We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hotel was nice. Friendly and attentive staff; decently nice rooms. Only issue was that it did not appear as though they vacuumed the carpet. Decent location - its a few blocks away from Thames which many may not mind.

The staff should realize that they are the "staff". I want to the spa and ask the desk girl whether they were running any specials. She gave me a weird look and just said "no..." Somewhat condescendingly. Mind the tone please.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms ending in *10. They are near the elevators. You hear everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We are here to provide a comfortable environment for all of our guests. There is no room for rudeness and we apologize. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. We never lose sight that our guests are all very special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    574
    232
    114
    45
See reviews for
410
957
46
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband, myself and our two small children took a last minute trip to Newport and stayed at the Hotel Viking in one of the Mansion Suites. The hotel was beautiful, the room was great and the staff was incredible. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BosKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We are always very appreciative to know how our guests were accommodated and able to enjoy a last minute trip to Newport. Thank you for sharing this with us as well as future guests to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We attended the Campbell's Hall of Fame Tennis Tournament and stayed at the Viking Hotel. The rooms appeared to be recently updated and everything was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. We also ate breakfast each day there and were very pleased with the the quality and presentation of the meals. The only issue was a dinner that was less than perfect but the manager made things right so no complaints. Overall, the location can't be beat and rooms very accommodating.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which is the same as the main entrance. This made it very convenient wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
All of us welcomed attendees to the tennis tournaments and are always glad when guests enjoy not only the tournaments but also all that we offer here at the Hotel Viking. Our renovations have been done over the past 6 plus years to make improvements that are needed for the upkeep of the property as well as making the hotel as comfortable as possible for our guests. Thank you for letting us know how your stay was.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went up for a four day stay without the kids. Having walked around town, this is one of the nicer hotels. There are a few better, but they're 500+ a night. The staff was excellent, gave good advice on where to go and where to eat. Let them make dinner reservations, and had a great time at every restaurant. We had one issue with the room, but the staff went out of their way to make it right for us. The staff was great about keeping our stuff and the car before it was time to check in, and after we checked out. Effectively gave us another day in Newport.

We would stay here without a doubt if we go back to Newport.

Room Tip: Wouldn't go to Newport with kids, at any hotel. Not enough for them to do in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We take great pride in our hotel and our associates. We do believe we have a wonderful hotel and staff and do our ultimate best to convey this to our guests. What a wonderful treat it was for you to be able to enjoy the four days away from home without any distractions. Please plan a return visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We vacationed in Newport for my mother's 85th birthday and chose to stay at the Viking. We are so happy we made this choice!!! We stayed in a beautifully decorated suite. The beds were extremely comfortable, the shower was hot and had just the right amount of pressure, the towels were plush, and the rooms were immaculate. All of the hotel staff took the time to greet us and to do what they could to make our stay comfortable. We had a misunderstanding about the rooms we reserved but Monique, the desk manager, resolved our problem in the best way possible. She also made sure there was a card and some cupcakes to celebrate my mother's birthday. Finally, when some members of our party returned from a sailing excursion, she presented them with bottles of water...she could tell they were exhausted and thirsty. We loved the location of this hotel and could walk to most of the activities we choose to do. We also loved the ease with which we could access our car when we wanted to use it. We highly recommend this hotel because of the staff, the amenities, and the location. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It is a pleasure when all has worked out for our guests during their vacation at the Hotel Viking. Knowing also that our associates are always ready and willing to make necessary adjustments when required. Monique, our Front Desk Manager, sets the tone and goes that extra step in delivering top rated guest service. We are happy that your mother’s 85th birthday was special and a wonderful family celebration. Thank you. Please be sure to let us know when you plan to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were so excited to stay at the Hotel Viking the day after July 4th- July 8th. We arrived at 3:28 pm with two very tired and cranky babies. We were told a room was not available until 4:00 pm. It was truly upsetting as everyone behind us on line were checked in. The woman behind the desk did not make an effort at all to help us until my 9 month old started screaming. She checked us in about 2 minutes before actual check in. They can say they were busy but it was odd that everyone else's room was ready. Needless to say we went to our room, unpacked and I decided to give my son a bath. The base of the tub was covered in rust. I went down to the front desk again and the nice gentleman behind the desk stated that the cleaning team must have 'missed it'. Not sure how you miss a huge rust spot but he recommended moving our room (which is strange since the hotel was so packed). We moved our room right down the hall by ourselves because the staff never showed up to help us. The room was nice but the ac was not working properly. The temperature would not go below 72. It was quite sticky in the room. I went to the front desk again and was told it would be rectified. When we got back the ac was fixed but at around 2am it broke yet again. So they sent an engineer to fix it that day. It worked again but broke again..... we actually decided to check out early to avoid all of the aggravation, yet, were charged the extra night. I have not even called them to complain because the whole stay was so aggravating that I rather just chalk the extra 400 as a loss instead of being further aggravated.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom before you unpack....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Your stay from beginning to check out time was most unpleasant. We do not make excuses for unkempt housekeeping or an off and on again airconditioner. Upon checking in you noticed others getting keys to their rooms - this is because the rooms are assigned according to availability of the type of room that has been reserved. We do not have all of the details about you not being able to be checked in immediately at 3:28 pm when you arrived. Our goal and deadline for room availability is 4 pm check in. That allows rooms to be cleaned and prepared when available after previous guests check out. Our associates did provide you with another room – which had the a/c problem. We apologize to you and are sorry all of these incidents occurred to dampen your spirits about the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you decide to go the hotel route in Newport (there are a ton of B&Bs) the Viking is one of the best places to stay. Terrific location, great restaurant and fun rooftop bar in the summer. One thing to note is that some of the smaller rooms are extremely small! So make sure you look at the size before booking. We've stayed a few times and are always happy with the hotel. Gym is nice to have.

Room Tip: Be careful of the really small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abc713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It is always nice to hear from past guests who have stayed here over past years – even just a year ago – who have wonderful memories of our hotel to share with future guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing