We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

So disappointed in my stay here. We were offered a AAA rate, took it and then were informed when we checked in, that we had been upgraded to a better room. Wow we thought...until we opened the door to our 4th floor room... Dormer room with sloped walls,single window, limited lights, no where except the floor to put our luggage, and the whole bathroom(shower, sink & potty) is smaller than the back seat of my mini cooper! Cute little side sink but its difficult to brush teeth because bending over makes you bump the shower door. There is no where to hang our few towels in the bathroom either.....(only 2 bath towels & 2washcloths total!) The ultra soft mattress must be in vogue these days, but plenty of oversized pillows & fairly clean. Only giving this hotel an average rating because of the good location and helpful staff, but definitely not what I would call worth $230.00 per night!

Room Tip: Is it possible to see a room first?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. The Hotel Viking is a historic property in a great location with accessibility to enjoying all that the City of Newport has to offer. We are considered to be a unique boutique 86 year old hotel with wonderful ambience, charm and a chance to look at what it was like to live in the 1920’s. We are able to offer the latest updated amenities yet keep that antiquated charm. Overall you just were not pleased with your accommodations and we apologize for that .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,740 - 1,746 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I cannot fault this Hotel at all-The building,rooms,staff and service are second to none.This is trully the place to stay in Newport to stay-far enough away from the people massa-but close enough to all the things that you need to visit/do in Newport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manopkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Your review is outstanding for the Hotel Viking. Having seasoned travelers visit Newport, stay with us, and take the time to let us know how their visit was, is the best way for all of us to take stock of where we are in the hospitality industry. We are appreciative and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our stay in Newport RI September 24th was a high point of our just completed tour of New England. It's a great area for touristing and even better if you're staying at the Hotel Viking. Not only is the hotel in the perfect area to enjoy Newport but it is a location with a great deal of character, first class service and very nice accomodations. From the hotel it is an easy walk to see most of the top tourist locations and there is much to enjoy by simply using the hotels spa and dining facitilites. Next time we're in the area we plan for a longer stay and will most certainly try to book at the Viking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Our sincerest thank you for your comments. We all are most appreciative when our guests truly enjoy not only Newport, but our wonderful Hotel Viking. The hotel has so much to offer our guests and everyone has worked very hard to continue to do our best in providing above and beyond guest service. Please let us know when you plan tor return for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I were in Newport celebrating our one year anniversary and from the minute we arrived at the Hotel Viking, we had a wonderful experience. The valet's were extremely pleasant, the front desk agent, Monique, was very friendly and efficient despite the large amount of people in the lobby from a wedding and reunion.
Our guest room was beautiful, and we settled in right away. My husband and I went out to visit Thames street, a short walk from the hotel, and when we arrived back to the room we had a very sweet card from the front desk as well as two cupcakes to celebrate our anniversary. We enjoyed the bar on the first night we were there, and we had a great time listening to the live music and friendly bartenders.
The service alone was enough to win us over, but the beautiful hotel had charm and we felt welcome and comfortable from the minute we arrived. Thank you Hotel Viking for making our anniversary weekend so special, we are anxious to come back again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RD319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

How terrific it is that you were able to celebrate your first anniversary with us and that it was a lovely and memorable time! We are pleased we could add to your weekend celebration and that all of our associates were there to make it special. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel brings back the golden era of Amercia, and lets you feel the charme that surrounds Newport. The hotel lives up to the 5 star rating. The rooms are lovingly decorated, and though they have small bathrooms have all the ammenities you require as a guest. I especially liked the selection of coffees, as the european taste of coffee is different. Your hear creaks here and there when the hotel goes quiet at night, but nothing disturbing just charming.
A word about food and the bar. We ate on the first night in, and the food was just devine. The cod I had was exceptional, the lobster pasta of my wife not to be forgotten. The staff was very attentive and we felt extremely well taken care of. The bar features a man that knows his business. Ralph you make some of the best cocktails I have tasted! He came up with some creations that made my tongue twirl. The cocktails were so good I just regretted the next morning.
All in all a full 5 stars. I will come back to this hotel when in Newport.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Panarabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

The highest accolade a business receives is when all departments work in sync with each other to provide great guest service with graciousness and a constant almost invisible presence. When a guest takes the time to write a review to be shared with so many others it is every hospitality owners’ hope that it will be a good review. Every compliment and suggestion is a measure of where we are and where we need to go. It takes everyone, every day, working together to make a hotel a success. Thank you for your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We only spent 1 night here before moving to Cape Cod, but wish we could have stayed longer. Checkin was easy and the staff knowledgable and friendly. As well as the normal checkin information we were given a map and details of where everything was and an information sheet about the events that would be happening in the area for the next few days. The room also had a copy of the hotel newsletter giving further information for the week. We used valet parking at the hotel and thought the charge reasonable for the convenience. The room was spacious and the king sized bed very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was tasty, with a chef at the buffet table cooking omelettes to order. The hotel was very busy, but this did not seem to faze the staff who were unfailingly polite and efficient. We would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Pukeko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

What a terrific summary of your visit to the hotel. We are all delighted when guests enjoy their stay even if only for one night and we are able to provide all that is needed to take advantage of the many fun things to do in Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Check in went well, room pleasant enough but the bathroom arrangements were strange and inadequate - basin and wardrobe one one side of the entrance door, toilet and bath with shower over on the other: cramped to say the least! Dined in the restaurant for dinner. Food took 1.5 hours from being ordered to arrive. No apologies or explanation offered - not impressive.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Our sincere apologies that you were not happy during your recent visit. We take all suggestions and comments seriously and are addressing the estimated wait times for lunches and dinners to be served in One Bellevue and making all of the necessary adjustments so that the wait time is reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
712 reviews
1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $118 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing