We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Hotel is a short 5 minute walk from downtown Newport. Completely renovated the rooms are a little small but tastefully done. Hotel staff is fantastic, especially the bellmen and front desk. Restaurants are good, food is good and reasonably priced and the outdoor court and rooftop bar are very nice. Great place to stay when in Newport. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duddie043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

It is always a pleasure when families stay at the Hotel Viking and enjoy all that Newport does offer travelers. Thank you for your comments, we appreciate them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,036)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,672 - 1,678 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Hotel Viking was exactly what I was looking for for a girls weekend stay in mid September. The Spa was wonderful. The bar was convenient for a nighcap. The room was recently renovated, although a little small .The beds were comfy and room was decorated beautifully.The staff was more than courteous and you got a hello just walking down the hall from everyone that worked there. We had breakfast outside on a beautiful morning. And the hotel was a small walk to everything in town so once you parked unless you were driving to the mansions or Ocean Dr. you didn't need to get the car, plus you were away from the noisey downtown area.
I would have given it a 5 star but we didnt have any view and because its such an old building it wasn't as quiet as I would have liked. But this was hardly a deterrent.

Room Tip: ask for a recently renovated room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxmicliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

September is a beautiful time of year in Newport, cool mornings and evenings, and just the right temperature mid-day (in the 70’s) to still be able to visit the beaches. We are pleased the the “girls weekend” was a memorable time for all and we were able to provide all that you needed for a pleasant stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friends and I stayed here in August 2012 and really loved it. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. There is a beach within walking distance but we drove to a beach that the concierge recommended (about a 15 minute drive and it was worth it). We couldn't have asked for a better overall experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elahnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

What a pleasure your comments are. We are appreciative that you and your friends enjoyed your visit to Newport and hope you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for corp event - v well supported by hotel staff. V expensive for private stay. Rooms small and bathrooms impossibly small. Great location on Bellevue ave and close to cliff walk for running and walking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 565NOSTAY565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. The Hotel Viking is a historic hotel with wonderful charm and unique character. Over the course of time, the hotel has been renovated extensively keeping with the current trends yet continuing to offer that feeling of being part of another era in time. Our rooms vary in size and the designers have made excellent use of the space available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We only stayed here for 2 nights while travelling from Boston to Cape Cod. Although this is meant to be one of the best hotels in Newport, this is somewhat baffling, due to the amount of money that must visit/locate the area. It felt a bit like a funny old fuddy duddy place with spooky pictures on the wall and depressing carpets. The bathrooms (we had two rooms) had no windows and clackety old fans whizzing round. It all just felt rather 'tired'. We were very upset on arrival, as we'd booked the holiday with Trailfinders months before and specified ONE TWIN AND ONE DOUBLE (our children are 20 and 17years old, a boy and a girl). When we arrived we were given two double bedded rooms. We argued at reception about this and they said that there was nothing they could do as they were full. So that's what we got. BAD BAD BAD....THEY HAD OUR BOOKING MONTHS BEFORE! (Which reminds me I must phone Trailfinders and tell them about this!). The kids were fine as they put cushion bolsters down the middle of the bed, it was a King bed...! I wouldn't wish to return to this hotel. It was a bit weird to be quite honest. Our daughter wanted some skimmed milk for her cereal and they brought a glass of milk, bit strange! Obviously we just tipped it on her cereal, but they weren't very sharp...particularly as we all spoke English!! Without wanting to sound a snob, this hotel wasn't up to our usual standard, but where else is there to stay there? It's okay if you're not there for long I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishmunnypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry you did not have a pleasant experience. The Hotel Viking is a historic hotel built in 1926. Over the past 86 years the hotel has undergone many changes and renovations. The most recent renovation, completed this past April 2012, brought us up to date with modern amenities. The hotel is an older property and it has been well maintained all of these years. Again, we apologize we did not accommodate you and your family according to your requests at booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Newport for my wife's 50th birthday was great. Our stay at Hotel Viking made it exceptional! The staff knew it was her birthday and they upgraded us to a suite with a room for our teenage kids right next door. On birthday night, the staff left cup cakes from a specialty cup cake shop with a very nice note - complimentary. Nice touch and they were appreciated. Great location - walking distance to Thames and shops on Bellevue. Shout out to Tim Beaudoin, Director of Rooms, and his team that made our stay extra special. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

What a fabulous way to celebrate a 50th birthday with family and friends at our wonderful Hotel Viking. We are so delighted it went well. Tim Beaudoin and his team are

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Hotel Viking is a lovely old hotel that has beautifully decorated public areas, has been updated with some modern amenities, has a great location and a wonderfully friendly staff. But for the money, I definitely was expecting more. My husband and I were there for Labor Day weekend and stayed in one of the Estate guestrooms in the original building.
Our room was on the top floor and faced Bellevue Avenue. It was nicely decorated, had a great king-sized bed, but was oddly laid out - so OK. But then came the evening when we tried to go to sleep. Those single pane original windows do not provide much in the way of sound insulation - and there were lots of noisy folks and traffic out on the street. We tried leaving the A/C on to mask the noise, but the A/C, while very effective, makes a lot of noise as it cycles on and off. So, next morning we asked for a different room. The staff were very accommodating in trying to help us and suggested a room that faced the water rather than the street. Unfortunately we would have to sacrifice our king-sized bed, but that's better than getting no sleep. So we packed up our stuff and moved to our new room. This room was significantly smaller than our first room and had a minuscule bathroom. But we took it, despite the fact that we were told this was the same price as our original room (can't figure that one out). This room did prove to be somewhat quieter, although I barely slept the whole weekend. The A/C was just as noisy and there is no way to get away from the sirens from the firehouse around the corner. Granted we did not go to Newport to stay in our hotel room, but this whole situation did leave a bad taste in my mouth. It really is a shame, because this could be a great place, and maybe there are larger, more quiet rooms that would make it so.
We did enjoy the restaurant and our breakfasts every morning. We liked the Rooftop Bar, although would have liked it better if it had been open for the entire weekend. We liked being able to walk to so many of the main attractions. And, as I said before, we thought all of the staff were terrific. Unfortunately, I doubt that I would go back.

Room Tip: If you go, call and find out about what kind of rooms are available. Try not to stay on the Bellevue...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary comments of how lovely the Hotel Viking looks and our friendly and professional associates. We are also pleased you enjoyed One Bellevue and the Rooftop Bar. We are in a good location to get around Newport fairly easily. Unfortunately all else was not well and the accommodations did not fulfill your expectations. Labor Day weekend in Newport is indeed busy, noisy and has heavy traffic on Bellevue Avenue which is one of the main thoroughfares through town. The fire station responded to a number of emergencies around Newport so there were sirens going off during that weekend. We are sorry you were unable to get the necessary rest due to the noise levels inside and out. Please accept our apology that your weekend was not as great as you had hoped it to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $143 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing