favorite place to stay in Newport." We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a fine looking hotel and the staff are friendly. However, there are some things that you should be aware of. First, there is an unadvertised $32 nightly fee for parking. This is a flat fee whether you self park or utilize the valet services. You could try to park on the street but most of the spots are often taken or will result in a ticket (starting May1). If you compare their rates to the rates of other inns in town you will realize that you can get free parking, breakfast, and even afternoon tea and snacks for an all inclusive rate. I would suggest looking around and comparing all options. The room itself was cosy but nicely appointed. Highlights are the shower and the comfort of the bed. Some of the cons: Bellevue side rooms are noisy due to the street traffic, rooms are not made up while you are out during the day (we were told they have until 5pm to clean rooms), the rooms are small, and they seem short staffed at the front desk.

Room Tip: Bellevue side rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityorcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We appreciate your comments. We hope to earn your business again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Viking. We stayed for a long weekend and we were very happy we chose the Viking - we hope to come back to try one of the suites! The check in process was easy and everyone was very professional and friendly.

We booked one of the Manor Guestrooms with a Trip Advisor discount. It is quite a small room, but it is elegantly appointed. Every piece of furniture, the bathroom, the built in closet are all perfectly aligned in the room. If you live in a small NYC apartment, this room offers a lot of inspiration! The bathroom has a shower only, but it is very nice and obviously newly renovated. My husband really enjoyed the self-dispensing shampoo, conditioner and body wash (a "green" feature). This may be a silly thing to appreciate, but I love when a hotel goes for nice Koehler fixtures rather than economy fixtures that don't quite achieve the look an elegant hotel might strive for. It really completed the look.

We appreciated the historic value to the hotel, and the room reflected it without feeling dated. The bed was one of the MOST comfortable beds I've slept on in a hotel.

I highly recommend the hotel's restaurant, One Bellevue. We had an excellent meal there and the service was fantastic. We were fortunate enough to dine there during restaurant week. Definitely try the Naughty Monkey for dessert!

The only negatives to our trip were that the parking is EXCESSIVE ($32 a night! come on!) and that the jacuzzi was occupied by a group of very young children when we visited, who kept jumping between the pool and the jacuzzi. I don't think it's appropriate to allow children under the age of 6 into a jacuzzi, and the hotel should probably post a policy to that effect. In addition to being an inconvenience to the adult travelers (who perhaps are looking for a romantic trip, not a kid-friendly hotel, which I certainly would have expected here), I think it's dangerous for the children!

As a side note, we just parked on Kay Street - it was free and we had no problem with it (just across and to the left from the hotel).

Great stay! We recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We look forward to have you stay again with us. A stay in one of our suites would be a great choice for your next visit. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The best place to stay in Newport with extra amenities! Walking distance to the sites and the waterfront. You feel like you've gone back in time but with modern luxuries. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Room Tip: There are parking fees but valet parking is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Our hotel is truly a gem. We appreciate your comments, and hope that you will stay with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just returned from a vacation with my husband and friends in Newport, RI. We spent two nights at the Hotel Viking and the recently updated room was very comfortable and attractive. Bathrooms are small but nicely appointed and very clean. The hotel has a nice bar, sitting areas, a spa, an indoor pool and a small exercise facility. Location is fantastic and the staff was very welcoming.

The Hotel Viking is within walking distance to the waterfront and to many other areas. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly refurbished area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spicegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Our hotel has had many recent renovations. It sounds like your stay was a pleasant one. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing