We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Viking
Nearby Hotels
Yankee Peddler Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$399
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Bay Club & Hotel(Newport)(Great Value!)
$329
$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$535
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$550
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$329
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,271)
Filter reviews
2,272 results
Traveler rating
1,112
637
281
163
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,112
637
281
163
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvalet parkingbeautiful hotelvalet serviceindoor poolhotel restaurantoff seasonsmall roomtennis hall of famebellevue avenuethe entire staffking bedthames streetnew englandshops and restaurantsvisit newportcliff walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,875 - 1,880 of 2,272 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went for an overnight on the way back from Cape Cod. The first room was very small so I went to the front desk and asked for a larger room which they were kind enough to do. The rooms are on the smaller size but are beautifully appointed and clean. The bed was very cozy also. Everyone there was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the wharf area and other key sites. We walked down to the wharf and had the shuttle come pick us back up. Very convenient. The entire staff was great. At night we had coffee drinks outside by the fireplace. Great romantic touch too. Old world charm...a must go. Newport was a wonderful place wish I had more time.

Room Tip: Ask for the size of the room. They vary in sizes.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your romantic overnight at the hotel. We are pleased it all worked in sync so that you could even enjoy the outside fireplace on the patio. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

What a great property!

Rooms: We had 2 rooms and both were beautiful! They were recently re-done and the finishes were very Ralph Lauren.

Staff: The staff was first rate. Very friendly and professional. Couldn't be nicer.

Food: We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice. It was delicious and the staff was friendly and efficient

Location: Can't be beat!

Would Definately stay at the Hotel Viking again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We are very pleased how much you enjoyed staying at the Hotel Viking. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice hotel in many ways...quirky in others. Eric at the front desk was particularly upbeat and helpful. The valets were eager to help, even when they were busy, except for the one time when they were crazy busy with weddings...which happens a lot on weekends we were told. The bartender was great...actually, the staff in general were very good. The hotel is kind of big to be "boutique" but it kind of has that style. It's nicely located...being in walking distance of mid-town. We walked it several times. But the room we had was indeed quirky: It was small, the floor of the water closet (across the hall from the lav) was about an inch higher than the hall way. For some reason they put a narrow chest of drawers in the already small closet...which was located in the lavatory. Weird. The closet was difficult to access and small...why make it even smaller - half-size - by putting a piece of furniture in it? The lav room was small and the sink was one of those bowls, which are kind of cool, but the faucet was like a laboratory faucet with only about 3" between the faucet and the sink -- not easy to wash hands. Just weird. Also, I had reserved a king and got a double - I should have asked to be moved but we were too tired to mess with it. Beds and pillows were comfy and the AC was easy to regulate. We were with a group and some friends said they didn't have the strange room features so my suggestion to you is - take a tour of your room before you settle in and ask to be moved if it's quirky. Otherwise, Hotel Viking is a nice friendly clean good place to stay and I'd go back.

Room Tip: Review the room before you settle in to make sure it will suit you...just be aware of the possibility of quirky features.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beej5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Each of our rooms are laid out differently. Each room has it’s own style. Many consider us a unique historical boutique type of hotel. When a guest calls for a reservation, our staff does work diligently to fulfill the requests of the guest. Overall your stay with us was a pleasant one and you were able to accept the “quirkiness” of the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I only stayed one night but it was wonderful! The decor was beautiful and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Great location and thanks to TripAdvisor (and that it was no longer the high season) I was able to get a little discount.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. Trip Advisor is a great neutral place to check on hotel reviews throughout the U.S. and internationally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is very nicely appointed and made a perfect spot for our 2 night stay. We had some credit card difficulties and they were most helpful in accommodating us. At the end of our stay, due to some confusion, I left my computer in the room. They called me within 45 minutes at the number I had left on the reservation, unfortunately it was our home number and we were traveling with a cell phone. They also emailed me and when I got back to them they said they would ship it UPS the next day which they did. So in two situations where either one could have spoiled the weekend for us, they were most professional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeerIsleDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

It is always great to hear that our associates were able to respond to issues that arose during your visit and resolve these issues without having it disrupt or even possibly ruin a pleasant two night stay with us. We are also very pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews