We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I reserved my room through naming my own price on Priceline several months ago. Got the room for $80/night which I feel is a total steal given the hotel's central location to Thames Street and Broadway. Hotel Viking is a nicely appointed older boutique hotel but beware that rooms can be a bit noisy. Our room was #208 and we heard loud music coming from the lounge below us until midnight each night. I can't really complain considering the deal I scored on Priceline but if I had paid full price for the room and had to listen to the loud music below me I wouldn't have been so happy.

Skip the expensive parking fee the hotel charges and park your car on Kay Street directly across from the hotel for free. Also, if you don't want to pay $20 for the hotel breakfast buffet, walk 5 minutes to the Corner Cafe on Broadway. Excellent food at a fair price. Try the Vermont omelet - it was fantastic!

Room Tip: The hotel is 5 or 6 stories tall. I'd advise getting a room on the upper floors in case live mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec, Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are so pleased you were able to find such a great rate through Priceline’s name your price bidding program. What a terrific way to find the best deals around! We agree we are in an excellent area for visiting all the fun areas in town. Thank you for your comments. We do address all of our guests comments and yours have been discussed as to what is in the best interests of our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    554
    227
    110
    44
See reviews for
398
933
45
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful atmosphere. Well appointed room. My room was small but very cozy, maximized the use of the allotted space. Very friendly and helpful staff. Bed was very comfortable. Concierge was very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carachryss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night in the off season but it was lovely. Quick and easy checkin, beautiful room and helpful staff. Affordable rates off season whereas summer is prohibitive. Breakfast in hotel fine but not great, convenient. Walk down to the waterfront and have lunch or dinner at the moorings and try their bag of doughnuts (savory)...excellent!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
We are pleased you were able to stay with us recently. It is always a pleasure to know our guests had a memorable experience staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just got back from a Holiday Weekend at the Hotel Viking. We have been to Newport several times prior, however, this is by far the best hotel that we have stayed in. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. It is absolutely beautiful, filled with much charm and character. We were lucky enough to be there while the hotel was being decorated for Christmas. We found four trees throughout the lobby area and downstairs, each was more beautiful than the next. The rooms were spacious and neatly kept., and the furnishings were absolutely beautiful. The bedding was gorgeous and the beds themselves were so comfortable, loaded with many big fluffy pillows. Which usually for me, hotels never give you enough, but the Viking gave you plenty. The bathrooms were nicely furnished and spacious, the sink was in a separate wash area. Every staff member that we encountered throughout our stay was not only friendly, but professional and went above and beyond. We absolutely loved this hotel and cannot wait to return to Newport again soon. We will definately be staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniMonroeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are all most appreciative of your wonderfully warm description of the Hotel Viking. The room décor and luxuorious bedding has been well thought out by the designers hoping to achieve the ultimate comfort in our guests’ rooms. It is great that you were able to view the holiday decorations being put up to add to the festive atmosphere. Thank youi again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Another business trip to Newport RI and yet another, no surprise welcome at the Viking. My preferred place to stay while in this lovely part of the State. Room quality and service is second to none. Prices more than acceptable. If you travel alone or with the love of your life, highly recommend it. Ask for a suite upgrade if available in the "old part" of the property. Charming. Period.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upgrade !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
You have captured it!! This is what we always hope for in our guest services – that our returning guests have another pleasing experience and plan to return again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We love Hotel Viking! From the staff, to the wonderful restaurant, pool, spa - all top notch and worth the trip! Great location - you can walk to town or drive to one of the beaches in minutes. Shopping, lots of restaurant choices, or everything you could need right at the hotel! Can't wait to go back!

Tracey C.

Room Tip: Once, we upgraded to a suite which had a king bed and small parlor area with a pull out couch and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
And, we cannot wait for your next visit, which hopefully will be arriving soon. It is always so nice to receive compliments and even more meaningful to us because it was last February! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A great stay at a historic hotel

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Viking for a little weekend getaway after the Thanksgiving holiday. The Hotel Viking was a pleasant offseason surprise.

Hotel
The hotel itself is a large historic hotel and you need to keep this in mind when you book, as older hotels do have smaller rooms and odd layouts at times, however the Hotel Viking makes up for this with charm and amazing customer service! The hotel is centrally located for easy walking to shops on Thames St. and Bowens Warf, as well as the historic mansions in Newport. The best thing to do is park your car and walk the town, enjoy the views, shops and little side streets lined with colonial homes and friendly locals.

The hotel is well kept and very clean, from the lobby area, hallways, main restrooms, and other public areas, the hotel was spotless. The hotel was also nicely decorated for the holidays, which gave a cozy and homey feel. There was also a local crafts fair going one the Saturday we stayed and we were able to pick-up some unique gifts from local artists.

Hotel Service
I cannot say anything other than the customer service of the staff was exceptional. Everyone was very friendly, happy and willing to assist in any way possible. The valet and bellman service staff were excellent, prompt and accommodating to all requests. Check-in at the front desk was great and Eric was superb! He immediately made us feel welcome and offered his personal assistance each day. The wait staff at the hotel restaurant were also to be commended for their ‘service with a smile’, perfect recommendations on food choices and attentive service through our dining experience. Our waitress, Rose, on our first night was terrific, bubbly and made our dining experience that much more enjoyable.

Rooms
As mentioned, this is an old hotel and rooms in general are setup a bit differently to accommodate the lack of space. This is why you will see many rooms with the toilet and shower in one small bathroom area and across the entryway you will find the washroom and closet area. This is a tad odd, but because of the nature and layout of the rooms there is not much more that can be done, without losing living area space of the room. Overall the room was very comfortable, plenty of space, very clean and well appointed. The only negative I have is in relation to the bathroom amenities, which were a bit lacking for a more high-end hotel. The Hotel Viking has gone the way of many large hotel chains in that the soap, shampoo and conditioners are all provided via dispensers attached to the inside wall of the shower. One bar of soap is provided for the washroom area only. For a hotel of this caliber I was expecting nicer amenities, such as bars of soap, individual shampoos, shower cap, etc. I know for hotels of this size they save a considerable amount of money by having this ‘dispenser’ setup, however it is not very classy and gives a more ‘Best Western’ type feel to the shower area, rather than a 5-star hotel feel.

One thing to note, the walls of the rooms are paper thin. We found out how thin the walls were the last morning of our stay when a family allowed their children to jump around, yell, pound the walls and make all kinds of noise at 6am on a Sunday morning. This is a hard thing to fix with such an old hotel and generally is not an issue for us, but when you get rude families next door who cannot or will not control their children, then it becomes noticeable and disturbing. Again, not the fault of the hotel, but more poor and unsupervised parenting. We noticed this as well in the lobby where families were allowing their children to run around, push their roller luggage like a racecar and block the hallways, all while the parents chatted with each other or texted on their Smartphone’s (I guess you don’t have to be smart to have a Smartphone).

Dining
The hotel restaurant has a very nice atmosphere and as stated the service was excellent. The food was very good, though some things were either missed or overdone, which I will explain.

First, I cannot complain too much about price, as this is a restaurant in a higher-end hotel, regardless of the fact that it might be offseason. The food was done very well, was of a good quality overall and though you will pay a little more, you are paying for the service and atmosphere as well. If you are more of a pub food person or looking for a lower cost option for your family then I would suggest the many other great restaurants on Thames Street only a short 5-minute walk from the hotel.

For our dinner we ordered the Chef Thiele’s Grand Chowder, Roasted butternut Squash Soup, Field Greens Salad and the Cowboy Cut Rib Eye.

Chowder – awesome! This was more a seafood chowder with large sea scallops and lobster meat within. It was fresh, tasty and a very large portion.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup – my wife loved this and commented how the large chunks of squash were cooked perfectly and the flavor was amazing.

Field Greens Salad – my wife also commented how wonderful the salad was, which our waitress also recommended as one of her favorites.

Rib Eye – This was a very nice cut of meat and was cooked perfectly to order. The potatoes gratin were not the best and a baked potato would have been preferred. Also, it is not clear on the menu, but the steak was doused in a ton of sauce. Honestly this is not needed as the rib eye itself was an excellent cut and the sauce was taking away from the meat flavor itself. If ordering this I would suggest to ask for it without the garlic sauce. Though it makes for a nice presentation, it is not needed and takes away from the dish overall.

Breakfast was very nice and we opted for the regular menu options over the buffet, though the buffet did look very nice and was $23 per person, not $30 as someone stated in another review. My wife went with the more healthy selection of egg whites and fruit, while I ordered the traditional Eggs Benedict. The Eggs Benedict were very good and the only notable issue was that the English muffin was not toasted or not toasted enough. Other than this minor detail these were excellent and the eggs poached perfectly.

Overall
Overall I have to say this was a great stay and we will certainly be back. The location of the hotel is perfect, the staff are wonderful, the cleanliness of the hotel is exceptional and the historic feel makes for a great atmosphere. The only thing keeping me from giving the hotel a 5 out of 5 are the bathroom ‘dispenser’ type amenities. I just find this to be cheap for a hotel like this. Also, the thin walls of the rooms, but I do know this is logistically and architecturally very difficult to remedy in a hotel of this type.

Extra kudos to Eric at the front desk, Rose in the restaurant and all of the valet/bellmen, all of which could not have been more pleasant and accommodating during our stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is larger than you think. Request rooms closer to the front if you have issues walking. To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketClam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
What a fabulous indepth review. When we began reading your summary we were all so impressed with your ability to explain, in a succinct manner, what the Hotel Viking offers. It gives a great visual image of the décor, the restaurant and the food. Thank you for taking such painstaking time to share your comments with others. It certainly can make a difference to an undecided traveler to give us a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing