We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent service!”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this hotel for only the night of July Fourth but enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to stay another. From the time we pulled up to the hotel to the time of checkout, the staff was incredible. Everyone was so friendly and eager to help. This is a beautiful hotel and the location can't be beat. I can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay here. I only have one complaint, they have you pay for the coffee in your room. But it was so beautiful outside that I didn't mind going across the street for a cup. You'll love it here! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecatsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Summer in Newport is always filled with fun and excitement and we are pleased you were able to enjoy spending the 4th of July with us. Your comments are a boost to all of us and gives us even more motivation to better serve our guests. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,818 - 1,824 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room is not all that big, but very tastefully decorated. The bathroom looks renovated, but the shower is just OK. It's a regular shower over a tub (like you have in your house).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We are fortunate to be part of the Noble House Hotels and Resorts and have access to wonderful designers. All of the renovations completed during the past years reflect elegance throughout our historic hotel. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. We paid for the Summer Escape package which saved us money in parking but was not worth the hassle for daily breakfast for two. We still paid for parking and breakfast but at a discounted rate. The breakfast service was horrible two out of the three days. The waiters and waitresses are not trained well and were running around like chickens with their heads cut off. The first day the waiter forgot to bring my daughter's drink and never checked on us again to see if we needed anything. The second day the manager (male in charge) took our order and we waited over 1 hour for our food. When my breakfast finally came out it took my husband's and my daughter's another 30 minutes. Yes he the manager apologized and gave me a free alcoholic drink, but it is hard to explain to a two year old where her food is. It was unacceptable. The last morning the waitress was great and everything came out on time. The male manager was no where to be seen and the male waiter was not working. Maybe someone more experienced was in charge. We also had the fire alarm go off at 9:00pm at night. So we had to take our child out in her PJ's screaming and crying from her sleep. We asked the front desk what was going on and we did not receive any explanation. He wasn't sure if it was a false alarm or not. There was no one to direct us when we got outside the hotel so we just left for an hour with our child in her PJ's. The fire department was there so we assume it was a real fire. There was never anyone at the Concierge desk so we never had anyone to ask about recommendations or make us reservations. I also took a picture of a bug crawling on the elevator wall and it looked like a roach. Not impressed for over $320.00 a night. The hotel seemed understaffed and undertrained. We never got turn down service even though we called the front desk asking for it and was told it was included.The staff at the front desk didn't seem to know how to work the computers and didn't give us any breakfast vouchers when we checked in. When it came to the bill at breakfast we had to explain to the waiter our package. I don't think I will ever be staying in a Noble house hotel again. The Marriot down the road is closer to the shops and restaurants. I rather pay more money to stay there. You always get great service. I just feel for the amount of money I paid I was gypped. In today's economy when vacationing is hard to save for, this was our only summer vacation trip and I hate to say it wasn't worth it.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet room 2024.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexandria4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Your detailed comments about the service you received is totally unacceptable to all of us at the Hotel Viking. Our Executive Team strives to continually train and instill our purpose and mission to each and everyone who works here. In your case we have failed to deliver what we do believe and know we can do and that is to provide guests the best service that we can. This was not a good visit from beginning to end for you and we sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I am wavering between 3 and 4 stars... but due to the price it really is inexcusable that the service is so lacking.

At check in we were greeted in the same manner as if it were a comfort inn off the highway. No inquiries regarding how they can improve our stay, assistance with sights to see, etc. Instead, the only interaction beyond getting our room keys was when we were asked about parking. We found a spot on the street (free) and valet is $30. When I mentioned that we were on the street(and per the posted sign we shouldn't needed to move the car until 10am the next day) they said "well Newport is know for ticketing so I'd be careful." No offer to valet the car for us the next morning...

They charge for the keurig pods for coffee in the room (tacky for such a high end hotel) and there is no ice on the 4th floor. I went all the way to the front desk at one point and was told the ice was on the 3rd floor (but since I had come all the way down they brought me some if from the kitchen).

Early on Sunday evening there was a minor thunderstorm (30 min max) and they closed the rooftop bar for the entire night and they don't reopen until Wednesday.

Finally, after checking out we waited a good 15 minutes for our car from the valet (we did valet on day 2). In a big city this is to be expected, but in Newport the lot is next to the hotel. The valet brought the car around and waited while we struggled down the outdoor stairs with our bags (no help).

I would never note these petty complaints if it were not such a high end hotel. First class prices deserve first class service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChicagoSkiFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Several things come to mind in commenting to you on your thoughts about your recent visit to our Hotel. We do agree it is a beautiful hotel. However, we are extremely disappointed that your initial impression upon checking in was not as welcoming as we you had hoped it would be. Communication with all of our guests, delivered with genuine enthusiasm, is what we expect from our Front Desk associates. We have your insightful comments to remind us all of the importance of first and last impressions. Unfortunately, we did have to close the rooftop bar due to inclement weather and as a safety precaution to our guests, was not re-opened that evening. Our rooftop bar is open normally from Wednesday through Sunday unless the weather does not cooperate. Again, though, we are so sorry these issues occurred during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have always loved this hotel, from its elegant interior to the lovely customer service. The place must have changed management, as this is no longer the case. The worst example of new management is the new coffee system. When you get into your room, there is a coffee pot, with a note saying that if you have a cup of coffee you will be charged $3. If you don't leave a credit card imprint (just for the coffee, in addition to the one you already left), they take away the coffee. Then the next day they took away the pot! The whole situaton was embarrasing to me and felt a little seedy. Charge $3 more for a room, for goodness sake.
They have free coffee at 7 am, but when you have to get up at 5 that doesn't do much good.
Front desk much less helpful than previously as well, and omelet station gone from breakfast room. Hopefully they will get their act together as be the great hotel they once were.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guerriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Since 1999, the Hotel Viking has been managed by Noble House Hotels and Resorts. We are truly sorry your visit was not a very pleasant or happy visit – please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a chance to go to Newport for a quick overnight and chose Hotel Viking. It couldn't have been better. The room was beautiful a and quiet, so much so that we really didn't want to go anywhere!
The staff was pleasant and super corteous. Then came the food! We decided not to go looking around and stay right at the hotel. Our server was wonderful and the meal was even better. We decided to go to brunch on Sunday and we shocked to find most of the same people working. It was unbeleivable to see how hard they were working, and yes with smiles. The people who worked serving us the night before we're stopping buy to say hello. If you decide to take my advice then make sure that when you go to dinner you have the rack of lamb. My husband said it one of the best he has ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

It is always such a wonderful moment in time when all works out as it was meant to be. We are so pleased you let us know that your visit turned out so well and we loved the description “historic paradise”. A “historic paradise” is really what we hope to present to our guests from arrival to departure. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Enjoyed the hotel. Lovely room, nice amenities, good t.v. Good convention food, attentive staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mims236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Business events are so important to the hospitality industry and we are appreciative of your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
716 reviews
1 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $125 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing