We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Viking”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Little Compton, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Viking”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

As newly "empty nesters ", last year my husband and I along with another couple decided to go on a "staycation" and booked ourselves at the Viking for three days at Christmas. It was WONDERFUL !!!!! Great room, outstanding staff , quiet , spa, pool, and relaxing. Such a treat. So fabulous that we decided to do it again this year. However...... when booking nobody informed us that the hotel would be fully booked with jr high school hockey team players. AND it was awful...... screaming kids running in and out of the lobby. Couldn't get near the beautiful pool not to mention the kids and parents in the bar. So loud and out of control. There was no escape other than having to leave the hotel and walk in downtown Newport. I LOVE this hotel but somebody should have said something when we booked this reservation as it was NOTHING like last year.

Room Tip: Check to see when the Connecticut hockey team is arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sistermarymoejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec.Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
It is always wonderful to hear from our return customers. Christmas time is a beautiful time to visit Newport. The decor is just radiant in the hotel. Unfortunately, your stay with us this year was not as pleasant as we wished it had been for you. We apologize that your experience was not up to the standards that we always strive for, and we appreciate your feedback, as it will help us to make improvements where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    581
    235
    118
    46
See reviews for
416
967
47
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madison, CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Would surely return to Viking Hotel. Staff was wonderful. Special cudos to "Hanna" - breakfast waitress on Christmas Day who offered exceptional service, cordiality, caring and maturity.

Tour of Newport enlightening. Historical elements of Newport a must for students young and old. Fort Adams brings mid 1800 US history into context. If shopping, dining, harbors, architecture are your thing, many options and delights here for feast for all senses.

Need to return under healthier circumstances. Glad the CVS was open 24/7.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireFlyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We would like to extend our thanks in regards to your positive comments about our hotel. Our staff is truly exceptional when it comes to customer satisfaction. Your health is of utmost importance, and we are glad you had so many good things to say even though you were not feeling well. We look forward to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Viking Hotel after attending a holiday party in the hotel, and were very impressed with the quality of the room- all the amenities in a very well appointed setting, and a central location. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a glassed-in shower. The ballroom is very spacious and the food catered by the hotel for the party was first-rate. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Our hotel has recently undergone a complete renovation, and is better than ever.
Our catering department always goes above and beyond their duties to satisfy our clients individual needs. Thank you for your comments, and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Viking in November. Overall, we had a pleasant stay. We booked a package that included breakfast, and opted for room service. The room was lovely, patterned wool carpet and unique furnishings. It was a bit small and dark. Bathroom was also small, but newly renovated. The location was very convenient for walking around Newport, and parking across the street was a breeze. Overall, I'd recommend this property.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdmjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec.Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Our location in the heart of Newport gives it the convenience of being "close to it all." We offer several package options to suit your individual tastes. We are happy to hear that your stay in Newport was a pleasant one. We welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My dear friend and I go away for lots of girls only weekends. I chose this hotel on the recommendation of another friend who comes here with her good friend. It is the perfect hotel for this type of getaway. We didn't use the spa on this visit but we will be back and will next time. We visited the Elms and planned our time so that we could be back to the hotel to check in and have afternoon tea. Check in was so easy though we did have a very long walk to our room, down three long corridors.

The room was lovely, beautiful bedding, loads of pillows, a desk, Keurig and a small but functional bathroom. The WiFi was free and fast and there was never a problem accessing it.

We loved the afternoon tea so much that we had dinner at the hotel as well. The food and service was perfect. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and smiled and asked us how we were enjoying our stay.

We had an issue with the soundproof, there was a lot of running and jumping above us. When I called the front desk and asked if we could possibly be moved, we were. Thank you Eric for all the help you provided. When I had trouble with the heat in the new room, he helped me get it right.

The location of the hotel is convenient, the staff is top notch and the food is very good. Do I love everything, well no. I think offering 1 complimentary bottle of water in the room would be nice, $5 Fuji is just too expensive and there is not a store in the hotel that sells water. I also will bring some of my own coffee K-cups next time because I just won't pay $2 a cup beyond the two regular and 2 decaf that are provided free.

I will recommend this hotel to family and friends and I will return again, I really did feel like a special guest.

Room Tip: I might request a top floor room and do ask if there are stairs to negotiate with your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec.Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are always so appreciative when our guests write reviews that are not only complimentary to all of us, but also share their own experiences so that others who may want to visit are able to get a sense of what the Hotel Viking is all about. Again, thank you for your thoughts and we are pleased you will be recommending us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had a very good experience at this hotel! Very clean, excellent service, veeeeeeeeeery good food! It's not a cheap hotel, but it's worth it! There is also a very clean and nice outdoor pool. It's near everything! I will, for sure, go back there soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiandrade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Even though it has been almost a year since you visited, we are always appreciative of any and all feedback so that we can continue to do our best to provide the best guest service we can. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We celebrated my birthday in Newport last winter and it was just grand! Such a lovely town and such a classy hotel. We visited again this last summer and had an amazing time again. Gorgeous spa with great services. The staffing very helpful and polite. The room is clean, spacious and beautiful. Comfy bed. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MChNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
And we cannot wait to have you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing