We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Few Days in Newport, RI” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Few Days in Newport, RI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just returned from a vacation with my husband and friends in Newport, RI. We spent two nights at the Hotel Viking and the recently updated room was very comfortable and attractive. Bathrooms are small but nicely appointed and very clean. The hotel has a nice bar, sitting areas, a spa, an indoor pool and a small exercise facility. Location is fantastic and the staff was very welcoming.

The Hotel Viking is within walking distance to the waterfront and to many other areas. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly refurbished area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spicegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Our hotel has had many recent renovations. It sounds like your stay was a pleasant one. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    509
    209
    99
    38
See reviews for
363
848
41
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you find yourself in Newport, RI for a few days, you must make your stay at the Hotel Viking. This historic place has a wide range of room choices, a fabulous restaurant, a great pool for the family, a fitness area for workouts and a very relaxing lounge. My wife and I stayed in one of the quaint Manor Guestrooms. Looking on the website it stated that these rooms range from 150-200 sq feet. There are plenty of pictures to look at on the website and, at least with our room, the pictures represented our room well. Note that these are small rooms but decorated so that you feel a bit like you are in the gilded age. The bathrooms are very small but the large rainshower head in the stand up shower was delightful. We knew everything about this room would be small but the king sized bed was not and the grand headboard makes you feel as if you are in one of the mansion bedrooms and its grand comfort is no disappointment. If you require more space or a tub in the bathroom, then you will require one the standard size guestrooms. Rgearding reservations, i had some questions so I always call and prefer to speak to a live person when booking a hotel and I suggest the same here. The reservationist was most helpful and I ended up taking a package called "Breakfast on Bellevue". I highly recommend this package as it includes a full breakfast for two each day and includes complmentary valet for your entire stay. The added price was far lower than what breakfast for two would have cost us or the $32 per day rate for parking. The valet staff is outstanding and what better way of feelig grand is their than driving up to the front door and having one take your car. Otherwise, you must go across the street to the self park. They do take AAA discount so ask for that when booking, but do call for reservations instead of booking online. The hotel is within walking distance of Thames St. or even the mansions, located on Bellevue, if you are up to walking a bit. So step back in time and immerse yourself into the gilded age with a stay at the Hotel Viking.

Room Tip: Manor Guestrooms are quaint but provide a great value. Ask for the AAA discount. Inquire about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My family and I booked a 2 night package (room, breakfast, mansion tours) through trip advisor and the hotel website. Instead, we got the a' la carte menu - no breakfast, no passes and even got nailed for $32 a night for self-parking.

The front desk staff happily showed us the error of our ways by click through multiple pages online (although we couldn't see the screen). This didn't seem like the first time they had gone through this processes. In the end, they were unaccomodating and offered us the full rate. We checked out after one night.

If you can put aside the misleading "specials", the hotel viking is a big-box hotel with small, well-appointed rooms and a nice indoor pool for the kids. Given the other hotel options, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay with us. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel was wonderful for a long weekend get-away. I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff is. The concierge Eric was so helpful and made a note it was a boyfriends birthday. All the staff wished him a happy birthday and complimentary cupcakes were left in our room. I cant say enough wonderful things about this hotel and will absolutely stay there again in the future. On a separate note - the hotel is so conveniently centrally located - you can walk to everything and don't need your car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It is great to hear about another successful stay here at the Hotel Viking. A long weekend is a great way to spend some time with us here in Newport. We are located in the heart of Newport, close to all of the attractions. We thank you for your comments, and we look forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a Sunday-Monday trip in April 2013. The valet parking and check-in process went very smoothly. All the valet guys we dealt with were extremely friendly. Valet and self-park were both $32, a little on the high side, but not too much over the going rate in that area.

The room was pretty but had some awkard dimensions. We had a slanted ceiling on one side of the room which really made that part of the room feel smaller than it was. The TV was nice but it was mounted on a wall perpendicular to the bed and had no way to turn or swivel for a better angle.

The bathroom was both good and bad. The shower was quite nice with stone walls and an overhead rain showerhead. However, the rest of the bathroom was extremely small. The sink was so tiny (think half of mixing bowl) and close to the wall that even brushing our teeth was a challenge and water splashed all over the floor. There was no counter area built into the sink so we had to close the toilet lid just to have a semblance of counter space.

The four-poster king bed was very comfortable but one of the post had clearly been broken and repaired and was still wobbly to the touch.

The bar and restaurant looked nice from the lobby but we choose to eat and dine around town.

The hotel is not right on the water but only several blocks away from the heart of town on Thames St. We did find that the walk back from Thames can be a little treacherous after dark because Church St. has a one to two block section with absolutely no street lights. I would recommend walking up a different street and using Church during the day only.

Overall, the hotel was just fine for our type of trip. I would still pick Hotel Viking at the AAA rate over paying twice that at the Marriot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agferna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback, as it allows us to address issues and make improvements. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This a stately, Gold Coast , pre-war hotel. However, the layout and the way the hotel has expanded resulted in our room being ridiculously far from the lobby. There was no way to avoid stairs in the middle trek.

This is not for anyone with physical challenges. The hotel programmed our hotel keys not function before my girlfriend and I checked out. Very inconvenient.

Microwaves cost $25 more. This is very petty for such a grand hotel.

Staff kept knocking at our door to make it out despite the "Do Not Disturb" sign.

Room Tip: Insist on a room near the lobby or stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Immpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We apologize that your experience was not the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Viking for a conference. The staff was very welcoming, helpful, and efficient. The check in process went much smoother than anticipated. The rooms are relatively small and cold. I had my heat turned up as high as it could go and it was still freezing! The beds were VERY comfortable, more so than my own at home. The cleaning staff did not do a good job restocking the waters in my room. I had to go downstairs and request more. At the end of my stay, they charged me for the waters (as they should) but tacked on gratuity for them! The restaurant in the hotel is amazing and I definitely recommend it. Aside from this, the hotel is close to a number of other restaurants and attractions. I would recommend Hotel Viking to friends and family in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We hope to seeing you again in the future. We would like to apologize for the problem with the heating system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Groupon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing