We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option with various provisos”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good option with various provisos”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

First the good bits. Great location. Our room on the third floor was spacious with full length windows overlooking the bay. We had great views on the the sunset. The bathroom (with bath and toilet) was small. But over the corridor was the wardrobe and sink. Although an odd arrangement it was good for applying makeup as the mirror didn't get misted up!! The restaurnat disn't have much of an atmosphere but the lobster and asparagus with pasta was absolutely excellent. My best dish in a two week holiday in New England.

Now the down side. There is a $30 dollar/night charged for both valet and self driven parking. Ridiculous. There is parking nearby on Kay Street and Church Street. That was $60 saved for our 2 day stay!! Breakfast is also very disappointing. We went to Annie's for the second morning and this was much better at a much lower price.

So would recommend but with these provisos

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dj_vhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We could not be any happier that you enjoyed your room accommodations, and dining in One Bellevue. The only comments that border on negative are the parking and breakfast. Parking is always a precious commodity in Newport. Our parking fees are in line with our competitors. It is true you can street park close to the hotel but there are parking restrictions at different times of the year. At least in using the hotel parking areas you have a sense of security that your vehicle will be fine when it is time to retrieve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    588
    240
    119
    49
See reviews for
423
976
48
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly suburbs
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went for an overnight on the way back from Cape Cod. The first room was very small so I went to the front desk and asked for a larger room which they were kind enough to do. The rooms are on the smaller size but are beautifully appointed and clean. The bed was very cozy also. Everyone there was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the wharf area and other key sites. We walked down to the wharf and had the shuttle come pick us back up. Very convenient. The entire staff was great. At night we had coffee drinks outside by the fireplace. Great romantic touch too. Old world charm...a must go. Newport was a wonderful place wish I had more time.

Room Tip: Ask for the size of the room. They vary in sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your romantic overnight at the hotel. We are pleased it all worked in sync so that you could even enjoy the outside fireplace on the patio. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

What a great property!

Rooms: We had 2 rooms and both were beautiful! They were recently re-done and the finishes were very Ralph Lauren.

Staff: The staff was first rate. Very friendly and professional. Couldn't be nicer.

Food: We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice. It was delicious and the staff was friendly and efficient

Location: Can't be beat!

Would Definately stay at the Hotel Viking again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are very pleased how much you enjoyed staying at the Hotel Viking. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice hotel in many ways...quirky in others. Eric at the front desk was particularly upbeat and helpful. The valets were eager to help, even when they were busy, except for the one time when they were crazy busy with weddings...which happens a lot on weekends we were told. The bartender was great...actually, the staff in general were very good. The hotel is kind of big to be "boutique" but it kind of has that style. It's nicely located...being in walking distance of mid-town. We walked it several times. But the room we had was indeed quirky: It was small, the floor of the water closet (across the hall from the lav) was about an inch higher than the hall way. For some reason they put a narrow chest of drawers in the already small closet...which was located in the lavatory. Weird. The closet was difficult to access and small...why make it even smaller - half-size - by putting a piece of furniture in it? The lav room was small and the sink was one of those bowls, which are kind of cool, but the faucet was like a laboratory faucet with only about 3" between the faucet and the sink -- not easy to wash hands. Just weird. Also, I had reserved a king and got a double - I should have asked to be moved but we were too tired to mess with it. Beds and pillows were comfy and the AC was easy to regulate. We were with a group and some friends said they didn't have the strange room features so my suggestion to you is - take a tour of your room before you settle in and ask to be moved if it's quirky. Otherwise, Hotel Viking is a nice friendly clean good place to stay and I'd go back.

Room Tip: Review the room before you settle in to make sure it will suit you...just be aware of the possibilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beej5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Each of our rooms are laid out differently. Each room has it’s own style. Many consider us a unique historical boutique type of hotel. When a guest calls for a reservation, our staff does work diligently to fulfill the requests of the guest. Overall your stay with us was a pleasant one and you were able to accept the “quirkiness” of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I only stayed one night but it was wonderful! The decor was beautiful and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Great location and thanks to TripAdvisor (and that it was no longer the high season) I was able to get a little discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Trip Advisor is a great neutral place to check on hotel reviews throughout the U.S. and internationally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Isle, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is very nicely appointed and made a perfect spot for our 2 night stay. We had some credit card difficulties and they were most helpful in accommodating us. At the end of our stay, due to some confusion, I left my computer in the room. They called me within 45 minutes at the number I had left on the reservation, unfortunately it was our home number and we were traveling with a cell phone. They also emailed me and when I got back to them they said they would ship it UPS the next day which they did. So in two situations where either one could have spoiled the weekend for us, they were most professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeerIsleDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It is always great to hear that our associates were able to respond to issues that arose during your visit and resolve these issues without having it disrupt or even possibly ruin a pleasant two night stay with us. We are also very pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

From the very first moment we arrived the service was excellent! My husband and I wanted a long weekend and this hotel was recommended by our son's friends. The staff at the desk were friendly and accomodating to give us an early check in. The room was fine. I would have liked a larger bathroom with double sinks.We had dinner Sat. evening in the restaurant and the waitresses and waitstaff were so friendly. We had Kelly as our server and she is a sweetheart!
After dinner we went into the cocktail/bar and they had a guitarist named Michael playing songs from the 60's. We had a ball singing along. He made our night!
The breakfast the next a.m. was also good, you could either choose from the menu or the buffet. Our waitress that morning was Hanna, and she as well was friendly. We had Elayna both days as our waitstaff and what a mature young lady she is. The location for this stay was perfect. A short drive to visit the mansions. We did alot of walking on our own to shop and explore. We were lucky to be there on the weekend they had their seafood festival. Super food and music!
The spa treatments that my husband and I had were one of the best we have ever had, and we travel to alot of hotels/spas. I would highly recommend using the spa. It was small, but the massages were fabulous! We have stayed at boutique hotels and this made you feel like that!
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Our associates are happy to know their hard work does have an impact on guests during their stay. Overall it certainly sounds to us that you really enjoyed your long weekend gateaway! Kudos also to your son’s friends for sending you our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing